We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and location, very happy to recommend”
Review of Aktivhotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aktivhotel Crystal
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location, very happy to recommend”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay and would very much recommend this hotel and location. Scenery is fantastic!

Room was very good and kept clean, food was excellent, staff very friendly. Location is ideal for visiting other destinations or for just pottering about locally. Cable car is 5 mins from hotel and we had two excellent trips up the mountain. Fantastic concert by local brass band in the square on Friday night

St Johann is a very pleasant town, spent happy hours sitting in the square, eating excellent food, drinking beer and watching the world go by. Lots of opportunities for walking, hiking and cycling locally - perfect for those at the lower end of the activity scale, like us!...and equally for the actively more serious!

Visited Salzbourg - very pleasant and happy we went but is full of tourists! - Mirabell Gardens recommended
Visited Achensee and had fantastic 2 hour boat trip on the lake - would certainly consider staying there
Kitzbuhl was a disappointment, very spread out, expensive shops not much of a central square - happy we went to see it but would not rush to return - not a problem as it was on 10mins on train - trains excellent, on time and clean
Returned to Grossglockner, which was excellent and would recommend

Overall fantastic holiday and would certainly consider staying in this location and this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    22
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just came back from a break a fortnight ago with our 7month old son. We had read the reviews before we left and so knew it would be good but it was still beyond our expectations!

The area itself is stunning, St Johann really is one of the most beautiful villages with plenty of ammenities and walks both along the valley by the river (which are nice and easy) and the hotel has very easy access to the gondola for some mountain walks. Also the local pool (again only a short walk from the hotel) is amazing with a beautiful panorama of the mountains and a variety of pools both indoor and out of which you get free use with a card from the hotel.

The hotel itself was incredibly comfortable and accomodating, although we didn't have a kettle in our room the staff provided us with boiling water for the babys bottles morning noon and night. Sonja and Christian were just SO great with our baby and the atmosphere in the hotel amongst both the guests and the staff was just so friendly it was unbelievable, it really made the holiday for us. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony to relax on in the evening and in the basement was a childrens play room full of toys so a great place to go with young children.

The food was outstanding, the chef who is only young cooked the most amazing meals every day, gastronomically it was amazing, both traditional and local but also very contemporary. Both my other half and myself are big foodies and we were blown away by some of the dishes, definitely the best consistent meals I have had in any hotel I have stayed at.

Overall, if you are looking for a good break I would highly recommend it, it was a perfect week, relaxing, plenty to do, calm and full of incredibly kind and friendly people.

Thank you again so much to the staff for such an amazing experience, we would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have just returned from this hotel through Inghams.
Great location, excellent service and very clean facilities. And thank you to Sonja for the lively banter!! Would have given 5 stars, however, our slight disappointment was the bedroom we were allocated on the top (4th) floor. No balcony, window sill 51 inches high(standing up to see out!!) and room for only one in the shower room. We would love to go back and probably will but NOT on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Swimming at resort centre (complimentary entrance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just come back from a week long stay.(June) A very clean hotel, our room had superb views of the mountains, very friendly staff (all speak English fluently and none of them laughed at my halting attempts to practice my German!), superb food (we were half board); hot and cold buffet for breakfast and at least a 4 course meal in the evening from a choice of 2/3 (including vegetarian) made the night before. Sauna and play facilities available. TV in room, large 50" TV screen room available (very useful as we were there during the world football cup, so I didn't have to suffer the England matches in the bedroom!!.... just showed the other half downstairs!!) There is no pool at the hotel but a few mins walk away is a bathing center with indoor and outdoor pool, just ask at reception and they give you a voucher to use the pools free of charge for up to 3 hours. They will also give you towels to take.However if you are there in the summer there is no access to outside sun bathing, you would have to pay usual entry to use the complete facilities of the center; not a bad idea if you have children as there are other outdoor pools with water chutes etc. No tea facilities in room but this is usual for Austria, plenty of plugs in room to use your own. Hairdryer fixed in bathroom. Location of hotel good; just off the town center near to the Gondola ski lift. The town center is a lovely town to walk around ,nice shops and Friday farmers market. Good Tourist information center with free guided walks in the area. It is well situated for transport in the area having both train and bus service. About 1 hour from airport (on transfer bus).Superb walks of all difficulty in the area and plenty of ski runs for the winter visitor. The only negative point for a disabled visitor is the situation of the lift to all floors, it is at the top of a small flight of stairs. Don't hesitate if you wish to visit the Tirol this is a superb hotel and area. We won't hesitate to return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I visited on 31st may 2014 for one week and what can I say, this place is gorgeous!
The hotel is very clean, family run everyone, made you feel very welcome like you were staying in someones home.
We were on half board basis which included a buffet breakfast and a four course dinner which was freshly prepared for us every evening. I am a vegetarian and was very impressed and pleased with the options available for me. The food is delicious and we certainly did not go hungry on our stay. The area of St Johann is absolutely gorgeous, the Austrians are very friendly and made us feel at home. We went to the swimming complex which was free of charge to hotel guests and about a 10 minute walk away, this was very clean and we enjoyed the aroma bath which were a very nice comfortable temperature outside. The train station is a short walk away and very easy to get around if you wish to see other areas while visiting. A lovely little town and a number 1 hotel will definitely return, would love to see in the snow as well as can imagine how beautiful it will look. The hotel have sauna facility however we didnt get the time to use. Hoping and looking for another good holiday deal so we can return again. Thank you to all the hotel staff for making us feel welcome and for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a balcony, however was still superb as the view from our window was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kjpwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It was our 2nd time we stayed here (and we'll be going back next year). Conveniently located at the base of the skislopes; you can walk straight up to the ski-lift (gondola) from the hotel. It's also at a walking distance to the city center and shops. When we arrive, we just park our car on the hotel's parking lot and forget about it for the duration of our stay. The staff is friendly and helpfull, the cuisine is very fine and there is a nice selection of local quality wines. We definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hørsholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have had yet another perfect holiday in this fantastic hotel. This was the fifth time we visited the hotel, and we enjoyed the stay very much - like usual. The hospitality, the food, and the atmosphere. In spite of the very warm weather, the snow and ski conditions were perfect. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Park
Hotel Gasthof Park
#2 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Austria
Sporthotel Austria
#6 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noichl's Hotel Garni
Noichl's Hotel Garni
#7 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aktivhotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aktivhotel Crystal

Property: Aktivhotel Crystal
Address: Hornweg 5, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aktivhotel Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aktivhotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing