We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit as enjoyable as the last”
Review of Pension Aloisia

Pension Aloisia
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aloisia
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our return visit as enjoyable as the last”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have stayed before at Pension Aloisia and our return visit as enjoyable as the last.
Room was comfortable clean and balcony with seating an extra benefit as the views onto the garden beautiful with mountains as a backdrop. Sitting relaxing in the garden a little hidden gem.
Food excellent more than ample as good fresh local produce used, some even homegrown from the garden. Buffet style breakfast to start your day. Good wholesome meals in the evening with an Austrian theme.
Great central location for lots of good walks and going up the mountains. Get a lift pass for your stay take a cable car up and walk across to next cable car. Views are excellent. Free bus also gets you around the area.
I would highly recommend very relaxing place to stay and made most welcome by the owners

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marj253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We returned from Pension Aloisia on the 9th of March 2013 after a great week skiing with my wife. The place is very clean, has decent food, is in a good location five minutes’ walk across a busy road from the gondola and a good heated ski/boot room. After a few days we choose to pay to store our skis and boots in the big hire shop right next to the gondola itself, but that was just our own laziness rather than anything against the Aloisia’s facilities. It is also easier to use the few bars near the gondola rather in Scheffau village itself, as the only pub we found there was completely dead.

For me the only negatives where a lack of shared space like a comfy lounge to flop about in after a day on the slopes, it was more like a guesthouse in that respect and the public wifi internet connection died on day three of our holiday and we couldn’t convince the owner to reset their router. One couple we spoke to also had issues with the reliability of their hot water though ours was fine. They had the room above the garage/ski room so that might be a factor with that. Finally in that respect our room en suite had a shower rather than a bath which we would have preferred after our long days on the slopes.

Overall it does what it does very well and I would certainly stay there again, though hand on heart I might be tempted to upgrade to something a bit posher next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have been here 4 or 5 times skiing. Aloisia is very friendly and treat us like a long lost friend. Her husband does the cooking and she serves the food and drinks. It is just across from the main lifts at Scheffau. After skiing get the bus up to Scheffau village, continue walking up until you get to The Village Pub, which is a nice place to go after skiing, then get the free bus back. Perfect Day !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Pension Aloisia and it was even better than the first time.
Aloisia is very welcoming, the rooms are warm and cosy, and are cleaned daily. With fantastic views whether at the front or back of the hotel.
The beds are so comfortable. Plenty of hot water after a days skiing.
Ski room is heated, so dry warm boots every morning
Idealy located right across from the ski lifts.
The food is amazing buffet breakfast and 4 courses home made evening meal. You never go hungry.
Already booked to go back next year

Room Tip: If you like a cuppa when you get back from skiing would recommned taking a travel kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel, was just what my friends and myself needed for our skiing holiday. Excellent room, fantastic food, and well priced drinks. The ski room was heated so you started, you started everyday dry boots and ski's. What more can youy need. Greatly located for the ski lifts which were just across the road

Room Tip: get one at the front of the hotel, as it has great veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel was very clean and nice size rooms &balcony.Lovely garden to sit & sunbath or read your book plenty of seating area,the pictures of the garden are not upto date it is much nicer.Food was nice would have liked a choice of main course,breakfast was buffet style plenty to eat would have liked to see more of our host to serve fresh coffee or tea rather than a flask on the table.The rooms at the front of hotel do get some traffic noise as there is a very busy road .Good area for walking & going up the mountains get a lift pass from the tourist office.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are cooler & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 43j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms serviced every day. Excellent views from balcony and spacious enough to sit outside. Garden beautiful and plenty of seating area to relax in.
The food is excellent, good variation every evening meal. Good use of local ingredients and tastes of the area, ample enough portions to satisfy. Breakfast good continental self-service with fresh local breads and produce.
Good area to base for lake, mountain and hiking .All well sign posted and free bus pass for the surrounding 3 villages. But weather so good preferred to walk.
Even though most spoke German/Austrian found was not a problem as friendly locals and host was easy to understand and spoke very good British.
I would highly recommend very relaxing place to stay and made most welcome by the owners. Considering returning next year to the same place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marj253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gasthof Blaiken
Gasthof Blaiken
#2 of 2 in Scheffau
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aloisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aloisia

Property: Pension Aloisia
Address: Am Trattenbach 3, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Aloisia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Aloisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aloisia Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Pension Aloisia Austria/Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing