We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian Holiday”
Review of Bruckenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bruckenwirt
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in St Johann in Tirol
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Austrian Holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went on a singles holiday with One Traveller. Never been to such a beautiful country it is just like you see on the post cards. Hotel was superb it is family owned and the owner and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were lovely and also the food. There is an outdoor swimming pool but the water is very warm also a sauna and fitness centre and also massage. Walk up to the town is about 10 to 12 minutes a little up hill. Would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the swimming pool are the sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royvalchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    21
    19
    8
See reviews for
26
40
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked 4 nights in this hotel via Wintertrex. It was a splendid deal.

The food is excellent. You have a 5 course meal every evening and you can choose between 3 options. Wine selection is great. The breakfast is also very very good. Eggs, bacon, cerealsn different kinds of bread, jam, cheeses and ham. There is enough choice. Only small thing I missed were bananas for breakfast :-)

Service is excellent. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere in the hotel is great. They have a house cat that is really cute.

Rooms are comfortable, everything you need is there.

Ski area is somewhat less interesting. (Depending on your level) The area consists out of different smaller ski areas in different nearby villages. There are 3 main ski areas of about 45-50 km pistes. These individual ski area (one villaga) is enough to keep you busy half a day to a day. But then you can be sure you have done and seen all ski slopes at least once. We had very warm weather so the low pistes could not be skied so the potential ski area was very small. Between the villages you can take the skibus or the car (free parking).

We are not going back because the ski area is too small. However the hotel is really great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We are currently staying in this hotel and we must say, it is fantastic, the food is five star quality and the staff are tremendous. I have stayed in many five star hotels throughout the world and whilst the rooms here are a little dated, this is one of the best experiences.
The Denley's

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ne-I-LDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having just stayed at the Bruckenwirt for 7 days with 2 of my friends I would like to not only say a big thank you to all the staff but an even bigger well done. We have been spoilt by the quality and quantity of food available, The service has been second to none and the rooms are comfortable clean and cosy. We booked this hotel through Crystal Ski and were a little dubious as to it being quite what we wanted .... It turned out to be a top choice and would suit both singles and families .

Next time we visit we will book direct and hence have a free choice of room type etc... But with the quality of food great service and a friendly relaxed bar/meeting area we will most certainly be back again,

Room Tip: Book Direct as there is a wide choice of rooms and try the third floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our family (39, 35, 6, 2) stayed at Brueckenwirt during the pre-Christmas week. We go to Austria every winter for skiing and have usually always been very satisfied, but this is the first time when we felt we have to also write about it given how excellent our visit was.
Location, hotel and rooms: very centrally situated hotel, just 7 – 10mins walk through the center of the town or along the river to the kids ski schools, main lift station and the ski slopes. Plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants just around the corner for those who don’t ski and/or are staying in the hotel during the day. There is a nice little playground in a close-by nursery which can be used by everyone. The sports center (inside & outside pool, ice rink, tennis, etc.) is also just 3 – 5 mins away.

The hotel is very clean and has all necessary facilities incl. kids games room. I know the furniture and decoration stile is something subjective, but we actually liked it a lot and it is absolutely not dated as some people were stating in earlier reviews. All staff is exceptionally kind and willing to help. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which is one of the biggest in the hotel and could enjoy a drink in the evening while the kids were sleeping in a separate room. The apartment had an own balcony and also a direct access to a big terrace which is also available to other rooms on the floor (we were not disturbed though as the terrace was barely used and the rooms are properly isolated). The apartment was decorated very nicely and made us feel warm and good.

Restaurant and food: as the Austrians use to say, you should eat breakfast “like the Keiser” and this is exactly what the hotel is offering - sufficient choice to ensure you have the energy to master all those ski slopes. The dinner was also excellent with 5 course meals always including a big salad. The portions were sometimes gigantic! The ambience is top (white table covers, silver cutlery, Villeroy & Bosch tableware!) and the management did a fantastic planning job, e.g. groups who were more noisy or wanted to be separate from the rest of the visitors were sitting in separate rooms so everyone could enjoy its time in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always smiling and going the extra mile. With two small kids, we asked quite a few times for things which were not on the menu and it was never an issue. We felt so looked after!

With other words, we loved it and we are determined to come back – not only the next winter, but maybe now in the summer too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Three of us arrived for a weeks skiing over Christmas, we were given a nice sized double room on the 1st floor [109] which overlooked the river & had been nicely furnished in fresh feeling blue & white gingham & our Son was given [104] it's self a nicely decorated double in warm tartan shades, with an upgraded bathroom.
There was plenty of storage in the rooms & the beds were very comfortable, especially as I'm 6' 9" tall.
Our bathroom was the standard Austrian 1970's brown tiles, with a shower,always plenty of hot water & a hairdryer, the other room had a newly white tiled bathroom with a larger modern shower cubical.

The food all week was very good, especially being a 5 course evening meal. Main Course there was a choice of meat or vegetarian.
I felt there was just the right size of portions served, but often we were asked if we wanted any more of the mains.
It was a pleasure to be looked after at meal times as my wife is a coeliac, most of the food she could eat, because the Chef thickened the soups & sauces with corn flour,so simple, but made such a difference, rather than having to just have clear soups all the time.
Breakfast was a good choice of cereals, meats,cheeses,breads,hot bacon & scrambled eggs, with a choice of different teas & coffees.
There is a bar in the hotel, which can get a little smokey, but there is an adjoining room with is quite pleasant & spacious.

The only grumble I have is about the decent sized Ski & Boot room, there are plenty of ski racks, but there is a heated ski boot rack which has had it's heater removed [ a simple box type fan heater, that just plugs in] !!!!!
This is a 4 star Ski Hotel & it was the 1st or 2nd week of their ski season [high season] !!
Surely this should have been sorted in the off season [summer].
We ended up taking the ski boots up to the room to dry out.

There is a ski bus stop right outside the door for St Johann ski area
If you ski in St Johann & miss the buses, it is only a 15 minute walk, with some nice coffee/cake shops to stop off at
We got a taxi which was 6 Euro to the lift station, so we could catch the only free ski bus out to Waidring/Steinplatte.
It's the same price to the Railway station, where you can catch a ski bus to Fieberbrunn,both these other areas are included in the local Schneewinkel pass.

Kitzbuhel is only 15 minutes on the train, but get off at the Kitzbuhel Hahnenkann Station, the Ski lift station is right next to it. It's along walk if you get off at the 1st Kitzbuhel Station.
If you wanted to travel to the other nearby ski resort Skiwelt. it was only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel [Heading away from the town centre] for the Bus, to Scheffau 4.2 Euro,it would be slightly cheaper going to Ellmau, but you'd then have to queue to get another bus to the ski lift, where as if you get off just before the bus turns right up to Scheffau village, you've just got to walk across the Main road & a car park.
If you want to ski these other areas a Kitzbuhel All Star lift pass is required rather than the Schneewikel pass.

The Town of St Johann is a pretty place & has a really nice feel to it.
I would definitely stay at the Bruckenwirt again & feel it should get a 5 star rating if they got the boot rack working.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just arrived home from a week in St Johann.
This hotel is well situated, being just less than 3 minutes walk into the centre of the town, and right beside the car park where most of the coach tours depart from.
And only 1 hour transfer from Salzburg airport.
Hotel itself the décor is very pleasing, seems to be all newly decorated. Our bedroom was a superior room, which was quite large with own private balcony and well designed.
The food in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice for breakfast buffet, you could eat as much or as little as you wanted to. Dinner had a different menu every night with a main meal choice. Staff in restaurant were very friendly and attentive.
Marita in reception was very friendly and could not be more helpful, we enjoyed our daily talks with her.
We chatted to other tourists who had tried other hotels in St Johann , but they came to the conclusion that the Bruckwirt Hotel was the Best.
Needless to say that we enjoyed our stay so much that we are hoping to book the same hotel and same superior room for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
#9 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Park
Hotel Gasthof Park
#2 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
#8 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruckenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruckenwirt

Property: Bruckenwirt
Address: Kaiserstrasse 18, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bruckenwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bruckenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruckenwirt Hotel St Johann In Tirol
Bruckenwirt St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing