We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel spoilt by the noise from nightclubbers in the early hours.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sporthotel St. Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for a skiing holiday between 4/2/12 and 11/2/12. I was given a very small single room with single bed (109), so why the single room supplement was so excessive I don't know. The bathroom was adequate with shower, hairdryer and 2 particularly small towels. To use the safe in the room I had to pay an 8 euro deposit for it but it was next to impossible to turn the key so I gave up using it after a few days. The food in the restaurant was very good on the whole and we tried some interesting and very good Austrian wines. Our dedicated waitress was also very pleasant and helpful. We paid extra to eat in the in-house Steak House on the last night, the food was good but several drunken patrons disturbed the evening or provided entertainment depending on how you viewed it. The swimming pool was pleasant if a touch chilly and I was surprised that 2 male guests chose to get in naked! I also asked if it was possible to get bath robes, these were brought to the room, no mention of the 8 euro charge which was added to the final bill.

One of the worst features of the hotel was its position both next to and opposite a nightclub. Noisy patrons leaving at 2 or 3 in the morning were quite annoying and I wouldn't go back to this hotel for that reason. In fact people in St Anton seemed more interested in drinking than skiing, which at least meant from 9am to 11am we had the slopes virtually to ourselves.

The lack of quality waiter served mountain restaurants in St Anton was disappointing. The only 2 decent restaurants we found were the Alm Hospitz and Maienese Hotel which were both in St Christoph. St Anton was definitely only worth visiting as one off and I would be reluctant to go anywhere in Austria again.

Room Tip: Single rooms 108 and 109 are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valentina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just spent 7 nights at the Sport hotel with my ski group, of 14. We all had a wonderful time. The hotel has a great little bar, and restaurant. The food was wonderful, the service was great and the salad bar was always fresh and interesting. Great location and also a free storage for skis and boots at the ski lift was an added plus for comfort so you never had to walk in your ski boots!!!I would definitely stay again at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet rooms , not on the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is well located in the centre of town with easy access to the lifts.Sadly the main street is packed with bars and restaurants so late night noise is a big problem.
The twin bedrooms ,with a few exceptions, are very small and poorly ventilated.The showers are dated and the towels are threadbare.
The hotel bar lacks character and seating is limited and not really comfortable.
The pool is good, the sauna and steam room adequate.The ski room is convenient but stiflingly hot, not good when you have all your gear on .
The food on the half board basis was the best feature-varied menu, well presented and wholesome.The wine choice is limited and expensive even for Austrian 'house' red.I wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main street. Some twin rooms have small lounge areas and baths and these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhuthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just back from the superb snow in St Anton, and thankfully the snow was matched by the Sport Hotel. Very comfortable even though we had a "small room" seemed usual Austrian size to me. The food was exceptional every night and complimented by the very attentive service. Great hotel bar and spa / pool is great after a day piste bashing. To top it all off the sports location in mid town is great for all the bars / shops / and slopes. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Slightly dated but large rooms and very friendly efficient staff.
Noisy if in front, but then the location is outstanding .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We got a great last minute deal at this hotel. The rooms decor was dated, but it added to its charm. The balcony was nice, and the breakfast spread was abundant and tasty. Internet access was very cheap for 24-hours, and they even gave us an hour free. The location is great, there was some street noise from the club across the street late at night but it didn't bother us. Of the 3 hotels we stayed at during our Austrian ski vacation -- this one was by far the best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sugahmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Right in the heart of town and walking distance to the slopes. Cozy hotel that still has that vintage/euro/ski vibe.
Good breakfast, comfortable room. Lots of closet and storage space. I was on the 1st floor, above the main street- which got pretty loud and rowdy when the bars close down. I'd recommend a higher floor in the back if you appreciate the quite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VTtraveler_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
218 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel St. Anton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel St. Anton

Address: Dorfstrasse 48, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#16 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £120 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel St. Anton 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sporthotel St. Anton is located in the pedestrian zone in the center of St. Anton, only a 5-minute walk from the cable cars. The à la carte restaurant “Steakhouse” serves a wide range of culinary delights and refined wines. The spa area was completely redesigned in 2008 and features an indoor pool (5 x 10 metres), a sauna, a steam bath, a solarium, an infrared cabin and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel St. Anton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel St. Anton Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Sporthotel St. Anton Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing