We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the centre of St. Johann”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Feb 2014 was our 6th Ski trip to St. Johann, and 6th stay at the Hotel Post. This was our first visit since the hotel had a makeover & upgrade - and the result was perfect. The friendly Manager & staff have retained the warm welcome of a traditional tyrolan hotel, but with all the benefits of the modern rooms & facilities. We drove from the UK (night stopping in Frankfurt), and parked right outside our hotel room at the back. Location with or without a car is great - about 5-10 min walk to the main ski lift or 5 min drive to other alternative lifts, and right in the centre of St. Johann so local bars & restaturants all walkable. St. Johann is great for families, beginners & intermediates - and right on the doorstep of Kitzbuhel if you want to expand your choice of slopes, (although not linked by lifts, it's literally less than a 10 min drive). We booked direct with the hotel, so experienced the personal touch of the Manager & staff from booking through to departure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

What an amazing hotel and staff!! We first visited the Hotel Post in February 2013 on a family ski trip. The hotel lay out and decor is first class including the rooms, bar and restaurant areas. The food is fantastic and the staff could not do enough to look after us including the Hotel manager Attila who gave the personal touch from the booking process and throughout our entire stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The resort is typically Tyrolean, with much charm and character. The Hotel stands out in the heart of the pedestrian centre. We loved it so much we went back in February 2014, and have booked again for 2015, this time bringing our friends along with us. I am in my 30th year of skiing at least annually and to numerous resorts, and this is the first Hotel and resort I have ever been back to. I think that says it all. The skiing in St Johann is enough for a young family (with excellent Ski Schools), with Kitzbuhel only a 5 minute drive up the road to access truly world class skiing.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel on the second or thrid floor to get a great view of the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Risi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Wirtshaus Post, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nudeltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Wirtshaus Post, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Verena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Wirtshaus Post, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im neuen Anbau mit Balkon zur Südseite und schöner Aussicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karlchen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Wirtshaus Post, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#15 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cubo Sport & Art Hotel
Cubo Sport & Art Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wirtshaus Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wirtshaus Post

Address: Speckbacherstrasse 1, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: £97 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wirtshaus Post 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hosts since May 2016 Newly-renovated in 2014, Hotel Wirtshaus Post is located in the pedestrian zone of St. Johann in Tirol, only a 15-minute walk from the Kitzbuheler Horn Cable Car. It offers free WiFi, a wellness area, a Tyrolean-style restaurant and underground parking spaces. The rustically-furnished rooms at the Hotel & Wirtshaus Post **** come with a flat-screen TV, a minibar and private bathroom facilities. They also feature parquet flooring. The property's wellness area comprises several saunas, a steam bath and a fitness centre. A massage service can be booked on request. A rich breakfast buffet is served in the morning and dinner can be enjoyed at the on-site restaurant, serving traditional Austrian cuisine. A wide selection of wine is available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Wirtshaus Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing