We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, good resort.”
Review of Sporthotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sporthotel Austria
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The staff in the hotel could not do enough to please. On arrival the porter ran over to us and lugged our heavy bags upstairs and put them in the room ready for us, with not even a hint of asking for a tip.

The room was large which really counts for a skiing holiday, we had a large walk in wardrobe and large balcony. The rooms are very clean, but also very tradiitional, dont expect any upmarket high tec style. The room consisited of typical austrian twin beds (pushed together) with dark wood shabby chic style bedside tables. A dark wood table with 2 chairs and a nice dresser.

The food is good, there are 5 courses, first of all a starter buffet with a daily theme, salads and bread, then there is a soup course, then a main which changes daily, they give you a choice of either meat or fish (with the added option of Steak and Chips or Weiner Schnitzel and chips). Then a dessert and also cheese if wanted.

The breakfast is also buffett, and has toast, eggs, bacon, cheese and ham, various breads and brioches, jams and loads of fruit.

The hotel is well situated, we still kept our skis and boots in the hire place as it saved a 5 minute walk up to the slopes in our ski boots. But there is a ski room in the hotel.

The pool is nice, very warm too. Also a sauna and steam room. relaxation room with loungers and fruit.

Overall a lovely hotel which i would highly recommend to anyone. No bad points what so ever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkessell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

Have stayed in this hotel a number of times in both summer and winter. I've been to austria on business and pleasure over 40 times and keep coming back to the Sporthotel Austria. If you are a skier, the ski lifts and ski school meeting place are just 2 minutes walk from the hotel door. 2 minutes in the oppostite direction, you'll find the main street of St Johann, half of which is pedestrianised during the winter season.

The hotel itself is well run by the owner Gunther Gatt who always seems to be on hand. His small team of waiting, reception and kitchen staff have been with him for years and offer a service not found in some 5 star hotels.

The hotel has about 40 rooms, of may different sizes from normal doubles to large family suites. Most of the rooms I've stayed in have been refurbished in the last few years and are always warm and comfortable.

For any non skiers or if you're travelling in summer time, you'll find a beatiful swimming pool area which open out onto a garden at the back over looking the Kitzbuhelhorn mountain. Awesome! If you can avoid the 4pm-5pm apres ski slot, you'll probably have the pool to yourself too.

Lastly, there's the food. Each day, you'll get a choice of main courses which you need to pick in the morning. I suppose this allows them to buy the food fresh each day. Having stayed there and eaten there on at least 30-40 occasions, I can honestly say I've never been served a bad meal. The chef is top class and serves the best of local cuisine. There's also a bumper salad buffet.

If you're looking for somewhere to party all week, probably not the best place in town. However, if you're looking to relax in a classy hotel in a great location and enjoy great food & wine, then look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharkattacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Wasn't disappointed, good food, clean rooms, friendly staff. Am already planning my return next year.

Stayed: January 2010
1  Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This was our first skiing holiday and we could not have picked a better resort or hotel. The village of St Johann is very picturesque and easy to walk into witha good range of shops. The hotel was superb, staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, even pulling our ski boots off.
Rooms were reasonable size but cleaned daily and kept spotless. The hotel food was wonderful and plenty of it, in the afternoon as you finished a hard day on the slopes they provided hot soup and cakes.
There was a sauna, steam bath and indoor swimmimg pool to relax in and this hotel is highly recommended.
One tip for beginner skiers, there are two ski schools blue and red, if you want to learn in a school that allows up to 20 in a group, the instructor talks on her mobile all day and then takes you to her favourite bar so she can have a free meal choose the blue school. My tip is go red.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I travelled with my wife for a short break of ski-holidays (02/01/2010-06/01/2010). We use to go skiing at the Alps allmost every year, but this one has been one of our best choises. Great hotel (trully ski in - ski out),great rennovated rooms,nice idoor pool (also sauna, steambath,massage area),very nice food,excellent wine list (with really nice prices),extremely friendly personnel and great burgain with only 186 Euros per room,per night (Halfboard basis).We gladly would come back with our little son!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gchoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

My mother and I have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at the Sporthotel Austria in Saint Johann in Tirol. The hotel is superb. Although it doesn't have air conditioning, we didn't find it a problem at the time we were there.

The staff were, without exception, absolutely first class - nothing was too much trouble, and they were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent - lots of good things to choose from at the breakfast buffet, and a great 4-course evening meal. At dinner, there was a lovely salad buffet (which wasn't, as is so often the case, exactly the same every day - the 'warm Tirolean starters' we had one day were particularly delicious); there was a choice of main courses, usually 1 fish dish and 1 meat dish (if you fancied neither of them, you could always have Wiener Schnitzel and fries instead); the Austrian soups and the desserts were excellent. Service was second to none.

The hotel has a lovely indoor pool. It is not very big, but I had it completely to myself almost every time I visited it (usually around lunchtime). A spin drier has even been provided in the changing area for drying your swimming gear, which I thought was a nice touch. We didn't take advantage of the other facilities at the hotel, such as the sauna, massages etc., but other people gave us good reports of these.

We stayed in a 'Superior Room' (room 102), which was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It had the usual style of twin beds you can expect in Austria - i.e. 2 mattresses together in 1 frame - which we never find a problem (just don't expect 2 completely separate beds!) . The only slight disappointment was that what rather than having a small private balcony (which is what we've always had before at similar hotels in the Tirol), our room opened onto what would have been more accurately described as a first floor terrace - it was huge and, in effect, shared between 3 rooms. While this might be fine for some people, it has the potential for problems (depending on who is in the other rooms; children, for example, could have the run of the whole balcony... not what you want if you're after peace and quiet). However, all 3 rooms were occupied by couples when we were there, so our slight concern proved unfounded! If you want to make sure that you have a private balcony, we advise mentioning this when booking. This is just a minor point, though: the room itself couldn't be faulted.

The hotel is in a peaceful location, about 5 minutes walk away from the centre of the village. St Johann in Tirol is a picturesque and friendly village, which has everything you need, and there are lots of inviting places to sit and have coffee and cake, or ice cream. One morning we took a guided tour of the village, organised by the tourist office (the commentary was in English and German), and we would thoroughly recommend it - very entertaining and informative. If you want to venture further afield, there is a good train and bus service to lots of other places, and from the village you can stroll along by the stream for miles. You can also hire bicycles, or go on more strenuous walks than we did!

We would have no hesitation in going back to the Sporthotel Austria. In fact, we were quite sorry to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SiobhanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
#10 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noichl's Hotel Garni
Noichl's Hotel Garni
#8 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Austria

Address: Winterstellerweg 3 | St. Johann, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#6 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: £87 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Austria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das „Sporthotel Austria“ welches von einem großen Garten umgeben ist, ist sehr zentral und ruhig am Ortsrand von St. Johann gelegen. Sie erreichen jedoch in nur ein paar Gehminuten die Bergbahn von St. Johann und auch das Zentrum von St. Johann mit seinen vielen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Wir können unseren Gästen für Tage der völligen Entspannung oder nach einem schönen Tag in den Bergen unser Hallenbad (7x13m) und unseren kleinen aber feinen Wellnessbereich mit Sauna, Dampfbad und Infrarotkabine nur empfehlen. Die Küchencrew, mit Küchenchef Walter verzaubert unsere Gäste mit wahren Gaumenfreuden. Sie beziehen ihre Lebensmittel zum größten Teil von regionalen Anbietern. Egal ob unser reichhaltiges Frühstückbuffet mit kalten und warmen Spesen oder die Köstlichkeiten welche wir am Abend anhand eines 5 gängigen Menüs servieren dürfen werden Sie entzücken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Austria Hotel St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing