We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

Chalet Gertrud Gabl
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Anton am Arlberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Gertrud Gabl
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I and two friends stayed with Annabel, Jason and Harriet (their great chalet girl) for the week commencing 24th January, and we had an absolute blast from start to finish.

Indeed, their work began even before we arrived, giving us great tips on train times, ski lessons and hire.

All three did such a great job that we certainly felt more like house guests (very well treated ones!) rather than paying guests.

The food was second to none - and Annabel even kindly kept it aside for us when our partying at Krazy Kanguruh and Moosewirt tended to drag on; that said, the fabulous canapes and Prosecco usually managed to lure us back in time!

Nothing was ever a problem, whether it was our slightly complicated dietary requirements, ferrying us back and forth to skilifts and bars, putting on & pulling off my skiboots once or twice and even collecting my skis after one too many gluhweins!

The living and dining areas in the chalet are fabulous, with a real fire, plenty of sofa-space, tea and cookies available all afternoon, a fabulous sauna and 24 hour hot tub with amazing views. After a day-4 injury I was more than happy to hang around the chalet while the others headed off skiing.

The bedrooms were very clean, warm and perfectly comfortable, all with ensuites.

There was a group of about 10 others staying in the chalet that week, and both they and Annabel & Jason ensured that we were always included in their fun.

I have never before placed a review on Tripadvisor, and am torn doing so now in case the great secret of Gertrud Gabl gets out, but ultimately such a great chalet and fabulous hosts cannot go unsung.

We'll just have to get our skates on & book 2010 Part II, and I would recommend all reading this to do likewise.

Dee

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

Just back from a week in this superb Austrian ski resort. We stayed in the Chalet Gertrude Gabel with Ski Evolution and the accomodation and cooking were brilliant.
We had wonderful double rooms with en suite baths or showers and a view acorss the snowy valley. After breakfast Jason would drive us down to the skihire shop where we put on boots and collected skis for the day. It made walking around in boots a thing of the past especially as he collected us on return at 4pm.
Then tea with home made cake followed by hot tub and sauna before a rest for canapes at 7.30pm. Then dinner to die for cooked by Annabel - a fantastic way to end a great day as the snow was excellent.

Thank Paddy013_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Just to confirm what the other reviewers have said, Chalet Gertrude Gabl really does stand head and shoulders over most accommodation options in St. Anton. The rooms are perfectly comfortable (comparable with a very good 3 star hotel), the location is a little out of town (which has both advantages and disadvantages) but the food and welcome really makes it excellent value for money. Annabel, the chef, produces a fantastic variety of delicious meals - some of the best food I have ever eaten and certainly far superior to the usual hotel standard. The charm and ease of both Annabel and Jason make staying there a pleasure - a perfect combination of homely comforts and luxury service!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberryDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The business of looking after their customers is taken very seriously by Jason and Annabel - and they certainly know their business. Faultless.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Wow! What a Chalet! Alpine Evolution is a small, independent operator with every charm and detail minutely thought out. Now in its second year of business, Chalet Gertrud Gabl is truly unbeatable in the St Anton chalet market. I visited with a small group of friends in mid January, and found the ambience of the chalet to be second to none, from the bubbling hot tub with cold beers within arm-reach, looking out onto Rendl shining in the moonlight, to the canapés served in front of a roaring fire, washed down with a glass of bubbly.

Annabel and Jason are the most hospitable hosts of any Chalet company I have ever been with. I have never been made to feel so welcome or at home in a rented property. They did everything possible to make our holiday magical.

The food is delicious from the start of the day to the end. Breakfasts are a cut above, with homemade jams, fresh croissants, a great selection of cereals and a made to order 'full English' to top it all off. Any after-ski hunger pangs were quickly seen off tempting freshly made cakes for tea. The 4 course evening meal is exquisite, rivalling the best of the restaurants in town. Annabel, the chef, prepares every dish with great flare, huge variety and is extremely accommodating to any personal requests. The wine served is better than any I have ever drunk in an inclusive holiday.

The rooms are comfortable with spectacular views across the mountains, bathrooms spotless and modern. All in all this is THE perfect holiday chalet in St Anton. This chalet is incredible value for what you get. It is literally in a class of its own, competing on style and service with the most expensive companies in town such as Scott Dunn at prices little elevated from the 'mass' operators like Ski World or Ski Val. As a long time visitor to St Anton, I would never stay anywhere else in town again - and by the looks of the amount of returnees I saw in the visitors book - neither would anyone else!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Imagine you coming in from a day on the slopes to sit in a bubbling hot tub. The afternoon sun is on your face as you admire the spectacular and uninterrupted mountain views of Rendl across the valley and ponder the difficult question as to whether to help yourself to a cold beer... yes, that was me earlier this week.

. If you like your evening schnitzel served to you by a yodelling man in embroidered lederhosen, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you like modern luxury, like a boutiquey hotel, it definitely will be. It's a newly built, superclean chalet, with all the amenities you could possibly want. As well as the outdoor hot tub, there's a huge sauna, gorgeous lavender Occitane toiletries, a massive library of DVDs, a log burning fireplace, and enough tealight candles and red wine on tap to sooth even the most cynical and jaded of St Anton visitors.
Dinner is very good: not over fancified or over stodgy, but just what you are looking for at the end of a skiing day. Annabel is most definitely not your average chalet cook: she is an experienced private chef and really knows what she's about - she is exceptionally well organised and seems to magic amazing food out of thin air.
Both she and Jason, who run the company together, are unfailingly cheerful and upbeat (how they do it, we have no idea) and their number one priority is making their guests feel welcome and looked after in "supergood" fashion. In fact Jason seems to divine what will make guests happy before they even know it themselves. He did everything for us short of putting our ski boots on (oh wait, he DID do that for one of our party...) They also know everything and everyone there is to know in St Anton, which is a great resource.

Cons
There are really hardly any...
1) Logistics wise, it has to be said that the chalet is up a steep hill on the way out of town. That's no problem during the day as Jason always pre-organises ski storage at the Alber Sports next to the Galzig lift pass office, and is on hand to do shuttle pickups and drop offs. At night, however, if you want to go out after dinner it's either a 12 euro each way taxi ride, or a slippy walk up and down the Alte Arlbergstrasse hill.
2) when the bedrooms are set up as twins (you can choose whether you want them as doubles or twins), they are rather on the small side. There was virtually no clearance between the wardrobe doors and one of the beds. (Actually, we also weren't 100% sure about the beds: I thought mine was a bit hard but that could be down to personal preference/Austrian mattresses in general.) The good news, however, is that very few people come to St Anton to spend their time in their bedrooms, so it should not be a deal breaker.
3) The chalet was not full when we stayed there, so we had more than enough room to spread ourselves out. With sixteen adults in residence, we thought things could get quite cosy. Although, maybe that's a good thing...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpinemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I agree with all the other guests who have stayed in Gertrud Gable this season that it is the very best. The main reason this chalet stands head and shoulders above all the others I have ever stayed in is the quality of the service and the food. It is a very comfortable chalet with all en suite facilities, and Annabel & Jason are the most charming and perfect hosts. The quality of the food and wine were way above the normal provided by a chalet company, and Jason provided a cheerful and informative shuttle service to the slopes each morning and collected our tired bodies in the evening. The hot tub and sauna were wonderful as well!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Enthusiasticskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
2.5 mi away
Haus Zangerl
Haus Zangerl
#20 of 117 in St. Anton am Arlberg
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arlenburg
Hotel Arlenburg
#50 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#25 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alkira
Alkira
#36 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Gertrud Gabl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Gertrud Gabl

Address: Schulerhofweg 16, St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Speciality Lodging in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: £94 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Chalet Gertrud Gabl Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing