We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever. Can't emphasise enough how good this hotel is!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fischer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fischer
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever. Can't emphasise enough how good this hotel is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

There is literally nothing I can really fault with this hotel.

Location: The hotel is right in the centre of St. Johann so is located to everything you want. The brother of the hotel owner owns the local ski hire shop too so it really is a family run business. St Johann itself is beautiful and just brilliant. Lots of little shops and restaurants, bakeries etc. There is a market every Friday which sells food, crafts and the like. Also pubs etc. for going out drinking and places with sky sports if you're into that.

The Staff: The most pleasant and helpful staff I have encountered in a hotel. Each member of staff is always friendly, smiling, happy to help and good at whatever it is they are doing. They might not all talk amazing, or any, English but this is not a problem as they are so friendly anyway.
You see the same staff all week which is great because you get to know them a bit.

Rooms: Me and my sister stayed for a week here and when we walked in the room we were immediately struck by how big it was. We had a massive bed to share but separate quilts etc. and the room was also really warm - some nights it was so warm we left the balcony door open a bit (that's right we had a balcony! A nice big one with a view of the mountains and there were chairs to sit on and chair cushions in the room's wardrobe. The bathroom too was good; clean, complimentary soap etc. and towels were changed every day if left out, hair dryer - everything you could want.
There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel but this did occasionally drop out when we were in the rooms and often the iPhones could not connect because of the range (laptops could but had slower internet). In the lobby however the wifi was pretty much fine and was fast enough to stream movies but not quite good enough for clear face-time back home.

Food: Breakfast had everything you could want. There was hot bacon and scrambled eggs every morning and tea, coffee, juices Etc. There was a choice of cereals and milks available along with bread rolls, sliced bread and a toaster plus various flavours of jams, butter, honey, pate. This was buffet so you could eat as much as you wanted. Dinner was typically Austrian food and the menu was presented every morning at breakfast for you to choose your main course for the evening and there was typically a couple of meat mains and a vegetarian. There was a salad bar which was available along with bread, some cold pasta dishes etc. Including this salad the evening meal consisted of 5 courses. I could not fault the food AT ALL, I enjoyed it thoroughly and finished everything off. My sister is a VERY fussy eater and we knew before we went out there she would not enjoy Austrian cuisine. We simply told the hotel and they were SO accommodating saying she could choose off the children's menu (it had more English food such as pizza and chips) or write down what she wanted in the morning and they would make sure the chef made it for her that night. Drinks weren't included in the evening meal but were very reasonably priced.

Atmosphere: The hotel had a great atmosphere and was clearly a favourite even for those not staying there. The hotel has it's own bar which is open during the day and livened up at night for drinking, music etc.

Above and beyond: I have never actually stayed anywhere that did so much for its guests. Not only were we surprised at how helpful etc. they were with my sister's particular eating habits but they definitely all had the 'nothing is a problem' attitude.
When we had an excursion booked which clashed with dinner time we asked if we could eat a little bit early and this was absolutely no problem.
I stupidly burnt myself with boiling hot water on the last but one day of the trip and was so touched by the staff's response. They fetched me a burn spray from their first aid box in the kitchen and allowed me to borrow it for the rest of the evening, and offered it me the next day after I gave it back. They also gave me ice packs to keep on the burn to numb the pain and said that whenever the ice melted just to come back to reception, whatever time of the night, and get some more.
It meant so much when I was in pain to have them be that kind and generous to me.
Free with the hotel came a local lift pass which was greatly appreciated plus passes to the local swimming pool, Panorama. We got three hours free a day and this swimming facility includes a heated outdoor swimming pool so you can sit outside and watch the sun set over the mountains... amazing!

The area was beautiful, breathtaking views and good skiing but it was this hotel that really made the holiday special.

Thank you so much to Hotel Fischer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    68
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
142
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

cannot falt it, pleasant staff always ready to please,good breakfast every thing you wanted,in the centre but no noise, rainy days tea and coffee in the afternoon,and a lovely evening meal, nothing was to much trouble ,for the disabled this is a1, soooooooooooooo friendlythanks the fischer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just spent a week in this hotel. The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were both friendly and helpful at all times. The food was typical Austrian fare - most enjoyable. We had a package with Thomsons and we found their reps, Robert and Ryan both friendly and efficient. The scenery was , of course, stunning, as you might expect of Austria. The cakes we ate with coffee were second to none - always a highlight to a cake lover! Everything in St Johann is to hand - the Bus and Railway stations only a few minutes walk away, and the trains were not only spotless, they were on time. Hotel Fischer is centrally located with the town square just behind it, but apart from one night, very quiet at night. All in all - I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A friendly, comfortable hotel, serving excellent food. We thought that the team of staff were the best we had ever come across. Although it is centred in the centre of the town, it was very quiet. It seemed more like a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlisleRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and it just gets better every time. Excellent rooms, clean and plenty of space and comfortable. Food as always was excellent and plenty of it. All staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. Someone was always available when we needed them and would sort out any requests as soon as their could. The hotel is clean, comfortable and extremely friendly. They are a family run hotel and they are always visible and on hand. St Johann is a lovely town and has excellent buses and trains to get you around. Scenery is superb and plenty of excellent walks. We enjoyed our holiday so much we would definitely go back. Young children are also very well catered for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just got back from a week at the Hotel Fischer. We have visited Austria at least 10 times and I can confidently say this is the nicest family run hotel we have ever stayed at. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Our package with Thomson's included free packed lunch each day and drinks with our evening meal which was a bonus as was the free wi-fi in the hotel. There is a nice lounge area where you can relax after a busy day and catch up with emails or read those holiday paperbacks. The hotel is right in the centre of St Johann so it is very convenient but not too noisy. The gondola station is about 10 minutes walk. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd Floor at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just completed our second holiday in beautiful St. Johann, once more staying in the excellent Hotel Fischer. We absolutely loved it last year, and enjoyed it even more this time round. Our family room was very comfortable. The service is second to none.The very friendly staff are so caring and nothing at all is too much effort for them. Credit to the owners of Hotel Fischer. If you like your food, you will not be disappointed. The "very tasty" Austrian cuisine is absolutely fantastic. This hotel is very much family friendly, and our children loved it just as much as we did. Centrally located, everything is at close reach. A cracking time had by all, so we will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: "Our family room no. 212 looked out over the Huber Brau Tower and the impressive Kitzbuheler ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeDee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Park
Hotel Gasthof Park
#2 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#9 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#11 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
Hotel Saint Johanner Hof
#6 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartotel Sonnleiten
Apartotel Sonnleiten
#4 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fischer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischer

Property: Hotel Fischer
Address: Kaiserstrasse 1 | 6380, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fischer 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star family owned hotel is in the heart of St. Johann in Tirol in the midst of the pedestrian precinct. The approach road to the hotel parking lot is possible at any. The mountain railways as well as the moving ways are 5 min. Far away from the hotel. Our house has 36 rooms all equipped with bath and/or shower, WC, hair dryer, cable Tv, telephone, Safe, WiFi and balcony. All rooms are attainable with the elevator. In our ground floor we have our cosy lobby, Internet corner, WiFi in the lobby, a typical Tyrolean Stuberl and the Hotelbar."Michi's", whatever are a popular meeting place with the native ones. In our new built cellar is our Sauna and herb steam bath, Infra red cabin and 3 times a week are massages available. On the basement there is also our 70m² children's game room with an kid's cinema. We offer free of charge an animation program to summers such as winters. We are looking forward to welcome you in our Hotel. Family Grander ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fischer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing