We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat at the Aplenhof”
Review of Alpenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhof Hotel
Reviewed 28 March 2007

I stayed with a friend at the Alpenhof for one weeks ski holiday which we had booked through a Company called Direct Ski. Having chosen the hotel because of the half board rate advertised in the package, we were both very disappointed with the quality and choice of food. We had both lived in Germany before and had spent a number of holidays skiing in Austria, so we knew generally what to expect from Austrian cuisine...

Breakfast was the standard choice of meats, cheese and scrambled eggs that you find in most Austrian hotels, however dinner was something else. It consisted of the standard Austrian Salad bar, a starter and main with a sweat, but no choice what so ever except what salad to pile on you plate to compensate for the terrible food. For example, one evenings meal comprised sliced artichokes covered in vinegar for the starter, for the main a thin slice of pork covered
by an unidentifiable green sauce with a tiny scoop of potato, then to finish off, a couple of rings of tined pineapple sprinkled with brown sugar, glazed and served with a tiny portion of sorbet. This example was typical of the evening meals and we decided after the third night to spend the rest of the week eating out.

On the good side, the room were clean and the maid did a good job of negotiating the piles of smelly ski kit left around the room. The hotel shuttle service to the ski lifts was ok, but if the driver ever smiled I missed it. There was also an extremely efficient and regular resort ski bus service to and from the bus stop outside the hotel.

This hotel is in desperate need of modernisation, its decor is stuck in the 1930's, but if ugly wood panelling and water stained pictures
is your thing you will be in heaven. The rooms were ok for size but only had a shower, so if you wanted a bath you needed to walk down the corridor. Also, there was no TV in the rooms, the hotel apparently thinks that a good substitute is a 1970's radio cassette player.

The best memory of the place was the receptionist, Bettina, although she had failed the Austrian 'welcome host' humour test, she was a certainly a site for sore eyes.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank colin_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GianP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: found an alternative!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecobravo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lutz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kijk goed bij het reserveren of je een kamer met toilet of douche wilt of niet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janpulles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Dieter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
2.8 mi away
Tirolerhof
Tirolerhof
#54 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kristall Hotel
Kristall Hotel
#44 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel

Address: | Triendl. Fam, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria (Formerly Chalet Alpenhof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £74 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpenhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Alpenhof Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing