We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot emphasize enough how disappointing this "new" hotel was.....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannot emphasize enough how disappointing this "new" hotel was.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My fiancé and I had extremely high expectations of this hotel seeing as the family owns a 5 star hotel down the road (Antoner Hof) and we were one of the first customers staying in the new renovation. The prices for the room are the same as the 5-star, which was initially difficult to swallow seeing as the amenities were not as ample or great, but we were profusely promised 5 star service multiple times..... So despite the extremely high price tag, we decided to give it a try.
They were very diligent about touching base with us every day for a deposit of half the price of our entire stay to secure room. During these few days when we were deciding on this hotel, their response time to any of our questions was within a few minutes or hours at the most. Of course, we assumed their persistence and attention was part of their "5-star service," making sure we were aware that we were a top priority.... but immediately after we gave them our cards details and authorized them to take the first payment, we followed up with an email with questions on our transfer and ski guide, and literally heard nothing back for 2 days. This was extremely alarming, seeing as the attention level took a swan dive from the get-go as soon as they debited our card.... but we let it go....

When we arrived at the hotel, we were shocked to find that not only did they not anticipate our arrival on time, but the entire hotel was NOT in fact renovated. The "wellness center" for example was not renovated, nor was it even fully functional, with their old solarium out of order and under serviced saunas and steam rooms. So we did not use the wellness center our when tire week stay, even though this usually a big part of out ski vacations. We were NOT told that the wellness center was not, in fact, renovated. This hotel has no amenities as far as a wellness center and IT DOES NOT HAVE A SPA OF ANY KIND. Please be aware of this before paying these unbelievable prices.

The staff in the restaurant and the men who work the night shift are humble and lovely. The concierge and management is obnoxiously stuffy and rude. The art of hospitality is grace and service, and this hotel does not offer the comfort of making sure that we feel appreciated for our business and like their guests. In fact, we have had to request services (basic services of any hotel) multiple times on a number of occasions, and the manner in which they respond to these requests made us feel as if they were doing us a favor.

The cleaners are not consistent and they "forgot" to do our turn down service for 2 nights out of 7 after we specifically requested the cleaners to come back up- we came back to an unclean room twice. This is completely unacceptable of any hotel, never mind a new hotel who claims to have 5- star service. On top of all that, when we received our bill on our final day, there was a shocking $500 of extra expenses for cleaning food on our floor which the hotel accused us of having "spit on." Beyond this unbelievable accusation, mind you we were paying $1500 per night for a suite at a brand new hotel, and these people were treating us like students in a hostel. When I disputed the extra charges with a manager who claimed to be the "boss," he was disgustingly rude, said he would not remove any of the charges, and pointed fingers accusing us (his guests/ high-paying customers) of being "troublemakers." We have truly never been so insulted in our entire lives- not from anyone- never mind a family run hotel who we spent tens of thousands of dollars to stay in. We travel through Europe 4 times + per year, stayed in the best hotels across the US and Europe, and have hands down never had such a horrible experience before.

It is a real shame having to spend so much money and leave St Anton which a bad taste in your mouth. It is a great place to ski and a cute town, but please do not let your accommodation ruin your experience. As a former customer/ guest/ world traveler and being in the hospitality business myself, I strongly advise staying away from this hotel. The family who runs it walks around with an air of arrogance which will prevent the hotel from ever improving on the majority of these issues- the number 1 issue being treated like pure crap. I hope this review saves some travelers from the awful experience we endured on what was meant to be a very special holiday for my fiancé and I.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PLT0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Online Sales at Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sir,

At first we are really sorry how we become acquainted.
Nevertheless it`s absolutely not comprehensible, due to this reason, that you haven`t complained ANYTHING during your stay and you have been here in the hotel for at least 7 nights. That`s very strange.
As we have just opened our brand-new hotel on December 19th, 2013 with totally new rooms & Suites with retro style we can`t tell you how disappointing it was as we have seen that you have spilled on our furniture and walls,
didn't want to pay a cleaning fee (just for your information it wasn`t just as written from your part "cleaning food from the floor" - it was digested food.
In Fact we called the police on the last evening as you wasn`t willing to pay your bill.
Believe me, also this behavior is unusual for us - we have never seen such aggressive people like you.

Further we just want to remind you, that your arrival time on December 28th was 11:30 a.m. -
the originally CHECK-IN-TIME is 2:00 - we just organized everything, that you can obtain one of our great suites at 12:00.

We are no wellness-hotel - as already mentioned on our website - our slogan is SKIING DAYS ARE NO WELLNESS DAYS.
But we are pleased to inform you, that in the summer time we reconstruct the whole wellness area and get a totally new wellness area with a swimming pool and a Jacuzzi as well.

I`m sure we have done our best to make you holiday as relaxing as possible -
as you have seen we have also organized a king size blanket- we don`t use it in Austria. But our bellboy has organized the desired blanked immediately and put it at your disposal.

It`s such a shame that you now want to argue everything on tripadvisor -
by the way please consider, that you have been very aggressive (for whatever reason??) ...

We wish you and your fiancé all the best for the future and a really nice wedding!
Kindest Tyrolean regards to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
11
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I feel that the hotel is a warm and nice place.
We were a little lost in the way and arrived a little too late for the dinner.
But after a quick call 30 minutes before the restaurant's last order, we were welcome to enjoy the dinner, very very nice.

The staff at the receptions are very friendly and welcome all guests nicely in the equal manner.
They are very helpful to me who is new for skiing and speak no German at all.

The breakfast was really nice and pretty much complete for my partner's and my taste of bread.
The service was quick and efficient but still friendly.
The five course dinner was okay, not so special.
However, the vegetarian menu choice and variety of soups and desserts is a treat.

The shuttle to the main slope (chair lift) is on time and the driver is really really nice.
We always chose to walk back to the hotel so we could enjoy the small but pretty nice village's centre because it is not that far at all.

I especially like the view of the room (to the forest) besides the fact that the room is very spacious v-à-v those on France.
And last but not least, the hotel's different saunas are just so cool.
I like this hotel and might come back this year or some other time if we decide to go on skiing trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaNdOra_546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Verkaufsleiter at Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Pandora,

we would be glad to welcome you again in our newly renovated Raffl´s Tyrol Hotel! The Re-Opening is planned for 12th of December 2013!

Please have a look at our Images we post here to get an idea how the Hotel will look like after finishing all the renovation works!

See you in Tyrol
Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#9 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#17 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#7 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#27 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schneider Hof Hotel Garni
Schneider Hof Hotel Garni
#20 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valluga Hotel
Valluga Hotel
#16 of 59 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel

Property: Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
Address: Arlbergstrasse 77 | 6580 St. Anton am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#13 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#21 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are brand new and the service is of the same standard than in our 5-star hotel Raffl`s St. Antoner Hof! The "RAFFL'S TYROL" is situated in the center of St. Anton, about a 3 minutes walking distance from the ski runs. We have: the unique Raffl's Spirit. You know it by that amicable combination of avant-garde ideas, trendy design and traditional Tyrolean hospitality, then mixed with a pinch of flower power and supported by a charming and professional staff. And always following our guiding principle: "Full throttle ahead!" ...A feast for your senses - our gourmet kitchen... With a fascinating two toque cuisine, our master chefs conjures up "wow" experiences every day - dishes that please the eye as well as the palate. Our excellent, traditional Austrian cuisine is sprinkled with imaginative, international aspects. When you are looking for a place to warm up after a long and active day, we are happy to offer the following features: stuben sauna, Finnish sauna, infrared cabin, as well as brine and steam baths. And moreover - a very inviting hotel bar with open fireplace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing