We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand all the negative reviews so far!!!!”
Review of Bruckenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bruckenwirt
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in St Johann in Tirol
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't understand all the negative reviews so far!!!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed in the Bruckenwirt with 4 friends. We were in St Johainn to ski and enjoy the après ski. We are Irish and used to our fry ups in the morning. You won't get a fry up here but then again you probably won't get one in any other hotel in Austria either. The breakfast buffet was extensive and plentiful. Ideal feast before heading out onto the slopes for a workout.

The evening meals were fantastic. Superb quality and served with a smile. All the waiting staff were friendly and approachable. The "Russian waitress" referred to in another review was most friendly and helpful to my group from the first morning.

The accommodation itself was adequate. The rooms compare with any other 4 star accommodation I have used in Austria. The decor was a source of discussion from the time we stepped off the bus. The hotel has quite a "burlesque" theme going on.

Although we didn't use the sauna or games room both were in the basement and were dark and uninviting, that said these facilities were available and staying in the Bruckenwirt also allowed you free access to the towns swimming pool and sauna which was an excellent facility.

The hotels location was about ten minutes walk from the slopes and 5 from the centre of town so no problem there.

There was no dog to bark at us!! just the resident cat who was very friendly. The owner was polite and helpful. Our tap broke the first morning and it was replaced without fuss before our return to our suite that evening. Also a mobile phone charger was located once requested as we had forgotten ours.

Overall very happy with the level of service and standard of accommodation and would gladly recommend this hotel to any individual or group heading to Austria to Ski...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goreyparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    41
    21
    20
    9
See reviews for
27
40
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This hotel suited our group as we were never going to be spending much time here anyway, being out on the slopes all day and then drinking in town till late. For the time we needed to spend here for food (on half board and we did have a drink in bar once or twice) it has to be said the food was excellent. Staff were not very frienldy but we were warned by our rep not to take owner serioulsy if she barked at us, "this was her way"..there was also a russian waitress who was friendly once you "braeak the ice" with her!! The decor has been commented on in other reviews and it is very different, very sexual in content..do not bring children to this hotel!! There was one very friendly hotel member here...the resident cat!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SArDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Johann in Tirol hotels

newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2010

staff in dinig room were lovely but the people behind desk were so rude and unhelpful and did not feel at all welcome

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

we stayed at this hotell in a room with toilet in eves with beem running right over toilet if your over 4 feet tall be carefull when booking it says small room be aware if you are tall food mainly cater for german tourist lots of smoked food on offer only one choice of main meal i have stayed in 2 star rooms better than this never again staff unhelpfull managment have no regaurd for disabled guests no heating and only 2 english people that was us never again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcatcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We go to St Johann every year in the summer and had not stayed in this hotel before. It always looked very nice from outside so we booked it for our winter stay. We don't ski anymore but we walk and travel to nearby villages and towns.
The downhill in Kitzbuel was on at this time so we took in the sites (fantastic atmosphere). The hotel was a good price and the room was large, very clean with high ceilings, separate toilet, jaccuzi bath with shower and separate shower.
Breakfast was a plentiful buffet with hot and cold choices, tea, coffee,etc etc
Dinner was 5 course which was well presented and again plentiful.
The staff were very pleasant and service was excellent.
The bar area can be a bit smoky as they still allow smoking in Austria but we sat back in the lounge area. Prices were on par for this resort and again the staff were excellent and involved you in conversation.
The owner was on hand almost all the time to offer help and answer any queries. She also involved us and bought drinks.
To sum up- from arrival to departure we were treated very well and had a most enjoyable stay.
PS we have booked this hotel again for our summer stay already.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnythehighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Not as close to the slopes as some of the hotels in this village but we liked it initially - although smokey but then thats Austria for you. Our stay was spoilt by some extremely rude and bullying clients who insisted on partying outside our family rooms in the corridor one night until 4am , smoking , drinking and having themselves a great time - when requested to be quiet one chap offered to kindly hit my husband! No night porter available to ensure such activity doesnt occur and once reported to hotel the next morning it wasnt taken seriously. Bully guests sat beside us at breakfast each morning and intimidated us with dirty looks.....horrible. Bar and waiting staff lovely and very friendly - decor quaint with lots of gingham . Just a pity our experience was ruined!

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank timetravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Had a lovely time in St Johann with our family, two girls aged 9 and 12. Had booked 2 twin rooms (only option available with Crystal Ski), but sent an email to the Hotel looking for rooms to be close to each other and when we arrived we were given a family suite which was really nice, nothing too modern but perfect, two bedrooms, sitting room and two bathrooms and two balconies. The food was excellent although only choice was at dinner between meat course or vegetarian, but that was okay as everything was excellent and they did have a children's choice as well. The rooms were kept clean and the reception were very helpful. We were less than a 10 min walk to the slopes and the night life (which was very quite). Best time to go out was at 4pm in Max's. We had use of the Panaroma Swimming pool - 2 mins from hotel. It had a fab outdoor pool - Lovely in the snow. Also had Ice Skating Rink. Only complaint is sometimes Syliva in the bar didn't want to make hot chocolate for the girls at nite. Ski bus stops outside the door, but never seemed to be on time, would walk faster and could leave skis at the bottom of the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktlnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#6 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
#10 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruckenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruckenwirt

Property: Bruckenwirt
Address: Kaiserstrasse 18, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bruckenwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bruckenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruckenwirt Hotel St Johann In Tirol
Bruckenwirt St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing