We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stronlgy not recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunny
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Solden
Vedano Olona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stronlgy not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spended with my family a holiday week at this hotel with half board treatment. Apparently this hotel could be a 4 stars, but indeed it is not so. Even if the sauna area is nice and rooms are wide (but with hard and uncomfortable beds) the very bad things are about restaurant and the management. The breakfast offer is poor: juices diluted with water, fruit salad from box with only some fresh fruits added, yogurt diluted. The starters buffet of the dinner is even bad: only some salads and some cooked vegetables. Rarely shredded ham or meat. No cheese variety or fish or something else. Really embarrassing. But the top was about drinks. We paid 4,90 € for each bottle of water of capacity 0,75 liters, both sparkling or non-carbonated. The same price for 0,5 liters beers. We told the director we were pleased to go on to drink beers, but having tap water for our children instead of bottle water, as we usually do at home. The answer was no. She refused to give us tap water for children, because this might be an example for other guests. We decided to stop drinking at all at dinner (as other customers), and believing that tap water is a tourist’s right, we told the local tourist office what was happening. They absolutely agreed with us, apologizing for the incredible conduct of the director of the Sunny hotel, and they asked us to give them a written complaint. We done that and the effect was that the director offered us to have only one liter of tap water at dinner at the cost of 2,50 €. We continued to not drink at all. As our son was sick one day and he didn’t had breakfast, we decided to take a sandwich for him. For this fact we received a written warning by the director and, during the dinner, we didn’t have any glass on the table. Which is, in our opinion, the last very offensive act. For all these reasons, if you want to have a nice holiday in Solden, we actually invite you to keep away from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PeterPanPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Örebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed five nights at Sunny Sölden. The location was good, a 5 minutes walk from the Gigglijochbahn, on the opposite side of the river, away from the noisy parties in the village.

The saunas were nice, we used them every afternoon.
The beds were awful, very hard, resulting in sleepless nights and back or neck/shoulder pain in 3 of 4.

Breakfast was good but dinner was a little boring and the price on ordinary wine was high.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOAD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

11 Dads form Kew in London stayed at the Sunny for 3 nights on our annual ski trip to Austria.

The hotel was very flexible in terms of accommodating 11 guys for the short stay. Other hotels in the resort mandated a full week stay!

The Sunny is well located close to the village, bars and main lifts, albeit across a rickety bridge (careful after 'après ski').

The sauna and spa were a real treat after a hard day on the slopes, as was the indoor swimming pool.

The staff were very accommodating and the service excellent. Food and wine good and plentiful.

The only downside is the smoking in the bar, through which we had to walk to the buffet from our table. Smoking indoors is still widespread in Austria, but this was a little annoying for those of us who do not appreciate smoking near our food.

Overall a great ski hotel and one we would definitely recommend! Thank you Sunny Soelden.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

Myself and my husband stayed at the Hotel Sunny Solden for a week's snowboard holiday in March 2007. This was our second stay at the Hotel and we were not disappointed.

When we arrived it was like being greeted by old friends and despite it being lunch time our gorgeous suite was ready for us.

The Hotel is in a good location, just a 5 minute walk into the town centre. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Our waitress was called Nadia and she did everything she could to make our stay a pleasant one. The Hotel has good facilities although we found the swimming pool to be a little on the cool side!

We would definetly visit this Hotel again.

  • Liked — Great Food
  • Disliked — Swimming pool was a little cold
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank berrybear100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 33 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alphof Soelden
Hotel Alphof Soelden
#4 of 33 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#9 of 33 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Erhart
Hotel Erhart
#7 of 33 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#6 of 33 in Solden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny

Property: Hotel Sunny
Address: Rechenaustrasse 41, Solden 6450, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Solden
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Solden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Solden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sunny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Hotel Solden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing