We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a stopover”
Review of Muir Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muir Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
So Cal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ok for a stopover”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Good:
- Older, 50's style roadside motel that doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. Small, easy to find, easy to park, no fuss. Not luxurious, but neat and clean.
- No silly add-on charges. Wifi included, with password volunteered at check-in.
- Smallish but comfortable room, nice decor.
- Large bathroom; coffeemaker, minifridge, microwave & breakfast pastries.
- Short drive to downtown area. Easy freeway access. There was road noise, but it didn't keep us awake.

The Bad
- On check-in, they wanted to record my driver's license number (not my license plate, or make/model of car) "for the folio". I refused, and we argued politely for a few minutes. I prevailed, but this should never have been asked.
- Room was non-smoking, but there are chairs and ashtrays set right next to each wall a/c unit outside. So the smoke gets drawn back into your room and it smells of smoke anyway.
- Pool is right next to the main road. I wouldn't want to swim there.

The Ugly
- The luggage closet is a black hole desperately in need of a lightbulb.

I wouldn't want to make a long visit, but for a stopover it met our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
17
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The location is awesome, just 0.2 miles from Hwy 4 and the John Muir National Historic Site. It's not so close to historic Martinez, but it's still walkable for dinner. It is close to a railroad, but so it everything else in Martinez, including downtown areas.

My sister noticed that there was a small hose running from the pool pump into a leaning trash barrel. The water was dripping out of the trash barrel onto an electrical circuit. When I mentioned it to the front desk guy, he thanked me and told me that someone would be by that very day to fix it! That's the oldest one in the book. I did not use the pool, and the sketchy situation was in a cage where prying hands could not reach it, but this did not impress me in the least bit. I would hate to be at the hotel when something is wrong with my room.

The hotel is very affordable and fairly comfortable. It's basic, but I enjoyed it. I would probably even go back if I needed to, but I would do so with my eyes wide open.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I wanted an economy Motel but something better than the lowest on the totem pole. This motel fit the bill for me.
Liked:
Not a chain.
Small one story business.
Safe area. Crooks would be very obvious breaking into this small place.
However you have to travel to nearby cities for some amenities.
Small town atmosphere even though it's a city.
Clean, comfortable.
Disliked:
Like all motels without central air conditioning, room has persistent smell of closed-in room.
Clerk didn't have real good grasp of English, however I can say that that did not keep him from being very helpful
Has fridge, micro, coffee & rolls, shampoo.
On a busy street, noisy from early morning till late evening. Quiet during deep of night.
Low wattage light bulbs. Bring book light if you will want to read.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Muir Lodge Motel is a reasonably priced, older motel, nicely remodeled, with friendly staff and clean rooms. The layout uses the classic '50s one-story U-shaped configuration around the swimming pool and parking spaces. Park right outside your door.
The rooms are good sized, with amenities such as mini-fridge, coffee maker, TV with extensive channel selection including many Latin channels and HBO, comfortable bed, extra pillows, free wifi, nice work desk with high-backed leather office chair, a comfortable sitting area, and A/C. The bathroom in our room had been completely overhauled, with all new fixtures and beautiful new tile work. There is no tub, shower only.
The motel is on a busy street, convenient to town and the freeway. We had no problem with road noise, but I'm sure some people will. No hot tub or free breakfast. Also, as is the case with most older motels, there are not enough power outlets. This is why we, as frequent travelers, simply carry an extension cord in our luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very good experience at this hotel. It is definitely older, but has been very nicely updated. I felt safe and comfortable, and the room was very clean. The road is a little noisy, but I heard no noise from the neighboring rooms. There is no breakfast provided. I wouldn't choose to stay here long-term, but it was fine for a quick over-night if you're not planning on much time in the hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danibee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesa, az
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent 3 night here, renting a car from Enterprise up the street. It was a good location to visit Napa Valley, San Francisco and Marin County, without paying twice as much in Emeryville or other areas closer to SF. Arriving by a very late Amtrak train, the staff was waiting for us.
An older property but well maintained and very, very new room interiors, With the tile work, etc, the bathroom looked brand new.

Room Tip: You might want to stay away from the end near the very busy Alhambra Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for one night in June, and we had a lovely time. The owners/desk clerks were friendly and even allowed our granddaughter to pick the plums on the tree out front. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinez
0.7 mi away
Best Western John Muir Inn
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
4.6 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#2 of 8 in Concord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muir Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muir Lodge Motel

Property: Muir Lodge Motel
Address: 3930 Alhambra Ave, Martinez, CA 94553-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Martinez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Muir Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Muir Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing