We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very traditional hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location, very traditional hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Surprising to find that this hotel is part of the Best Western marketing group. We stayed as a group of 3 friends who like to ski hard for most of the day, so location in-between the three main lifts (Gampen, Galzig & Rendl) was crucial to minimise time spent walking. Receptionists were vey welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room (214) was large, which was fine as we are not always completely tidy, yet there was plenty of room to spread out our stuff; sufficient room to hang up 3 ski-suits and plenty of storage space for all the rest of the skiing clobber etc. The main restaurant is large with a magnificently stylish wood-panelled ceiling, but elegantly divided up into several areas whilst still leaving room for a party of about 16 guys from London who certainly enjoyed some boisterous banter during dinner. There are at least two other more cozy/intimate dining rooms available for guests, all beautifully traditionally decorated. The antique staircase in the corner of reception is fascinating, and there are pieces of really old furniture etc. all over the hotel. Hotel and bar prices were on a par with other hotels, but there are obviously cheaper places to go if you just want a drink. The enormous yellow umbrella-covered outside bar at the far end of the hotel which I remember from a previous visit has gone some time ago and been replaced with a large extension housing a modern airy restaurant available to outside patrons. [This used to be the main place to meet at 4pm after a hard day's ski, but might have fallen victim to the construction of the "Base Camp" which is right at the bottom of the main (and only) busy run back to the village at the end of the day - one thing that St Anton really needs is an alternative way to get back home!] The restaurant staff are excellent and attentive - you never have to wait for any attention. Buffet breakfast is very extensive with a huge choice of things, all hot items are specially cooked to order which is very good. The choice ranges from cold meats, salmon dishes and cheese, to cereals, lovely moist muesli, dried fruits, grilled tomatoes etc. to a wide choice of breads and conserves. The food is very important to 3 hungry guys at the end of a hard day's ski especially when you only have time for a bowl of goulash soup at lunchtime! The food was nouvelle cuisine, but there are 7 courses so all but the most hungry can fill up. Despite others finding the portions were too small we found that we were adequately fed. The quality of the dining experience was very good with everything prepared and cooked extremely well. The Wellness Centre is extensive with a wide choice of very high quality facilities. Don't forget the sauna area which comprises a large sauna, hot steam room, ice room and large relaxation room etc. is nudist only and you have to remember to use a towel when actually inside the sauna itself. The swimming pool is very attractively arranged with very realistic rock formations around the pool containing a water fountain, underwater jet current you can swim against, underwater bubble jet etc. and also the obligatory jacuzzi. All in all a really relaxing experience after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: We shared a large corner room for 3 on the second floor (214) overlooking the main street, and found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice and positive comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests, our house should feel like a second home for all.

We hope to welcome you again soon!Maybe next winter.

Kind Regards
The team of The Hotel Alte Post
( "no" Best Western Hotel anymore )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    38
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
64
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not the usual place I'd call with the lads in our Ski gear on but we wandered in, warm smiles from the very attractive reception staff sealed the deal, the lobby the bar even the toilets are very very posh and clean. Prices are the same as everywhere else. The place was very quiet with only our group in there, it made a nice change from the hustle of the other bars we could actually have a chat and a relaxing drink without getting barged out of the way.
We didn't stay here but looking at the place I wish I had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comment. The thing that matters for us the most is your statement that you have felt welcome at our hotel. Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests, our house should feel like a second home to them.
Maybe we see you again soon in St. Anton.

The team of the Hotel Alte Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very short walk to the Galzig lift makes this a great ski hotel. Swimming pool and jacuzzi excellent after a hard day on the slopes and free (included in the hotel price). The evening meals are a real event with 7 courses. I started skipping courses after the first day to leave room for the superb deserts. Breakfast similarly splendid. The only real issue was the rather expensive bar. Good wine list reasonably priced but a G&T or Brandy in the bar before and after the meal added a lot to the bill. Plenty of other reasonable priced bars in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main street can be noisy at first floor level. Choose a room at the rear for a quiet n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altepost, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Google Translation
Guten Tag,
wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns wohlgefühlt haben. Vor allem auf unsere Küche und unsere Kulinarik sind wir sehr stolz. Auf die Qualität unserer Speisen legen wir ganz besonderen Wert. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie diese Bemühungen wahrgenommen und geschätzt haben. Wir hoffen auch, dass sonst alles zu Ihrer vollsten Zufriedenheit gewesen ist. Es ist uns nämlich das wichtigste Anliegen, dass sich unsere Gäste bei uns wie zuhause fühlen und auch gerne wieder zu uns kommen.
Aufgrund dessen bedauern wir es sehr, dass sich in Ihre ansonsten positive Rückmeldung ein negativer Aspekt gemischt hat. Dazu nehmen wir natürlich gerne Stellung. Unsere Preise sind im Winter im Mittelfeld der sonstigen Preise in der Region. Wir bemühen uns auch immer um den direkten Vergleich mit den Preisen unserer Mitbewerber. Daraus resultiert auch unsere Preisgestaltung, die wir immer im Rahmen und im Mittelfeld halten wollen.
Wir hoffen jedenfalls Sie wieder als unseren Gast in unserem Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen!
Freundliche Grüße aus dem Hotel Alte Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Hotel is very well situated in the village for both summer and winter activities.
As this is marketed as a superior hotel I was expecting very good things; having been a regular visitor to St Anton over the last thirty years, I thought I would like a change of hotel. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, bedroom facilities were okay, although the bathroom was rather small. The biggest downfall as far as I was concerned was the food. This being an important part of my holiday. The five to seven course dinners were tedious and very time consuming, after a long day walking or climbing! The nuevo cuisine style, really didn't work for me, tiny portions of the main dish of which there was a choice and few vegetables. So fill up on salad and if you don't like that, too bad!! Traditional Austrian dishes were very few and far between. The waiting staff were indifferent, something I have not experienced before in this resort. The wine list is expensive as is the spa/massage facilities.
I love this resort and will return again, it offers so much to walkers, climbers and those who wish to just sit and admire the scenery. However, I will return to the good, old faithful hotel that I have been going to over the years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest, at first we want to thank you for taking the time to write down your experience of your stay. We regret to hear that our food did not meet your expectations. Our new kitchen crew offers now a 5 course menu. Every guest is welcome to reduce the courses as they like. This means, that you don't have to eat every course if you are not comfortable with that.
We also provide the opportunity to order traditional Austrian food such as Wiener Schnitzel and Apfelstrudel. If you weren't aware of that, we apologize for not providing you with this information.
Our wine list offers a great choice of high quality wine in the price range from 28 EURO to 500 EURO, which is as we think, an appropriate range for a Hotel****s . To offer cheap wine would not meet with our high quality standards.
Regarding the size of our rooms we would like to politely point out that they are only 28qm. We kept the bathrooms smaller because we didn't want to take away too much space from the bedroom.
We hope we could resolve some of the misunderstandings and questions. We are always happy about direct feedback from our guests during their stay. Only this way, we can assure you to make your stay better and help you with anything that you need.
We are glad to read that you had apart from a few difficulties, a pleasant stay and that you decided to visit us again. We really liked having you here and would be very happy for a chance to welcome you again.
We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A week at the Alte Post in August- cannot think of a better place to spend a holiday. Staff are friendly and extremely efficient, room on fourth floor with mountain view was great, and the cuisine amazingly good. Varied, imaginative, perfectly cooked and presented- every meal a feast.

Extras included breakfast at Tritschalpe with milk, butter and cheese from their own cows- perfect sunshine and the opportunity to watch marmots was a bonus.

Good central location with easy access to gondolas, train station and buses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altepost, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive Feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. It's very important to us that you have a lovely holiday with us. Positive also negative feedback we take in and gives us room to improve to make your stay with us more enjoyable.

Kind Regards
staff of Hotel Alte Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was my first time in St Anton, and I can honestly say that I couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay at. The hotel is located right in the centre of St Anton's pedestrian area, and close to all restaurants / bars. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff are charming and incredibly helpful. We decided on the half-board option, which was fantastic value, and did not regret it. The food both at breakfast time as well as at dinner time did not disappoint. A decent wine list helps of course.
The hotel also has a Spa with the usual mix of sauna / jacuzzi / swimming pool. All very nice, the only reservation I had was the quality of the massage offered which left a lot to be desired.
Would I come back? Of course, without hesitation, and that is all that needs to be said.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We have just finished a great week in St Anton. The hotel is in a cracking location - hard to be better situated.

We had a suite which was very good size and a well sized bathroom facing up the hill. The room was very comfy although the bathroom an decor requires modernisation. It's all a little 1980s and paying good money.

Service always came with a smile and te hotel is clean and cosy.

Food and dinner time was a disapppointment. The breakfast is adequate. Dinner is poor. The restaurant lacks atmosphere as the food is below a decent standard. Too many courses and a lack of quality ingredients. Food is thrown out very quickly and it's just a poor quality. We only ate twice at the hotel despite having been half board.

Saying this location makes the hotel. It's clean and staff are friendly. In need of updating but still good if you take the dining option away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loftie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Property: Hotel Alte Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 11, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#17 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alte Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alte Post Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Best Western St. Anton Am Arlberg
St. Anton Am Arlberg Best Western
Alte Post Best Western
Hotel Alte Post Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing