We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to avoid.”
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Solden
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try to avoid.”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed with family and friends for a ski holidays in January. The hotel is much to expensive for what you get. Be careful because hotel has two parts an we were in the older part. Rooms are small, smelly and furnished 30 years ago, the glass on the bathtube was broken. There was no soap. There are all sorts of hidden expenses. As soon as we arrived we had to pay an extra fee for the garage and a fee for a garage key and an extra fee for the ski box. The fees should be payed in cash and they didn't give us any kind of receipt. They said that we will get the money for the keys back at check out and that they have a notice about the payment. At the day we checked out they didn't give us money back and they said that we didn't pay in advance! It was 10 EUR for these two keys. Also you have to pay 5 EUR extra for the bathcoat cleaning. Also the wi-fi connection costs 5eur per day or 15 eur per week. We payed for a week and then couldn' t connect the first day an after that the connection was slow. Do I have to mention that we didn' t get receipt? The service was rude except cooks and waiters. The lady said to me that we have free wi-fi in the mountains. We had a half board and the food was very good. The highligh of our stay was a lady that approached one evening to us and said that it is not appropriate to go in the hotel restaurant in flip flops and a training shoes since it is not a pool or a wellness but a restaurant. She didn' t present herself and when we asked who she is she said that she is a friend of the hotel owner. I agree that the flip flops are maybe not the best choice for a dinner but neither is her approach. She attacked us as we were some intruders not a guests of the hotel.
Hotel is located in the city center but you have to use ski bus to reach the ski area. There is a ski lift near the hotel but it dorsn' t reach the main ski area where the ski school are situated.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dundula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    29
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
15
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Having read some of the reviews before we left we were fairly apprehensive about the Hotel, however on arrival all our worries were unfounded. The Hotel is in an excellent location right in the centre of Solden with ski hire shop, post office and bank just outside the front door.The staff were all excellent extremely helpful and efficient and spoke good english. There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel and the buses were regular and ran on time to take you to one of two lift stations. If you want to leave your equipment at the hotel this is the best option or alternatively if you rent from the Intersport shop opposite (10% discount if you stay at the Hotel Tyrol ) you can store your skis,boards and boots for free at their shop at the bottom of the Giggijoch Lift and it takes 5 minutes to walk there in the morning .They even give you a free foot massage and schnapps at the end of the day !!!
We stayed in the older part of the hotel but it was fine very clean and had all the facilities you need.The wellness area ans spa was very good,spacious and clean
The food was exceptional some of the best Ive had in any hotel with plenty of choice and in the evening 5 courses.They do now provide large jugs of tap water for supper with no extra charge.
If you want a change of scene for the day the bus to Obergurgl goes every 20 minutes from outside the Hotel.For 12 extra euros on the price of your lift pass this gives you free unlimited access to the bus and the lifts in Obergurgl and Hochgurgl.Lift passes can be purchased at the Hotel.
All in all we had a great holiday,the hotel was excellent and we would highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soosyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Perfect location. There are 2 parts of the hotel: crapy old part in 1975 style as one of the reviewers sharply noted, and the beautiful expensive new renovated part. Service is total disaster. They would even shout on customers if something goes wrong. Finally, they operate like very last season and trying to pull every penny from you. Highly NOT recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y3kostiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

great location for both ski lifts. can get a bus that takes 1 min to either lift. or walk it.
cant fault hotel for how clean it was, has been recently refurbished as it was immaculate.

the food is really good, loads on offer for breakfast & dinner, only thing is they didn't offer table water for dinner, but they did do for breakfast. strange.

solden is a great place to ski, loads of good skiing, and has obergural 20mins up the road, make sure you do the night skiing, its really good fun, even better after a few drinks.

really cant fault this place.
solden is kicking every night, try the snowrock bar, really good place to start, ask for kate, the pretty brunette who sings in between serving drinks.

then off to fire & ice to get the party really going.

have fun.

jonathan penny

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We booked the superior room. The room was huge with separated bath and WC and with the separate area for TV with sofa. Room was newly built and really great – a lot of natural wood with high ceiling and a lot of light. There was no fridge that may be a slight disadvantage but we store the beverages on the balcony.
The hotel offers only half board. The food was good and a bit excessive. Service was great. All staff are from Eastern Europe We feel the drinks for the dinner were a bit overpriced.
The bar down stairs is cozy but people are heavily smoking there so we didn’t spent any time.
The hotel offers the relaxation area with different saunas, water massages etc. It is included in your room price. Also you can rent bathrobe for extra charge of 5EUR for the whole stay.
It is possible to buy the ski pass on the reception with the deposit of 2 EUR – it was returned when we handed passes back on the last day
The hotel located in 10 minutes walk from the funiculars so we used ski bus. As it was mentioned in the previous reviews the ski busses have own agendas and the drivers looked very tired from tourists.
Surprisingly the resort is not that noisy and we have not spotted that many “crazy” stuff.
The hotel has the ski room with the appliance to warm your boots. The ski room is accessible from the street directly.
We really enjoyed the hotel and would highly recommend to everybody.
The skiing is well managed on the mountains. There are lines to get to the mountain around 9-10 in the morning. In average it took us about 20-30 mins to get to funiculars.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have just come back from a New Years skiing trip to Solden, where we stayed at the Hotel Tyrol. The hotel was not cheap but we felt the price was warranted by the excellent level of service throughout but especially in the dining room. The serving staff have obviously been very well trained to be efficient without being intrusive. The food was also extremely good, We had a five course dinner every night,\which sounds perhaps a bit excessive, but which was in fact enough without leaving the diner feeling overfaced;. The hotel was also quiet at night, something which is very important to us.

We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Solden. The only slight disadvantage is that you have to catch a ski bus to either of the main lifts to get up the mountain. The ski buses seem to have their own agenda, sometimes stopping and sometimes driving past.

The bar was a pleasant place to sit and drink and was sufficiently quiet that one did not have to shout. It was a surprise to us how many people in Austria smoke and that this was allowed in the bars and restaurants including the bar of the Tyrol.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillHollowday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

This great hotel is in the middle of town close to, but not affected by, the nightlife.
The staff is exceptional in terms of competence, friendliness, and helpfulness; and this extends to all staff from the cleaners to the restaurant manager. This leads nicely onto the food, which was glorious: a combination of local Austrian and Italian dishes with other European favourites for good measure.
The hotel is modern and extremely well maintained, and the bedrooms are equally well presented: stylish, functional and spacious (we had a standard room which was difficult to fault, but there are superior rooms).
The wellness area (sauna etc.) was immaculate and indeed all public rooms were ideal; elegant but user friendly!
We skied, so the heated ski locker room was good, and the heated boot rack a joy!
As a 3/4 star hotel this would rival many more highly acclaimed establishments in Austria, and simply knocks the spots off considerably more highly rated hotels in France.
The only possible negatives are that it's a ten minute walk to the lifts (although the bus stops both ways are within 50 m of the front door), and, that for Brits this year it's a little pricey - but so's everywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Erhart
Hotel Erhart
#7 of 32 in Solden
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#10 of 32 in Solden
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glanzer Homes Solden
Glanzer Homes Solden
#16 of 32 in Solden
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#9 of 32 in Solden
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#6 of 32 in Solden
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dominic
Hotel Dominic
#24 of 32 in Solden
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Property: Hotel Tyrol
Address: Dorfstrasse 92, Solden 6450, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Solden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tyrol 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, seekda GmbH, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing