We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a Ski Holiday”
Review of Sporthotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sporthotel Austria
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have just returned from a weeks Ski Holiday in St Johann, staying at the Sport Hotel. The reason why I booked it was because they accepted bookings for a single traveller. The room was comfortable and all the facilities worked well apart from the shower which was a manually adjusted type attached to the bath taps. You could not take a shower as the water went from very cold to very cold and back is a very short time. I used the bath, which was fine. The resturaunt in this hotel is excellent. I have never had better food in any Ski Hotel, with a great varirity of food served by fast and friendly staff. look out for Thursday night which is a six course affair.There is an excellent selection of wine between €20 and €30 a bottle which you would expect to pay in a resurant of this quality. The bar lounge is great and very comfortable with last orders at about 12am.
The hotel is suitable for most types of travellers including family. I was surprised to find that they also had a blind skier from Ireland staying with them, who they looked after very well.
As for the resort of St Johann, there are some good bars in town for a night out and what the ski area lacks in quantity of runs, it makes up for in quality. Super red runs which in the first week of March you did not have to queue for.
I will certianally be returning to the resort and this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. If you was one then ask in advance.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardHeuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Sporthotel Austria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary recently and a birthday. Very well located to the ski school, and main gondola. We had half board as part of our package deal, so ate in most nights and the food was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful and even organised 2 cakes for us for our celebrations. There is also a really nice Italian restaurant a short walk from this hotel towards town. Everything was within walking distance which was fantastic.
Wi-fi was a bit limited to one area of the hotel but we were on holiday so it was not a major problem. Loads of activities to do if you dont survive after day 1 of ski school. There are free treks from the tourist office on Wed and Fri and it really suited me. May try cross country sking next time we go back and leave my husband to conquer the black slopes again. All in a all a great week was had by myself and husband.

Room Tip: Relatively quite room towards the front of the hotel. Just a little warm but radiators can always be...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2PinkFlamingoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Family of 5 stayed here for a week in Feb. We had a comfortable stay. It is very conveniently located to the main gondola, ski schools and nursery slopes. St Johann is a great skiing area for families with plenty of blues and easy reds. However the restaurants on the mountain are not quite as family orientated in that they insist children buy drinks with lunch, no table water available even with hot lunch. Children in ski school need an additional 10 euro per child per day for lunch & drink. The hotel has a comfortable lounge and bar area with apres ski food served twice a week (no tea/coffee). Disappointingly the log fire is rarely lit. The pool and spa area is average. The food in the restaurant was very good with lots of variety throughout the week (5/6 courses). The seating in the restaurant was very tight both at our own table e.g. we had to shuffle seats and move to allow each person to get in and out for the salad / b/fast buffet and our proximity to fellow diners was also uncomfortably tight. It was also extremely hot in the restaurant even in a light top. Although great effort was made to serve us in a professional manner very often they didn't check if we had enough cutlery, wine or water throughout our meals. The staff were under a lot of pressure as the hotel was busy and they worked very hard. However, very simply the hotel is understaffed which has a big impact on guests. The wine/drinks waiter frequently arrived at our table out of breath! We nor our children found Gunther (the owner) friendly, perhaps this is a cultural difference but we found him somewhat unapproachable. On two separate occasions Gunther seemed annoyed with us & our children looking on the lower ground floor for the swimming pool, which by the way is not easy to find as there are no signs directing one to it. However he did not offer to direct any of us to it but told us to find a member of staff!!. If only....They were all busy.There was one male member of staff who was extremely helpful and although his English was poor he was helped us with luggage etc. The bedrooms (1 double with balcony & nice view (Category B – no 116) and 1 double/family (category C – no 115) were quiet, spacious & comfortable but quite dated particularly the bathrooms no shower as such (see pics). The category B did not reflect the modern bedroom depicted on their website (also Catergory B). They were clean but not 'spotlessly' clean e.g. vanity mirror was smudged on arrival and remained smudged for the week, chrome work not polished daily and bathroom floor was not thoroughly cleaned. Would we return? Probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for the modernised room depicted on their website if you prefer modernised rooms. Rooms 115 &...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MTMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have just returned from a week in St Johann staying at the Sporthotel and would recommend it to anyone, couples, families etc. The quality of food is excellent. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable in the Hotel. I think that the pool and the steam room saved us from aches and pains which was a real bonus. The Hotel is located walking distance to the lifts. This is a great resort and this Hotel is a really good place to stay, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I stayed for week mid January. Lovely hotel. Top class staff. Excellent food. Great location adjacent slopes and a short stroll to town. Quiet location . Nice swimminmg pool . Smart dining room. Will be back I hope !

Room Tip: Try get a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin_IrelandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Having been recommended this hotel we were very pleased once we had arrived to find a comfortable and excellent facility Hotel it was also in a great location.
The food was very good and we could not fault the buffet breakfast and friendly waiter/waitress service. (Christine on reception and the wine waiter were excellent). The pool was an added excellent bonus which the children thoughly enjoyed.
There were, however, two major disappointments one being the lack of a decent shower and no shower facility in one of the family rooms! The other disappoinment being an outburst by the owner of the Hotel shouting at the top of his voice to the children for being too nosy! As you can imagine we were quite astounded at the nature of this outburst considering this is a family friendly hotel with a playroom! The children were also extremely well behaved in the dining room.
As parents we apologised for the children's behaviour (who were quite upset) and we received a very rude comment in return in which we were told it was not a kindergarten! This did leave us with a bad taste in our mouths after all we were paying guests and means we will not be going back!

Room Tip: There is a family with a separate room which may be worth having depending on a shower!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have stayed on numerous occasions at the Sporthotel Austria for our skiing holiday & this year we decided to go for Christmas. We were a bit apprehensive as we had previously never been abroad for the festive season. Christmas at the Sporthotel with Gunther & his wonderful staff turned out to be a great success & one which I would repeat & recommend. The hotel is very comfortable & stylish. The dining room & food is a wonderful experience every evening. The service is outstanding. All the staff were, as usual, helpful, friendly & courteous. It is like coming home! The weather & ski conditions were another plus. I highly recommend this hotel for a positive skiing experience in every respect. Gunther & all his staff continue to give an exceptional standard of service. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#15 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Austria

Address: Winterstellerweg 3 | St. Johann, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#6 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: £96 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Austria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das „Sporthotel Austria“ welches von einem großen Garten umgeben ist, ist sehr zentral und ruhig am Ortsrand von St. Johann gelegen. Sie erreichen jedoch in nur ein paar Gehminuten die Bergbahn von St. Johann und auch das Zentrum von St. Johann mit seinen vielen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Wir können unseren Gästen für Tage der völligen Entspannung oder nach einem schönen Tag in den Bergen unser Hallenbad (7x13m) und unseren kleinen aber feinen Wellnessbereich mit Sauna, Dampfbad und Infrarotkabine nur empfehlen. Die Küchencrew, mit Küchenchef Walter verzaubert unsere Gäste mit wahren Gaumenfreuden. Sie beziehen ihre Lebensmittel zum größten Teil von regionalen Anbietern. Egal ob unser reichhaltiges Frühstückbuffet mit kalten und warmen Spesen oder die Köstlichkeiten welche wir am Abend anhand eines 5 gängigen Menüs servieren dürfen werden Sie entzücken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Austria Hotel St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing