We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sporthotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sporthotel Austria
Dublin , Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Could not fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I stayed for week mid January. Lovely hotel. Top class staff. Excellent food. Great location adjacent slopes and a short stroll to town. Quiet location . Nice swimminmg pool . Smart dining room. Will be back I hope !

Room Tip: Try get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    20
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Having been recommended this hotel we were very pleased once we had arrived to find a comfortable and excellent facility Hotel it was also in a great location.
The food was very good and we could not fault the buffet breakfast and friendly waiter/waitress service. (Christine on reception and the wine waiter were excellent). The pool was an added excellent bonus which the children thoughly enjoyed.
There were, however, two major disappointments one being the lack of a decent shower and no shower facility in one of the family rooms! The other disappoinment being an outburst by the owner of the Hotel shouting at the top of his voice to the children for being too nosy! As you can imagine we were quite astounded at the nature of this outburst considering this is a family friendly hotel with a playroom! The children were also extremely well behaved in the dining room.
As parents we apologised for the children's behaviour (who were quite upset) and we received a very rude comment in return in which we were told it was not a kindergarten! This did leave us with a bad taste in our mouths after all we were paying guests and means we will not be going back!

Room Tip: There is a family with a separate room which may be worth having depending on a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have stayed on numerous occasions at the Sporthotel Austria for our skiing holiday & this year we decided to go for Christmas. We were a bit apprehensive as we had previously never been abroad for the festive season. Christmas at the Sporthotel with Gunther & his wonderful staff turned out to be a great success & one which I would repeat & recommend. The hotel is very comfortable & stylish. The dining room & food is a wonderful experience every evening. The service is outstanding. All the staff were, as usual, helpful, friendly & courteous. It is like coming home! The weather & ski conditions were another plus. I highly recommend this hotel for a positive skiing experience in every respect. Gunther & all his staff continue to give an exceptional standard of service. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was our second time to stay at the SportHotel Austria, and our fourth time in St Johann for a skiing holiday.
St Johann is a great area for skiing, good for beginners and intermediate skiers like us. You can store you skiis and boots in the cellar at the Sport Hotel, and if there is enough snow it is possible to ski from the main slopes down to the hotel.
The accomodation is fine, and the food is fantastic. The SportHotel has a gala evening every week, and offers a very fine 7-course meal on those nights (Christmas Eve and New Years Eve for us).
A big plus after a tiring days skiing is the swimming pool, sauna and steam room where you can rest and get cleaned up before the great evening meal.
Gunther Gatt is the owner and makes a point of talking with all his guests. Murat the wine waiter is also very nice. And Walter, a general factotoum, is extremely helpful. Christine too is a delightful lady and most friendly and polite. All other staff were all very friendly.
One fact stood out for us - there are a lot of repeat visitors here and we can see why.
All I can say is we will be back - and that
Gutes neues Jahr zu alles am Sport Hotel Austria.
Donna & James McCumiskey and family

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaMcCumiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this hotel booked through Ingham's. It is in a good quiet location approx 10 mins walk to the village centre. The staff are always very friendly especially the hotel owner (who is quite a character!) and Murat the wine waiter who has a mischievous sense of humour.

The larger rooms are generous in size and whilst wifi is advised as being in the reception areas it was available in our room - an added bonus! The food, perhaps not quite up to previous years standards, but more than adequate.

Good value overall and certainly it is the only hotel I would choose to stay in when visiting St Johann.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Korky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was our 3rd holiday at Sporthotel Austria. Once again, we had a wonderful time. Excellent food and excellent hosts. The owner, Gunther Gatt and all the staff are great and really interested in making your stay so enjoyable. Gunther would always ask what our plans were for the day and suggested varuous walks He advised us of excellent walks and Walter even took us on a great walk to Stripsenjoch haus/hof (on his one day off!). The hotel is spotless and the food is 5*. Each day when out walking, we looked forward to coming back to our excellent evening meal. It is hard to think of any negative aspects of the hotel. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrottersGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

From the moment we walked through the door of this lovely hotel we were made to feel really welcome.

The food in the hotel was very good with a choice of main course each evening of either a meat dish (Usually Pork) and a fish dish.

The room was very comfortable (albeit a bit warm - no are conditioning) with a nice sized bathroom and stunning views from the balcony (Room 305) with Kitzbuheler Horn to one side and the Wilder Kaiser to the other. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows a bit lumpy

The hotel is a gentle 10 minute stroll from the town square which is very pretty with a number of bar/cafes and nice shops.

I was very suprised at the number of eating places and shops in St Johann, I must recommend the Egger'sBar/Cafe in the square the pasta dishes are quite delicious.

The swimming pool is very nice and leads out onto a small garden with sun loungers.

Thank you to Gunther and all the staff at the Austria for making our holiday such an enjoyable one, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Park
Hotel Gasthof Park
#2 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Noichl's Hotel Garni
Noichl's Hotel Garni
#8 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Sonnleiten
Apartotel Sonnleiten
#4 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#11 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Austria

Property: Sporthotel Austria
Address: Winterstellerweg 3 | St. Johann, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#6 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Austria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Austria Hotel St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing