We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are going to Solden you have to stay at the Tyrolerhof.”
Review of Hotel Tyrolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Solden
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are going to Solden you have to stay at the Tyrolerhof.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a seriously nice hotel. Our room was very nice and a good size as alpine hotels go, the bathroom is a good size to with a very nice shower and everything is spotlessly clean.
The food is very good and varied and the waiting staff are just excellent, totally professional.
The Giggijoch lift is a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    41
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Firstly, overall this was a very comfortable, well appointed and extremely friendly hotel. Good, comfortable rooms with good space and that all important feature for Apres-Ski: a powerful, hot shower.

You can take this as a plus or a minus but there were only a handful of English-speakers staying at the hotel.

We have stayed in a number of Austrian skiing hotels and as English, we have slowly learnt to understand the mealtime drill. The Tyrolerhof is no exception, you are allocated a table for the week and you'll have the same staff looking after you.

The food, (half board) was buffet morning and evening - the morning breakfast was typical of any decent hotel. The evening meal might sound dull, but actually it was a well presented buffet with a change in the core of the salads over the week, a choice of three soups, and a choice of 5 main courses plated up with your choice of accompaniments of the day then an amazing choice of puddings, apfelstrudel or pancake, individual sweets, or ice cream. So don't imagine abendsbuffet being a downmarket compromise. Also, evening meal times were from 6:30 - 9:00 and somehow that magically meant that people came and went at different times so there was no queuing. It is probably worth adding that the meals had plenty of vegetables nicely cooked.

(As a note: other meal systems in Austria include menu of the day with limited choices or ordering the meal for the next day every evening).

Minor niggles: one day it was below -20c and the heating in the dining room and bar struggled to cope, and they really should be deducted marks for the worst pub name pun I've heard in a while - The Grizzly (...Bar).

Excellent large pool for swimmers (about 20 metres long) towels and robes provided.

Useful bonus: our room was right above reception so we got free wi-fi in the room (normally just free in the lobby). This was proper wi-fi, not just cut-down browser access.

For skiers, it is about a couple of minute stroll to the lift, though there are plenty of rental places next to the gondolas that give free storage. The hotel will provide ski passes.

The skiing in Solden is good beginner and intermediate - even though it is a high resort the runs are typical Austrian Blue and Red runs. Obergurgl is readily accessible about 15 minutes drive up the road and you can get a day's transfer when you buy your lift pass for €10 extra (2013 rate). We had a perfect day for the transfer and the slopes there were virtually empty in bright sunshine and perfect snow. We were told that Obergurgl is more prone to poor visibility than Solden, though we had a couple of days of poor visibility anyhow. Solden really has 5 ski areas, 2 low ones down to the resort, and 3 high, including a large beginners' area so a reliable resort even for beginners. Intermediate skiers should find enough skiing for a week, though the resort is not on the scale of say the St Anton area (150km vs 440km).

Room Tip: Room 104! Nearby the stairs to the boot room and lobby, free wi-fi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanMSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I've stayed at the hotel as a part of a 10 members group and we had a wonderful stay.

Location: the hotel is located right in the middle of the town, 150 meters from the Gigijoch Bahn which takes you to the skiing area (you can ski almost right to the hotel on the way back). The SPAR grocery store is 100 meters away and so are the "Fire & Ice", "Mogul" & "Schrim" bars for your apres-ski/nightlife.

SPA: the hotel has a new well equiped spa area with several saunas, relaxation area, showers, and massage room. it also holds a very nice indoor swimming pool.

Rooms: we stayed at the renovated rooms (I'm not sure if all of them are) and they were very nice, clean and specious with enough storage room, lighting etc.

Food: definitely the highest virtue of the hotel - we stayed on half board basis and the meals were superb. The dinners are in buffet style but the main course is prepared by the chef in front of you - really enjoyed the food. Breakfast if very reach with everything you can ask for: cut fruit, yogurt, fresh sliced vegetables, a wide selection of cheese and suasages, pasteries and so on.

We've had wonderful service from the staff and front desk.

The price represents the level of the hotel and I will definitely come back there. Mostly recommended.

Adam.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed with my children for a skiing holiday in Feb 2012, Food ok but not enough variation, Rooms basic but clean, could feel the springs in the bed which made it slightly uncomfortable. Excellent friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asapearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We got a package for ski testing in Sölden including 2 nights in the Tyrolerhof. We had such a great offer that we didn't expect much from the hotel: we thought it would be very basic. But we were very positively surprised. The food was very fresh and good. The dinner offered a very generous and fine salad buffet. There were also 4 possibilities for the main course. The only thing is that it's all self-service. So after a day skiing you also need to cater for yourself. The hotel also has a nice wellness area, which we honestly didn't expect. It's all newly done: one Bio sauna, one Finnish sauna and two hammams. The hotel is very well located, on the main street. Connections to the glacier are possible with a local bus. We didn't test it though as we had our own private bus. Reception is very nice. You just need to know that if you wanna use a bathrobe for the sauna area you would need to leave 20 EUR at the reception and collect them once you gave back the bathrobe. Slippers for the sauna area cost 3 EUR so you might wanna bring your own.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street. the back rooms face a wall, which is not so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We slept at the hotel in the endo of October so practicly in the low season. We paid 144 euros for a double room with breakfast. The was nice but small and definitely not worth the monet. We needed internet so we ask for the wifi, it costs 4 euros for 1 hour. Breakfast was very german so quite nothing sweet, no croissant :(. The breafast is only until 10 o'clock so you have to wake up early, in holiday is it not so fine. And if you come just befire 10 maybe you don't find what you expect. We wanted some cappuccino but this was also to pay extra.
But....you can buy there the tickets for the aquadome for 10% less than normal.
The location is perfect, practicly in the center. To get to the ski runway its about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvieta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriend on a snowboarding trip. The hotel decor is a little dated, but the room was comfy, spacious and had a nice view from its balcony. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The main gondola to the slopes is very nearby. One definite plus was the hotel spa, which was much more impressive than i was expecting. It was very large, modern, clean, stylish and uncrowded - a very nice way to unwind after a day on the slopes. We had half board at the hotel. Breakfast was a bit uninspiring, but dinner was generally excellent, particularly the choice of delicious soups and desserts you get every evening. Some minuses were the rubbish wine on offer with meals and the fact that they won't give you tap water for free with your meal (i believe this is standard in Austria, rather than peculiar to this hotel, but it's still annoying).

Solden itself is an ok ski resort. Lifts and piste preparation are excellent, although the terrain isn't that exciting compared to resorts in other countries i've visited (france/usa). Another thing to mention is that the resort visitors are 80% Russian. I was sorry to discover that the Russians are perhaps the one nation that can rival the British (of whom i am one) for poor skiing technique and inconsiderate piste etiquette. It felt quite dangerous being surround by so many skiers and boarders who generally don't know what they're doing and don't seem to have much sense of danger/or other skiers.

Overall though, i had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.2 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
0.1 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#7 of 32 in Solden
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alphof Soelden
Hotel Alphof Soelden
#4 of 32 in Solden
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#9 of 32 in Solden
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#11 of 32 in Solden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrolerhof

Property: Hotel Tyrolerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 70, Solden 6450, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Solden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrolerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tyrolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing