We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the job :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waldrand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waldrand
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just the job :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from week ski at this lovely pension - the owners George and Ingrid as everyone has stated couldn't be more welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. Even though it was our first visit it felt like staying with old friends :-)
Traditional in every way and just short walk to ski bus stop . Quiet location but after days skiing - just the job .
There is a German market every Wednesday behind the church where they only sell drinks and snacks with a live band - so not the market we expected but thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend a visit . The village pub is the only one in village and good enough . There is a pizza place next to hotel Alpin which is very good . The rental staff in shop under Alpin are really helpful as were just about everyone we met . The ski welt states it is the largest ski area in world ! And even though busy we never had to wait long for gondolas and chair lifts - which some are heated with over hoods to keep you warm.
I would definitely recommend this area for skiing and especially the Waldrand .
We will be back :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOJO46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Visited 3rd year in a row and still absolutely superb! Jorg and Ingrid's hospitality is outstanding. The rooms are warm and clean and there is plenty of hot water. Lovely and quiet at night so you also get a great nights sleep after a long day skiing. And all the previous reviews are spot on about the food. Delicious! Already booking for next year, and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

A super pension, run by a delightful couple for whom nothing is too much trouble. Spotless, good-sized rooms, loads of hot water and a free sauna. Delicious, homely food, just what you need after a day's skiing ( the children are still going on about the ice-cream filled pancakes with chocolate sauce). I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

First time stayer at the Waldrand. The hotel was well located within the town of scheffau.
Less than 5 mins walk from the ski bus, geared up, and less than 6 mins walk from the scheffau ski run that takes you to the gondola.
Excellent friendly service and attention to detail from George and Ingrid and the hired help.
Breakfast and dinner ideal for skiers and boarders, fuel is important!
Beds were comfy and hotel was very quiet. Room was very clean and kept very clean by the maid all week. Shower warm and powerful.
Sauna, shower, boot room and wifi all spot on.
Not one criticism of this perfect stay.
Thanks George and Ingrid :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for last week and it was excellent. The owners (George and Ingrid) are very relaxed and make you feel welcome. We stayed in a family room that was comfortable and clean. Alas, the dog mentioned in other reviews has passed away, which is sad because he looked brilliant in the photos on the wall. The hotel has a heated boot room, which makes for a cosy start to the day's skiing.

Good filling food: buffet breakfast with the usual suspects; dinner comprised buffet salad, soup, main course (choice of two) and desert.

Bus pick up point is a four minute walk away from the hotel in ski boots. At peak times, we never had to wait any longer than five minutes for a bus, which only took a few minutes to get to the gondolas. We didn't experience any queues for the gondolas while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartInGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

The Waldrand is a great place to stay for your skiing holiday. The bus stop is 2 or 3 minutes easy walk away. George and Ingrid make you very welcome they are so friendly and always on hand if you need any help. I have to say that George is a great chef! Every night we had a delicious meal. A fresh salad bar, followed by home-made soup, then a meat or vegetarian dish. By the way he does a fantastic mixed grill! The puddings are yummy if you can fit it all in by this time.
The rooms are immaculately clean, very comfortable beds and lots of hot water. What more could you want after a day on the slopes. I would recommend hiring your skiis from the ski shop near the Hotel Alpin, it is underneath the hotel. Excellent customer service from Ashley and the team at a very good price. Plenty of skiing for all abilities and not too crowded. The pizza place next to the Alpin is a good place to go if you want a drink or a delicious pizza. Reasonable price too. The Village pub is also just round the corner, drinks also reasonable, free wifi and crisps. The chap behind the bar is very friendly. I would go back to Scheffau and stay at the waldrand because I know that I would be getting very good value for money on and off the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just returned from a weeks ski trip staying at the Waldrand. I have to say how great it was, the hotel is perfect and the location in terms of the ski bus etc could not be better. Ingrid and George are really welcoming and extremely helpful. I rate this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBaker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Aloisia
Pension Aloisia
#4 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldrand

Property: Waldrand
Address: Scheffau 114, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Waldrand Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Austria/Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing