We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”

Chalet Gertrud Gabl
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Anton am Arlberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Gertrud Gabl
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I think I can safely say my friends and I have rarely felt so spoilt on a holiday as we were at Chalet Gertrud Gabl by Annabel, Jason and Darren, who served up a warm welcome, wonderful service and great food!
Ten of us from Singapore stayed at the chalet from Sunday Feb 5 to Sunday Feb 12 2012. Our hosts tried their best to cater to our diverse needs, which ranged from beginner snowboard and ski lessons to an off-piste adventure with the berg fuhrer (mountain king) guides of St Anton, to baby-sitting services.
The chalet was very comfortable with beautiful views of Rendl mountain from the living room and every bedroom. Our hosts took much care to make our time in the chalet extra special, including small touches like l'Occitaine toiletries, scented candles in the bathrooms and bedroom slippers.
After a day on the slopes, there was always tea and freshly-baked cake to look forward to, followed by sparkling wine and canapes and then a three-course dinner. Annabel's creations were good to look at, delicious and nutricious. The apple strudel she served up uring our last dinner at the chalet made me swoon with delight, What a wonderful way to end a week in the Austrian alps!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovespancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I visited the Chalet on our honeymoon and had such an incredible stay. Jason, Annabel and Lauren were so hospitable and couldn't do enough for us.

This was the first time that we have stayed at an owner-run, non- package chalet for a long time and are totally converted.

Positives:
Chalet is in pristine condition, modern, comfortable, big living room with great views and a big roaring fire,
Great wine picked for each meal
Incredible food (best we have had in a chalet by a long way)
hot tub (with beer stash)
sauna and relation area
Good sized rooms
The transfer from Innsbruck is just over an hour on the train. Lovely journey up and no screaming kids. Bliss.
The hosts!

-ves
The chalet is not ski-in ski-out but Jason and Annabel are always there to run you the 5 mins drive to the lifts/pick you up from Apres.

St.Anton
It was our first time in St.Anton. This is a huge area, taking in Vars, Lech, Zug, and Stuben. Although it is an intermediate resort, all main arterial runs are accesible by lower intermediates.
Legendary apres ski on the piste and in the village.

In summary: can't rate this chalet or company highly enough. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I and two friends stayed with Annabel, Jason and Harriet (their great chalet girl) for the week commencing 24th January, and we had an absolute blast from start to finish.

Indeed, their work began even before we arrived, giving us great tips on train times, ski lessons and hire.

All three did such a great job that we certainly felt more like house guests (very well treated ones!) rather than paying guests.

The food was second to none - and Annabel even kindly kept it aside for us when our partying at Krazy Kanguruh and Moosewirt tended to drag on; that said, the fabulous canapes and Prosecco usually managed to lure us back in time!

Nothing was ever a problem, whether it was our slightly complicated dietary requirements, ferrying us back and forth to skilifts and bars, putting on & pulling off my skiboots once or twice and even collecting my skis after one too many gluhweins!

The living and dining areas in the chalet are fabulous, with a real fire, plenty of sofa-space, tea and cookies available all afternoon, a fabulous sauna and 24 hour hot tub with amazing views. After a day-4 injury I was more than happy to hang around the chalet while the others headed off skiing.

The bedrooms were very clean, warm and perfectly comfortable, all with ensuites.

There was a group of about 10 others staying in the chalet that week, and both they and Annabel & Jason ensured that we were always included in their fun.

I have never before placed a review on Tripadvisor, and am torn doing so now in case the great secret of Gertrud Gabl gets out, but ultimately such a great chalet and fabulous hosts cannot go unsung.

We'll just have to get our skates on & book 2010 Part II, and I would recommend all reading this to do likewise.

Dee

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Just back from a week in this superb Austrian ski resort. We stayed in the Chalet Gertrude Gabel with Ski Evolution and the accomodation and cooking were brilliant.
We had wonderful double rooms with en suite baths or showers and a view acorss the snowy valley. After breakfast Jason would drive us down to the skihire shop where we put on boots and collected skis for the day. It made walking around in boots a thing of the past especially as he collected us on return at 4pm.
Then tea with home made cake followed by hot tub and sauna before a rest for canapes at 7.30pm. Then dinner to die for cooked by Annabel - a fantastic way to end a great day as the snow was excellent.

Thank Paddy013_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Just to confirm what the other reviewers have said, Chalet Gertrude Gabl really does stand head and shoulders over most accommodation options in St. Anton. The rooms are perfectly comfortable (comparable with a very good 3 star hotel), the location is a little out of town (which has both advantages and disadvantages) but the food and welcome really makes it excellent value for money. Annabel, the chef, produces a fantastic variety of delicious meals - some of the best food I have ever eaten and certainly far superior to the usual hotel standard. The charm and ease of both Annabel and Jason make staying there a pleasure - a perfect combination of homely comforts and luxury service!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberryDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The business of looking after their customers is taken very seriously by Jason and Annabel - and they certainly know their business. Faultless.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Wow! What a Chalet! Alpine Evolution is a small, independent operator with every charm and detail minutely thought out. Now in its second year of business, Chalet Gertrud Gabl is truly unbeatable in the St Anton chalet market. I visited with a small group of friends in mid January, and found the ambience of the chalet to be second to none, from the bubbling hot tub with cold beers within arm-reach, looking out onto Rendl shining in the moonlight, to the canapés served in front of a roaring fire, washed down with a glass of bubbly.

Annabel and Jason are the most hospitable hosts of any Chalet company I have ever been with. I have never been made to feel so welcome or at home in a rented property. They did everything possible to make our holiday magical.

The food is delicious from the start of the day to the end. Breakfasts are a cut above, with homemade jams, fresh croissants, a great selection of cereals and a made to order 'full English' to top it all off. Any after-ski hunger pangs were quickly seen off tempting freshly made cakes for tea. The 4 course evening meal is exquisite, rivalling the best of the restaurants in town. Annabel, the chef, prepares every dish with great flare, huge variety and is extremely accommodating to any personal requests. The wine served is better than any I have ever drunk in an inclusive holiday.

The rooms are comfortable with spectacular views across the mountains, bathrooms spotless and modern. All in all this is THE perfect holiday chalet in St Anton. This chalet is incredible value for what you get. It is literally in a class of its own, competing on style and service with the most expensive companies in town such as Scott Dunn at prices little elevated from the 'mass' operators like Ski World or Ski Val. As a long time visitor to St Anton, I would never stay anywhere else in town again - and by the looks of the amount of returnees I saw in the visitors book - neither would anyone else!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpenhotel St Christoph
Alpenhotel St Christoph
#38 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Gertrud Gabl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Gertrud Gabl

Address: Schulerhofweg 16, St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 69 Speciality Lodging in St. Anton am Arlberg
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Chalet Gertrud Gabl Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing