We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable, Good Amenities, Excellent Value”
Review of Valluga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valluga Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, Good Amenities, Excellent Value”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during a road trip en route to the Italian lakes but wished we had arranged to stay for longer. There was ample parking. On arrival the reception staff were helpful, friendly and very happy to provide information about the hotel and its amenities. They were also happy to recommend good walks and places to visit in the surrounding area. I understand that the hotel has recently been renovated. Our room was a good size and there were complimentary bottles of beer and water on arrival. Each day a chocolate was placed in the room for each guest. The bathroom was excellent with good quality fitments and bathrobes for each guest. There is free wi fi and DVDs of modern films are available at no extra cost. There is no air conditioning as this is mainly a hotel for winter sports, and the room could get quite hot depending on the weather.

The hotel has a very pleasant swimming pool with (rather cold) jacuzzi, spa rooms and a relaxation room with water beds. The latter has complimentary tea, coffee and various types of nuts available for guests. There is a small but well equipped gym. Towels are available in the gym, swimming pool and spa areas.

Breakfasts are buffet style with a wide selection of good quality food including meats, cheeses, smoked salmon etc. Eggs are available to order in whatever style you wish and these are available with sausages, ham, mushrooms or cheese.

The evening menu is limited to two choices but the food is excellent quality and very well cooked. Dinner was unavailable on one night of our stay because the chef was unwell. I would imagine that there would be some back up to cover this. during the skiing season.

We thought that the price we paid for our stay at the Valluga was very reasonable taking into account its comfort, quality and amenities. I appreciate that this is due to us visiting outside the skiing season and the hotel is undoubtedly more costly in Winter. We will return to St Anton as we think the area is lovely for walking, and when we do we will certainly stay at the Valluga again.

One comment I would like to make is that the hotel has been criticised in the past for a smell of tobacco smoke in the rooms. Due to the aforementioned refurbishment this is no longer the case but I would like to see notices advising guests not to smoke in rooms as I think it would be a pity for smoky rooms to become a problem again in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on the main road running past St Anton and although it is set back from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    25
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
51
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Simply beautiful hotel with very friendly and patient staff!

We were a group of guys on our annual ski weekend. We normally stay in the kind of dive that is destined to be featured on reality TV soon, but for once paid up for a decent place.

And it was worth it. Very funky decor, a really nice games room, decent food (and an amazing breakfast) and staff who made our stay special. We did spend a fair bit of time in the Mooser, so I know we were not the quietest when we came back in the evening. But the staff still made us very welcome, and nothing seemed too much trouble. The hotel is part of a Balearic hotel group, so it has that relaxed Ibiza-like vibe - mixed with alpine touches for a cosy stay.

The hotel is located in the middle of the village, so walking to the lifts is a bit of a walk (fine in shoes, but would be a tiny bit of a pain in ski boots). The hotel offers a free shuttle-servce which sorts out the only negative I would have mentioned.

We'll definitely be back - if they'll have us ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quovadisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just arrived back from four enjoyable days spent at the Valluga Hotel. The decor was harmonious the ambience relaxing the staff friendly and efficient and the spa facilities and pool superb.
I hope to return next year for more Alpine pampering.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knokke-heist
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Swanky hotel with the most lovely staff. We had a absolutely fantastic holiday and so did our two children who were treated as VIP's by the hotel staff. Breakfast and dinner were just perfect. The bar, biljart room and second living room are very cosy. The spa and swimming pool are most relaxing...
We'll be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanStockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Second time here. Another great stay, beautiful luxurious rooms, fabulous food and attentive staff. Top quality pool and spa to relax in after a day on the slopes. Overall a really relaxing, friendly feel and very child-friendly too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphysincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After a long and rough hiking and driving days in Italy needed a place to stay. By a chance stopped at Valluga. So glad we did! Our stay was PERFECT. Planned to stay 2 nights, instead stayed 3. Great 3 days on the mountains and relaxing eves at the hotel.
Multilingual staff was amazing, friendly and attentive. Eg. they served us nice meal, even though kitchen was already closed when we arrived. Hotel has been renovated few years ago. Scandinavian and stylish! Room was spacious and chic with DVD-selection, coffee maker, free wifi and great beds, also free drinks and fruits. Very nice bathroom and big balcony. Spa area is great: pool, jacuzzi corners, 3 different saunas and a relaxing room with water beds. Fantastic way to relax after 6-8 hours hikes on the mountains. In evenings enjoyed restaurant`s tasty 4-course dinner (asian/spanish flavors). Good quality, fair price. Breakfast was also just great.
St. Anton itself is a small, small town but offers great and various hiking routes (all levels from easy walks to challenging) and of course during the winter good skiing. You walk about 5-7 minutes to main lifts. Next time (and there definitely will be next time) we go to Valluga enjoy some fresh snow on the slopes.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We visited off peak as part of a summer road trip and had a really wonderful stay. The staff seem to really go out of the way to make your stay as you as comfortable as possible. The attention to detail is fantastic from the glass elevator to matches, candle, coffee maker and free beer in the room! An amazing TV with a great selection of DVDs at reception. Also, don't miss the stunningly good food at dinner... well worth a few extra euros. We loved the reception areas and games room as well. Although slightly surprised at the location as we pulled up (its pretty much on the main road through Anton am Arlberg) but actually this was perfect for moving on quickly in the morning - not that we wanted to! An amazing stay: this is a hotel that pulls out all the stops!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#21 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valluga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valluga Hotel

Property: Valluga Hotel
Address: Arlbergstrasse 79, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valluga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valluga Hotel is situated in St Anton am Arlberg, one of the world's best ski resorts with its slopes, snow and mountain activities, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The hotel has been lovely restored to its original charm with a modern twist. Our mission is to take care of you and give you the perfect holiday-feel in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Valluga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valluga Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing