We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot, Shame about the weather!”
Review of Hotel Gasthof Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Park
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Spot, Shame about the weather!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When you go to the Alps in the summer you know the weather can be bad, and you know that if it is very hot then soon storms will follow. Before we came my wife was worried that it would still be cold, which it was at times.
The Park is a mixture of old and new. Our room, for which we paid extra,was at the front with a small balcony and a lovely view accross the valley towards the Wilder Kaiser mountains. We were not too happy to find that there was a smoking area right next to it but it wasn't used much.

Our room was in the older part of the building but had been modernised with a flat screen tv, twin beds together in a large wooden bed frame which creaked and groaned everytime one of us turned over.
The electricals in the room were crude to say the least with with wires sticking out of holes in the plaster and a great jumble of leads under the desk. This may have been to give us wi-fi in the room which worked very well.
There was a new bathroom with a bath and clean towels every day, the old door wouldn't close but that didn't bother us.

The staff in the hotel were excellent, all very pleasant and helpful. Food was very good and my wife who is quite fussy says it was clearly the best we have had in Austria, there were 4 courses and a salad buffet, with a choice of main course and wine or beer. At first we got 1/4 l jugs but Sonja sunshine soon learned that 1/2 l of red wine was just right for me!
The hotel is really handy for the lift up the Kitsbuhler Horn and it was about 10 minutes to the bus and train station. Being a little out of town means it is quiet, though there was traffic at times on the road past the hotel.
There is a small garden at the back of the hotel and a children's play area at the side. Unfortunately while we were there buildings nearby were being renovated so it was too noisey to sit in the garden.
When the weather is ok it is a really nice stroll along the footpath out of the hotel away from the town. It is a shared path with bikes so you have to watch out but then you have to on almost all the footpaths in the area as they are also cycle tracks or paths.
When I look at how much the hotel had cost us without the room upgrade this is very good value for money.

Room Tip: If you arenot bothered about a balcony then the rooms at the back are larger and have shutters to ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veryoldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    58
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
119
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Park. We visited the beautiful village of St Johan last year and stayed at Hotel Fischer, we were so happy with our holiday we were keen to return and we were glad we did! We arrived on a sunny afternoon and after check in enjoyed a cup of tea in the lovely hotel gardens. We had a week of mixed weather but the fantastic scenery makes up for it. The hotel provided a great choice of food and very drinkable wine. The recently refurbished bathroom was a pleasure to use. The staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed using the hotel sauna and it's worth the trip upstairs for the stunning views. We made use of the free entry to the local swimming pool which is so clean and in an amazing setting. The staff at the railway station and the bus drivers are very patient and helpful. The village itself is a lovely place to spend time in, we were fortunate to be able to enjoy for free 2 classic car exhibitions. We also braved a tandem paraglide which was very well organised. Our room in the hotel was spacious and had very comfy beds, a slight noise from the kitchen at times. We feel this area has something to offer for everyone. We got married in the resort of Kitzbuhel 10years ago and we look forward to many more holidays.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Fischer was full so we were booked into the Park which its a sister hotel. Everything was OK at the Park but it felt slightly more corporate than the homely Fischer - whether this is a good or bad would depend on what you were looking for I suppose.
The Park is definitely closer to the ski area, has good parking, ski hire is just beside and is only a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am only getting around to writing a review for this hotel now. I stayed here in February on a ski holiday on my own. When I usually ski away alone the single rooms tend to be nothing shorter than the size of a prison cell. The single room in this instance was luxurious in comparison to previous experiences. The room was adequately large and spotlessly clean. I had booked half board and as the hotel was rated four star I expected something a little better than self catering. I was not disappointed. The food in the restaurant was excellent, a buffet at breakfast time with different choice of meal served every evening. The restaurant staff were wonderful, courteous and efficient.as were the staff at reception, and in particular, the owner and his lovely wife.

The hotel is located close to the main gondola lifts and the run back to the hotel is good. There is wi-fi in the hotel near the reception area. There is also a sauna and relaxation area on the top floor to soothe those tired muscles after a hard days skiing. I must say that it has been the most relaxing skiing holiday that i have experienced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spongebob_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Park, the owner and all of his staff were very nice, the food was SUPER, the rooms were great and big enough, we had a room with balcony, so it was smaller, but pleanty for 2 people. I have not heard the street noise and I am a light sleeper...

The gondola is very close, maybe 5 minutes walk, if you walk slow, the town center is another 5 minutes away, everything you need is at less then 5 minutes walk away, including Bobo Land ( area for kid's ski school)

One thing I wish we had in the room was a coffee maker, but I bought a cheap one.

All in all EXCELENT, I highly recommend this hotel, we want to go back next winter for 10 days instead of 7.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our annual skiing holiday was fantastic. This hotel is wonderful, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the food is well presented and there is lots of it, the bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and cleaned daily, hot water is in plentiful supply as are fluffy towels. The gondola is a 2 minute walk and the town is a 5 minute walk. Most people that we met were regulars and we like lots of them will definitely be returning next season. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the slope subject to early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Returned from Austria last week after enjoying our first skiing holiday. The hotel was faultless from the friendly staff to the delicious food. The rooms were comfortable and clean. It is ideally situated for the town and ski slopes. I would thoroughly recommend it and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Austria
Sporthotel Austria
#6 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Sonnleiten
Apartotel Sonnleiten
#4 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noichl's Hotel Garni
Noichl's Hotel Garni
#7 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Park

Property: Hotel Gasthof Park
Address: Speckbacherstrasse 45, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof Park 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing