We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family-run hotel that is entirely deserving of its #1 ranking!”
Review of Himmlhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Himmlhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Himmelhof for four nights. We chose the hotel based on its reviews on Tripadvisor and could not have been happier. The owners are absolutely wonderful and made us feel welcome immediately upon our arrival. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which featured a 2-person bath tub and shower, and a separate room with a table, mini-bar/fridge, and sofa. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the village and the mountains. The breakfast featured a wide selection of foods for every taste together with friendly and attentive service. After a day of hiking, we retired to the sauna/wellness area, which is absolutely gorgeous - better than anything you will find in the States. There was one hot sauna, one "bio-sauna" (cooler), and a steam room. The lounge area is huge and features comfortable lounge chairs, and even four "water beds" that are so comfortable I fell asleep almost immediately. This may very well have been the best hotel experience we have ever had. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Himmlhof for two days. We were warmly greeted by the owners who we're engaging and very friendly. The hotel is centrally located and equipped with a wellness area that is very clean. The breakfast is superb. Overall, this hotel is a winner and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

20th July 2014. We stayed at this fantastic hotel as part of a motorbike tour of Germany and Austria, We are no strangers to hotels in the area but this has proven to be the best hotel we have stayed in by far. The hosts are very friendly and hospitable, and made us feel at home immediately on our arrival The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff all friendly and professional. As previously reviewed, the breakfast is of an extremely high standard and beautifully presented. In general, people travel to St Anton in the skiing season, we travel in the summer. This small village is beautiful and ideal for walking: beautiful scenery, flowers everywhere, cows with bells, and clean air. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and hope to return in the near future. Our one regret is that we did not stay longer

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Himmelhof. This Hotel is amicable decorated, freshly renovated and has not lost it's family touch to it. The owners are picture-perfect-hosts and make sure you feel comfortable. Also you can tell, the working environment there is highly taken care of (Lots of laughter in the morning between the employees and the owners).
Breakfast is of high standard and afternoon cake is complementary. These owners do know how to spoil you.
The wellness area in the basement is beautiful and thought through (deep sink to dip into cold water after Sauna, Lounge area with calm music, complimentary Tea and nuts).
The apartments (203) we had was spacious and of such tasteful alpine decoration only a true Bavarian like myself would not find to be Kitsch but almost inspiring :-)

St.Anton is a skiing metropolitan place in Tyrol, but we were there during the month of July so luckily no "Apré ski Party central". Keep in mind, this is in the middle of "downtown" St.Anton, but it also is a very small little village which is nice to stroll on a warm summer evening.

We are most definitely coming back (outside of skiing season, that is ;-))

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a balcony, wooden floors and are spacious enough. You wont make a wrong choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been to the Himmlhof for the last three years and each time I have had the most wonderful experience. The owners are so welcoming, accommodating and friendly. The service and facilities are excellent. There is nothing so relaxing as returning after a day of skiing to this warm hotel to have delicious afternoon tea and then time in the wellness centre downstairs. I shall continue to come back. Staying at the Himmlhof has made my trips to St Anton so very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mignonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'd heard quite a bit about St. Anton before finally having a chance to make it out there, and was very excited for the experience. After about 12 hours of traveling by plane and bus, we arrived at the Himmlhof and received a wonderfully warm reception from Margherita and Sebastian, the hotel's proprietors. Immediately we felt like family--a feeling that persisted throughout our weeklong stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the location is perfect--close to everything but thankfully off the noisy, main thoroughfare through town. (The revelers in St. Anton are a rowdy bunch and party late into the night, making that buffer block a valuable asset).

And that breakfast--I don't think any breakfast could ever compare. So much of everything you could possibly want, and so delicious! I still dream about breakfast at the Himmlhof.

There's a wonderful spa on the lower level as well; great for relaxing after a rigorous day on the slopes. If you want a larger swimming/spa experience, the hotel is just a three-minute walk to the Schwimmbad.

Overall, it was really the perfect place to stay in St. Anton. Gracious hosts, ideal location, comfortable, clean rooms, nice amenities and the best breakfast you'll ever have. I would recommend it to anyone and would absolutely stay there again in I'm lucky enough to make it back to St. Anton.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel is probably quietest, as it's further from the noise of the main drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having enjoyed several annual January skiing vacations to the Himmllhof, St Anton with the always delightful Marguerita & Sebastian Penz, we had a special adventure with a return trip in March with the entire family in tow -- all our children, spouses and grand-kids (including 7 mo. old Addie!). Our family shared the "home away from home" warmth that the Penz' so easily provide. Several enjoyed guided off-piste skiing as recommended by Sebastian and experienced a special St Anton that will last a lifetime. My wife & I look forward to next January and again returning to the Himmlhof, a wonderful small hotel garni!!!

Room Tip: The new 2nd floor suites are primo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
213 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#13 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rosa Canina
Hotel Rosa Canina
#31 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himmlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himmlhof

Address: Im Gries 9, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £242 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Himmlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himmlhof is unique - traditonal and intimate family run boutique hotel with attention to detail and understated luxury. Central but quiet location, warm, charming, alpine. European Luxury Boutique Hotel of the year 2017 - LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE Boutique Hotel of the year - T & H ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Himmlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himmlhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Himmlhof St Anton Am Arlberg
Himmlhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing