We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience!”
Review of Hotel Lux Alpinae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved staying at the hotel Lux. The family run hotel is beautifully designed, warm and very comfortable. We looked forward to a 5 course dinner with a new menu every evening. Compliments to the chef on a creative and extremely tasty dishes. The owners Sabine & Alex really looked after us helping us with daytime & evening babysitters.
Even though the hotel is situated up a hill from the slopes, a shuttle service with a friendly driver was quick and efficient! What a great group of people.....Look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanycream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lux Alpinae
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I spent some exciting snowboard holidays at the Lux Alpinae from 5th till 9th of January.

As a studied product designer, I examined the interior design as well as the architecture carefully - you can call it an occupational illness. I was really amazed by the outstanding facade of the building, which is built into a cliff. The generous vitrification mounted on a steel and wood construction gives you an insight of what to expect from the inside: a minimalistic but decorated interior with love for details. Not too empty, not too overpacked, just right.
Standing in the hotel, you are able to touch the natural cliff wall - it seems as the cliff and the hotel are one. Nobody was trying to hide it behind tons of plaster, but spent time in planning how the cliff and the building can form a symbiosis. Well done!

I was also really stoked by the room design: the furniture is made out of natural materials, fortunately without ecological touch. The best thing of the room is for sure the big glass front between the bed and the integrated bathroom, so while lying in bed you can watch your beloved one taking a shower.

All in all, the hotel is amazing. The breakfast was like an orgasm in my mouth. The 4-course menu in the evening left nothing more to be desired. Everybody, who likes to test something apart from the traditional, kitschy places, should check in here straightaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrycja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wow! This family hotel is really run well. From the moment we got off the train we were extremely well looked after by the staff and owners. We stayed for 9 nights in February and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys great hospitality and excellent food. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had and the five course dinners were supreme!
The only slight downside is that the hotel is about 800 metres up a fairly steep road, however there is a shuttle service that goes up and down and we never had to wait for it for more than 5 minutes.
Our rooms were big, clean and the views were great.
Thanks to Alex, Sabine and your team for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this hotel and we still love it! We have been both as a family of three and a huge party of twenty plus and have been equally impressed with the service and attention to detail. As well as being unusually stylish, the food is superb. The Lux is the perfect place to relax and has a really cool spa area. It's refreshing to find such a contemporary boutique style hotel in the mountains. However, what really makes it for us is the fantastic reception from everyone associated with the hotel. From Sabine and Alex who are extremely welcoming to Nikolas who remembers your needs in the boot room, everyone is so helpful. John at the bar knows how to fix you the perfect drink and Monika will sort out all your ski pass needs. In fact, a real strength of the hotel is that you will see so many familiar faces. When we needed to leave at 7am this morning, Tania and Ilios got up to serve us breakfast at 6. We plan to return again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kertess A, Inhaber at Hotel Lux Alpinae, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

dear Simon,
it is always just great to have you all here!!!! best regards from sabine and Alex and the lux staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this modern hotel in the Alps, skiing during the days, enjoying wellness and diner at night. Although it is called a design hotel the rooms are quit simple and not very cosy. The bath for example is very clean but quit small. We paid € 300 per night and actually I expected a double sink for example. The road alomg the hotel can be a bit noisy at night - bring your ear pluggs! The wellness area did not fullfill our wishes completely.... the outside hot tub seemed to be out of order for more than a year .
But.... a very friendly staff (thank you Tanja from Pettneu!!) and a great ski shuttle to the lifts. Both breakfast and diner at night is superb!! A daily 5-meal course surprised us day after day and we were really loooking forward to it after a day of hard work on the piste .
The drinks (wine) are quite expensive, we paid approx. € 5 for a very small (1 dl) glass of wine. If I owned this place with only 58 betts I would introduce myself to new guests and offer them a drink or a bottle of wine.
Last but not least, we really enjoyed our stay, also because of the various guest from all over the world (UK, Brasil, South Afrika, Italian, etc.). Keep up the good work and improve where you can!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxRaaijmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is located right next to the main road passing through StAnton and approx. 2 min from the start of all lifts for the mountains. Very modern, large nice rooms, very clean with free wifi everywhere. From the owner, to the girls in the reception, to the cook and driver of the van (that always is there to drive you to the lifts or to pick you up when you finish ski) all are very friendly, and ready to assist you at any time. Really fantastic people running the hotel! Great food mainly for dinner, breakfast is just enough with a small buffet, but you can always have any style of eggs served on time. Ski room ok, sauna and steam bath very good, massage good. This hotel is definitely a winner, although I really like ski hotels to have swimming pool I didn't mind at all not having one due to the smile of everyone working there. Will go back for sure!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kertess A, Inhaber at Hotel Lux Alpinae, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

efcharisto parapoli dear george!!!!looking foreward to see you next year again!
greetings from the lux staff and sabine and alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The was the second time I have stayed at the lux with my dad and Sabine and Alex greeted us as old friends. Every single member of staff was chatty, friendly and very helpful.
I have a food allergy and the lux is the only place in the alps I have visited that has been able to cater for me. I wasn't unwell for the whole trip.
The modern, open style of the hotel is the perfect antidote to typical stuffy and dark hotels you often find in the alps.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MiniBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxalpinae, Inhaber at Hotel Lux Alpinae, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

thanks a lot " minibarlow" for youre nice Review. it was a pleasure for us to have you and youre dad back again !! our Chef was really happy to read youre comment about the Food! so hope to see you again next winter!!!
greetings from the lux staff
sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
#26 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux Alpinae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux Alpinae

Address: Arlbergstrasse 41, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#11 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#17 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £149 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lux Alpinae 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday in St. Anton without the deer antlers. With a gigantic Alpine backdrop and one of the most famous skiing areas in the world outside. With urban flair and unintrusive hospitality indoors. With extraordinary architecture and the kind of food you’d get at a cool, hip restaurant. Glass, steel, fairfaced concrete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lux Alpinae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Alpinae Hotel
Hotel Lux Alpinae Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing