We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
136
66
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
66
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the main hotel swimming pool ski shop soup car park cakes ski holiday across the road ski bus soft drinks superior room every night kaiser jet buffet style quiet village evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Visited 11-18 June 2016. This is Austria, so i knew the rooms were likely to be very basic and that we would be in the 'annex', as described by other reviewers.
I was delighted to find the 'annex' was in fact a building very similar to the main one, set back from the road with most of the main facilities for the whole hotel in it(see pic). The room was modern and although small as expected, not tired or a smell to it as others have said. Shower was fantastic! Sleep quality good, very quiet after 10pm.

Warm welcome from the staff on reception, who were very helpful throughout the holiday. The food for dinner was top notch and the choice at breakfast very good. Their were bags supplied at breakfast to make a lunch up to take out with you if you wished. We did this every day, as with buses running only on the hour, it would be difficult to come back for the small buffet lunch without compromising a large part of our day. I did not get bored of the fantastic fresh bread rolls, cheese, choices of ham and salami for lunch anyway and im still missing them now!

Dinner typically (different every night but this an example) would be a buffet with salads, pate, soup, cheeses to start, a chef hand carving joints of veal and chicken, pasta, potato gratin(i challenge anyone if they tasted better!), boiled potatoes, bolognese, kebabs, bread dumplings, chicken/veal schnitzel, spinach, carrots etc. Dessert their would be a special, such as apple strudel, a light panna cotta type pot and 4/5 flavours of ice cream. Absolutely delicious!
Breakfast was 7.30am - 10am, lunch 12.30pm - 1.30pm and dinner 6pm - 8pm. We did ask if we needed to make a reservation to eat in the Pizzeria, but were told it was closed. We put this down to the time of year (alot of things start at end of June here), but then saw it open later in the week... I put it down to a breakdown in communication, who knows!

The only slight problem we had is that there was only one girl who spoke good english in the restaurant, being in a german speaking country obviously fair enough. Problem was, 2 of the non-english speaking girls got frustrated with us as the communication was difficult and this became a little uncomfortable for us in the first few days. There were times were we would have had a drink on the terrace outside meal times, but felt it was just not worth asking due to the negative mannerisms and the 'too much trouble' faces that it would attract! I felt they would avoid serving our table if they possibly could, which was a shame.
But all in all, great food, great location for the region(Ellmau one side, Soll the other), good room for the standard price and we were happy with our stay.

Room tip: We were in room 309, above the kitchen so could be noisy up to 10pm and from 7am
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheWaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We usually stay in a friend's apartment when we visit Scheffau, but this week they were using it themselves so we booked the Alpin.

The Alpin's main building is about as central as is possible in this town. Ski shop in the basement. Tourist office and ski bus opposite. Bank and cashpoint next door. Minimarket next door the other way. Mind you, this isn't a large place.

We had a room in the main building, so handy for breakfast. A room in the annexe might be less handy if it was snowing. Our room was fine - bath, WC, and cupboard space just inside the door - balcony facing south which was handy for keeping drinks chilled. The bed was two single mattresses on a double frame, and the cleaner came in every day to change the towels, make the bed, and sculpt the duvets and pillows into dramatic mountain peaks. I think my wife was embarrassed at finding her nightie elegantly folded and draped instead of stuffed under the pillow - after the first day she hid it away...

The hotel boasts a pool and wellness centre. Two separate but adjacent facilities, on the ground floor of the annexe, so presumably purpose built, but not in any joined up way. You go downstairs and there are the toilets. Then you walk down a corridor and into the changing room for the pool. Then round the corner is the access to the wellness centre - you need to know the access code number (it's in the room information they give you at reception). If you can't find it, hang about for a while and someone will turn up who knows it.

Reception will give you a lovely fluffy dressing gown, in return for a 20€ deposit. Do not lose the voucher! These are available in Large only, so if you are XXL or S you might be wise to take your own dressing gown from home. Take a pair of flip flops as well. There is a changing room over there, sort of, but it's a bit small and with not much room for leaving your stuff. Most people seem to change in their rooms and walk over in their dressing gowns and flip-flops - it wasn't snowing when we were there so I don't know if this happens all year round.

Two saunas, a steam room, a couple of lounging about areas, a shower, and a fresh air room. The fresh air room is a small room with an open window, next to the showers. So a bit draughty. This being Austria, you can spot the Brits as the ones who wear their swimsuit in the sauna - the German speakers don't. Brits may find this a bit disconcerting at first. The Austrians find people wearing swimsuits in the sauna disconcerting too. The architectural layout means that you can't easily come out of the sauna and plunge into the swimming pool - you would have to walk round the corridors, through two doors, round a few corners. I don't know if this was deliberate or just bad design. You can't run outside and roll in the snow, either - that would involve corridors, doors, and climbing up the stairs, and past the dining room. Not that I would want to run outside and roll in the snow - just sayin'.

The pool was a bit small for swimming and a bit chilly for lazing. It could do with a jacuzzi. There are about half a dozen loungers at the end, and I dare say in the spring they open up the door out to the lawn which might be nice. My wife liked the wellness centre better than I did. It was OK, don't get me wrong - but I think it could have been a lot better designed.

Breakfast and afternoon snack is in the main building - help yourself to the buffet. Freshly baked bread, rolls, cheese, ham, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and often leftovers from dinner the night before - smoked salmon a couple of times, beef salad, all sorts of stuff. There is a hot choice - bacon, sausages - and the chef will cook you eggs on the hotplate at the bar. Help yourself to tea and juice, or your waitress will bring you a pot of coffee.

They have afternoon tea for when you come in from skiing. There is the option of a bowl of soup, so you could easily skip lunch and have a slap up tea, especially if you like Gulaschsuppe. Apart from the soup they do cakes, tea, coffee and ham, cheese and bread rolls.

Dinner is in the annexe for most people, although if you book in advance you can have dinner in the main building too. The food is the same, but the main building offers the extra choice of pizza - I've reviewed this separately under Naschberger's. Walk in, find a table, and then go and help yourself to the buffet. The waitress will bring you a glass of wine or beer (it's included) and every now and then they will ask if you want another. Don't expect to get drunk for free though - they also have to clear the plates and give everyone else a glass.

The buffet food is good and there is lots of it - starters, salads, a choice of two roasts every night (various cuts of beef and pork mainly, but also duck and chicken), soup, pasta, potatoes, vegetables, goulash, fish, stews, puddings, pancakes and fruit salad. Different choice every night. Go round as often as you like, pile your plate as high as you like. If you don't eat it, it will re-appear at breakfast or high tea tomorrow.

We paid the extra for the Kitzbühel All Star lift pass which lets you access resorts for miles around. Alpbach in the West to Saalbach in the East is 100km or more, by road anyway. You can't ski all that way, you need a car but hey, we had a car, the Alpin has a car park. The Skiwelt is pretty big by itself though, so don't feel that you have to do this. You can take the free bus from outside the hotel down to the Scheffau lifts, or drive - parking at the lift stations is free except in Kitzbühel town. There is also a skiable track from the village centre down to the lifts, although we didn't use it this time.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jacw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

On arrival we were told our room was not ready and we could go to eat/drink in the pizzeria,service and friendliness of the staff was excellent.After collecting our key the receptionist walked us over to the annexe to show us where we would be staying,room was adequate for 2 adults 1 child nice and clean,lovely wet room bathroom.Room was cleaned and beds made daily.Staff very friendly pool and spa good and the food excellent.Only gripe was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.Bus to the ski area fine.Note to people who have not stayed in the resort before the bus service does not run between 1pm and 2pm and the spar shop also closes for lunch.

Date of stay: February 2016
4  Thank joanne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We (my wife and I plus our two boys age 9 and 10) spent a week at Hotel Alpin, Scheffau, in January 2016. The hotel booking was part of a keenly priced package from Crystal Ski Holidays.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff and allocated a basic en-suite quad room. The room was fine but we had done so well with the price from Crystal we asked if it would be possible, for an additional fee, to be allocated into a junior suite. The reception staff immediately checked with the Boss who sanctioned an upgrade for a reasonable additional nightly fee. The two room suite was ideal for us - there was only one door onto the corridor from our room and so the boys were safe in their own room while we all enjoyed the additional space and privacy.

Food was good - a varied buffet style which had enough variety every night to allow for something to eat for our (fussy) boys. Breakfast was excellent. The evening meal was accompanied by free beer (quality German Pilsner or Weiss Beer) or wine (reasonable local red or white) - for an additional cost (15€ a bottle) there was an absolute cracker local red on offer on the wine list (Sophie-Marie). There is an option to dine in the Pizza restaurant - we did this twice. The main restaurant had occasional live entertainment (see picture).

The Hotel was spotlessly clean.

The bus down to the Gondola (5 minute transfer) stopped outside the door and the Hotel has a friendly ski hire business located in its ground floor.

The heated pool was clean and inviting.

The sauna/ steam room (adults only) took some getting used to (I expected a week of "Balls Out" skiing - but did not expect the same code in the sauna!). I must confess I kept my towel on (very English) but most of the continental ladies and gents seemed entirely comfortable "letting it all hang out".

The Hotel manager was a friendly host, attentive but not intrusive, and all his staff appeared happy in their work and provided a high standard of service.

Scheffau is an "uber" quite village - one pub (which does not show English Premier League matches - much to the disgust of our boys). It is a beutiful spot and ideal for a quiet family trip.

We will be happy to return to Hotel Alpin again.

Room tip: We were located in the "anex" - the building (50m from the main building) has the swimming pool and sauna complex.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Derrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel - staff are
Welcoming and friendly. Rooms fine. Food is amazing! You find find something for even the most fussy of eaters, the AI beer and wine is great as are the soft drinks. Perfect location for the slopes - we skied down the blue run most mornings to the lift and got the free ski bus back to the hotel in the evening. Ski hire shop staff brilliant and really friendly, boot room great. Highly recommend this lovely hotel and will be returning next December with friends - thanks hotel alpin for a wonderful holiday.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank kellyhawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews