We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
136
66
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
66
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the main hotel swimming pool ski shop soup car park cakes ski holiday across the road ski bus soft drinks superior room kaiser jet every night buffet style quiet village evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. the room was quite small for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children)
The Hotel is very convenient, the food is excellent and hotels area is nice.
The staff (with exception to the reception) doesn't speak English however it's manageable.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank eddie_sheinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I stayed here for a week on a full board basis with my wife. The staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous. Two come to mind 1.Olivia in reception and, 2. Andri/ea in breakfast and bar service. Actually everyone was very helpful. The fare was tasty and varied and, the location was very picturesque.

Room tip: Choose second floor up
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CiaranSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

An excellent Hotel, which is more than worth its 3* rating. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is wonderful; try their home cured ham. The rooms are an adequate size and have a good sized balcony. The swimming pool came into its own, so we were wet on the inside, If you have visited Austria before you will know that it rains a lot!

The range of drinks which is part of the all inclusive is perfectly acceptable.

This is not a 5* hotel but this is more than reflected in the price. For example, the rooms do not have air conditioning. The evening meal is between 6 & 8 pm. For some reason you cannot have a 'free' coffee after your meal. English drinkers will miss 'proper' milk for their tea. The last serving of alcoholic drinks is 9 pm. Can I find a fault? Well, yes: on occasions the plates were cold!

The area is superb; typical Austrian Tirol. There is an excellent FREE bus service throughout the day. The service fits seamlessly around the many ski lifts, which offer a variety of outings and walks.

Will we go back again? Definitely.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank v7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Visited 11-18 June 2016. This is Austria, so i knew the rooms were likely to be very basic and that we would be in the 'annex', as described by other reviewers.
I was delighted to find the 'annex' was in fact a building very similar to the main one, set back from the road with most of the main facilities for the whole hotel in it(see pic). The room was modern and although small as expected, not tired or a smell to it as others have said. Shower was fantastic! Sleep quality good, very quiet after 10pm.

Warm welcome from the staff on reception, who were very helpful throughout the holiday. The food for dinner was top notch and the choice at breakfast very good. Their were bags supplied at breakfast to make a lunch up to take out with you if you wished. We did this every day, as with buses running only on the hour, it would be difficult to come back for the small buffet lunch without compromising a large part of our day. I did not get bored of the fantastic fresh bread rolls, cheese, choices of ham and salami for lunch anyway and im still missing them now!

Dinner typically (different every night but this an example) would be a buffet with salads, pate, soup, cheeses to start, a chef hand carving joints of veal and chicken, pasta, potato gratin(i challenge anyone if they tasted better!), boiled potatoes, bolognese, kebabs, bread dumplings, chicken/veal schnitzel, spinach, carrots etc. Dessert their would be a special, such as apple strudel, a light panna cotta type pot and 4/5 flavours of ice cream. Absolutely delicious!
Breakfast was 7.30am - 10am, lunch 12.30pm - 1.30pm and dinner 6pm - 8pm. We did ask if we needed to make a reservation to eat in the Pizzeria, but were told it was closed. We put this down to the time of year (alot of things start at end of June here), but then saw it open later in the week... I put it down to a breakdown in communication, who knows!

The only slight problem we had is that there was only one girl who spoke good english in the restaurant, being in a german speaking country obviously fair enough. Problem was, 2 of the non-english speaking girls got frustrated with us as the communication was difficult and this became a little uncomfortable for us in the first few days. There were times were we would have had a drink on the terrace outside meal times, but felt it was just not worth asking due to the negative mannerisms and the 'too much trouble' faces that it would attract! I felt they would avoid serving our table if they possibly could, which was a shame.
But all in all, great food, great location for the region(Ellmau one side, Soll the other), good room for the standard price and we were happy with our stay.

Room tip: We were in room 309, above the kitchen so could be noisy up to 10pm and from 7am
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheWaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We usually stay in a friend's apartment when we visit Scheffau, but this week they were using it themselves so we booked the Alpin.

The Alpin's main building is about as central as is possible in this town. Ski shop in the basement. Tourist office and ski bus opposite. Bank and cashpoint next door. Minimarket next door the other way. Mind you, this isn't a large place.

We had a room in the main building, so handy for breakfast. A room in the annexe might be less handy if it was snowing. Our room was fine - bath, WC, and cupboard space just inside the door - balcony facing south which was handy for keeping drinks chilled. The bed was two single mattresses on a double frame, and the cleaner came in every day to change the towels, make the bed, and sculpt the duvets and pillows into dramatic mountain peaks. I think my wife was embarrassed at finding her nightie elegantly folded and draped instead of stuffed under the pillow - after the first day she hid it away...

The hotel boasts a pool and wellness centre. Two separate but adjacent facilities, on the ground floor of the annexe, so presumably purpose built, but not in any joined up way. You go downstairs and there are the toilets. Then you walk down a corridor and into the changing room for the pool. Then round the corner is the access to the wellness centre - you need to know the access code number (it's in the room information they give you at reception). If you can't find it, hang about for a while and someone will turn up who knows it.

Reception will give you a lovely fluffy dressing gown, in return for a 20€ deposit. Do not lose the voucher! These are available in Large only, so if you are XXL or S you might be wise to take your own dressing gown from home. Take a pair of flip flops as well. There is a changing room over there, sort of, but it's a bit small and with not much room for leaving your stuff. Most people seem to change in their rooms and walk over in their dressing gowns and flip-flops - it wasn't snowing when we were there so I don't know if this happens all year round.

Two saunas, a steam room, a couple of lounging about areas, a shower, and a fresh air room. The fresh air room is a small room with an open window, next to the showers. So a bit draughty. This being Austria, you can spot the Brits as the ones who wear their swimsuit in the sauna - the German speakers don't. Brits may find this a bit disconcerting at first. The Austrians find people wearing swimsuits in the sauna disconcerting too. The architectural layout means that you can't easily come out of the sauna and plunge into the swimming pool - you would have to walk round the corridors, through two doors, round a few corners. I don't know if this was deliberate or just bad design. You can't run outside and roll in the snow, either - that would involve corridors, doors, and climbing up the stairs, and past the dining room. Not that I would want to run outside and roll in the snow - just sayin'.

The pool was a bit small for swimming and a bit chilly for lazing. It could do with a jacuzzi. There are about half a dozen loungers at the end, and I dare say in the spring they open up the door out to the lawn which might be nice. My wife liked the wellness centre better than I did. It was OK, don't get me wrong - but I think it could have been a lot better designed.

Breakfast and afternoon snack is in the main building - help yourself to the buffet. Freshly baked bread, rolls, cheese, ham, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and often leftovers from dinner the night before - smoked salmon a couple of times, beef salad, all sorts of stuff. There is a hot choice - bacon, sausages - and the chef will cook you eggs on the hotplate at the bar. Help yourself to tea and juice, or your waitress will bring you a pot of coffee.

They have afternoon tea for when you come in from skiing. There is the option of a bowl of soup, so you could easily skip lunch and have a slap up tea, especially if you like Gulaschsuppe. Apart from the soup they do cakes, tea, coffee and ham, cheese and bread rolls.

Dinner is in the annexe for most people, although if you book in advance you can have dinner in the main building too. The food is the same, but the main building offers the extra choice of pizza - I've reviewed this separately under Naschberger's. Walk in, find a table, and then go and help yourself to the buffet. The waitress will bring you a glass of wine or beer (it's included) and every now and then they will ask if you want another. Don't expect to get drunk for free though - they also have to clear the plates and give everyone else a glass.

The buffet food is good and there is lots of it - starters, salads, a choice of two roasts every night (various cuts of beef and pork mainly, but also duck and chicken), soup, pasta, potatoes, vegetables, goulash, fish, stews, puddings, pancakes and fruit salad. Different choice every night. Go round as often as you like, pile your plate as high as you like. If you don't eat it, it will re-appear at breakfast or high tea tomorrow.

We paid the extra for the Kitzbühel All Star lift pass which lets you access resorts for miles around. Alpbach in the West to Saalbach in the East is 100km or more, by road anyway. You can't ski all that way, you need a car but hey, we had a car, the Alpin has a car park. The Skiwelt is pretty big by itself though, so don't feel that you have to do this. You can take the free bus from outside the hotel down to the Scheffau lifts, or drive - parking at the lift stations is free except in Kitzbühel town. There is also a skiable track from the village centre down to the lifts, although we didn't use it this time.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jacw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews