We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week at the Fischer”
Review of Hotel Fischer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fischer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Food was very good, they catered well for coeliacs they bought in gluten free bread, if the soup wasn’t gluten free they made up one especially, where desserts weren’t gluten free which is often the case they provided the most beautifully presented fruit salad.

Nice location quite a few shops around. Had a single room with a shower, it was one of the newly renovated rooms. Room was small but for one it was grand, it had a balcony. Only issue I had was that I found the mattress too soft but that’s an issue with my back as opposed to the hotel.

I used the Hotel Park (sister hotel) for ski storage which was a great facility to have. The hotel brought in a masseuse twice a week which I availed of for my back. The hotel also provided you with a card that got you free access to the local swimming pool. A must especially the outdoor section.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My boyfriend and I just spent a week at the Fischer, and it was everything we wanted. The staff were wonderful, and it's the people that make a place.

Our first impressions when we arrived were really good, we checked in and headed up to our room, which was much bigger than expected, as we were travelling on a package deal and thought we'd get one of the smaller ones. There was a small problem with the toilet, in that once flushed it kept running water into the bowl, and we phoned reception who sent someone up to look at it straight away. However it was an intermittent problem, and when he came up to fix it, there didn't seem to be anything to fix, but the bathrooms are all due an upgrade this summer, so hopefully that will be sorted then! Didn't affect us at all once we figured out that it didn't happen every time.

The bed itself was massive, and had a comfy mattress with a fluffy feather pillow that was perfect for a week of snowsports! The only thing that affected sleep quality was that it was roasting in the room, and could get too hot at night, and with the door open to the balcony it wound up too cold. We had the radiators turned off as well.

In terms of hotel facilities, my boyfriend used the sauna every night except one, when it was switched off, not sure why. He loved the fact that he had it there. The bar was really well stocked, and the staff quick to serve us, and remembered our orders quickly. The food was brilliant, there was a big selection at breakfast time, although if you usually eat Kellogg's cereal, I'd avoid that part. There was definitely plenty of good food to eat, and dinner was really tasty, although could sometimes be a wee bit too salty. We loved the buffet on Thursday night, and probably ate too much of it! We were assigned the same table all week, and some couples shared, but we wound up with one on our own. The waiting staff were really efficient and friendly, and spoke good English.

While the Fischer is a wee bit away from the slopes, we got access to the Hotel Park's ski/boot room, which is almost at the bottom of the slopes, so it really was a great location, as we were closer to the centre of the village, and still were able to change our boots close to the slopes at the end of the day! We also had access to the resort's swimming pool, which had a heated outdoor part, but it wasn't quite hot enough to warm us up after a day on the slopes, so we used it once only.

The hotel had some really nice touches too. It was my boyfriend's birthday during the week, and at dinner we arrived to the table with a slightly fancier, candlelit set up, and when dessert came, it came complete with a sparkler and the lights dimmed, so everyone sang happy birthday. It probably wasn't much extra for them to do, but it was nice to have it done without having asked.

All in all, a great holiday, and a great place to stay.

We travelled with Crystal Ski, so came on a package deal, and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElectricSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Fischer in January, what a great time we had all the staff were great especially beautiful Maria who looked after us each evening with a smile always on her face. Compliments to the chef who produced some wonderful 5 star food. The rooms were great and always warm, beds were comfy and towels always changed. St Johann is a beautiful place and like the hotel has many qualities. We met some great people here and will definitely return.Would also like to try it in the summer months. All the staff from the owners, bar staff, cleaners etc were always helpful and cheerful, nothing was ever to much trouble for them thank you to you all. Must also say Thank you to Heidi and Emily and your colleagues from Crystal you were always on hand and we loved our ski days with you. Well hopefully will see you next year and happy holidays to everyone going to the Fischer, You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailHaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Only back from another stay at the fischer in January all perfect again from food to rooms.
Staff are fantastic will go of their way to do or get you anything. Michael the owner is most
helpful on any topic or question you have. He is always trying to improve the hotel,he is taking
on a big renovation in summer to make it even better. Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Nearly all have a mountain view others of the village square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just back from first visit to this hotel, we went with friends who have stayed there many times. It was a fab hotel, the staff are all extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you. A big thanks to Michael the owner, who made us feel very welcome and to his excellent bar staff, Reina and Markus, who helped me get a few hangovers..... The food was brilliant, 4 course meal every night. We stayed on the 4th floor, which I think is being renovated in the spring time. We are already looking at dates to go back next January. To sum up the hotel, I would say it is friendly, very welcoming and has a brilliant atmosphere. Food excellent, staff excellent, excellent hotel.

Room Tip: we had a fantastic view of the mountains from our room, which had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizpickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

So many good things have been said about this hotel on Trip Advisor that i had to visit and see for myself. Without a doubt the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in, 5 star food, unbelievably good, and the friendliest most helpful staff i have ever come across, we stayed for xmas with my 20yr old son and 21yr old daughter and all our needs for our annual xmas ski trip were catered for, great craic in the bar , locals amazingly friendly, location brilliant , and Michael and his crew made us feel like we were part of their own family. Will definitely return again as it was possibly the best xmas we have had in 14 years of travelling to Austria, dont know how we missed the Fischer up to now.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gra632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

After a long trip from USA to Africa for the holidays we decided to stop in Austria on our way home and go skiing. We found Hotel Fischer. After missing a contacting flight and taking 4 trains we finally got to Hotel Fischer. All we wanted was a bed and the beds at Hotel Fischer were amazing. So soft and so comfortable. In the morning breakfast was warm and delicious. The rooms were clean and modern. Hotel Fischer is just what we were looking for.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlottebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cubo Sport & Art Hotel
Cubo Sport & Art Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Austria
Sporthotel Austria
#7 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fischer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischer

Address: Kaiserstrasse 1 | 6380, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: £101 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fischer 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star Superior family owned hotel is in the heart of St. Johann in Tirol in the midst of the pedestrian precinct. The approach road to the hotel parking lot is possible at any. The mountain railways as well as the moving ways are 5 min. Far away from the hotel. Our house has 36 rooms all equipped with bath and/or shower, WC, hair dryer, cable Tv, telephone, Safe, WiFi and balcony. All rooms are attainable with the elevator. In our ground floor we have our cosy lobby, Internet corner, WiFi in the lobby, a typical Tyrolean Stuberl and the Hotelbar."Michi's", whatever are a popular meeting place with the native ones. In our new built cellar is our Sauna and herb steam bath, Infra red cabin and 3 times a week are massages available. On the basement there is also our 70m² children's game room with an kid's cinema. We offer free of charge an animation program to summers such as winters. We are looking forward to welcome you in our Hotel. Family Grander ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Fischer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing