We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocking Rubin”
Review of Hotel Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rubin
Ranked #7 of 37 Soll B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2012

First ski week of 2011, and the hotel and staff were well prepared. Easy transfer from Salzburg to Soll. Disappointed to find no real reception or sit down area but this was made up for by the two bars downstairs, smoking and non smoking with the best and friendliest bar staff in town.Very safe and secure, if slightly unimposing entrance. Excellent dining room. Hearty buffet breakfast and choice of evening meal menu taken a day in advance. Thorough room cleaning and daily change of towels. Any request attended to graciously and immediately. Entertainment every evening, and a free drink voucher with evening meal. Close enough to walk to nursery slope, gondola and large supermarket nearby.Loads of slopes, good instruction. Do take time to visit the Church to appreciate the beautiful art work. We found Rubin and The Red Horse to be excellent value and it was visited regularly by the Crystal Ski rep.

Room Tip: Rooms above ski locker have balcony and although marginally cooler there is no noise from the lively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

we stayed at the tenne and liked the value for money then,now its the rubin and we can see the prices going up along with its rating because it is so improved,the rooms are good the food was good mine host was excellent also its sports bar and staff were excellent,we will return by hook or by crook.

Room Tip: ask for a 3 bed room gets you more space and a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wattsit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed in Hotel Rubin for 10 days in August, thru Crystal Holidays. We'd been warned about the nearby road improvements but they were no problem and they have now moved further away, to the West of Soll.
A very unpretentious hotel, the entrance is a little disappointing but inside it's wonderful. Very clean throughout, nearly all the rooms are large and have balconies and whilst we were there only 5 or 6 of the rooms (/20) were occupied. From our room we had a full view across to the Hohe Salve mountain range. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had half-board and all meals were very good, a reasonable choice at breakfast and for dinner you made your choice the night before.
Soll is an exceptionally good centre with free hourly bus service to the other 3 main villages in the valley (each with a gondola station). Tickets for the gondolas cover that valley and the next, and are only a quarter the price of wintertime! The walking (mainly at 3000 - 6000ft) is very straightforward, with very comprehensive signs and clear footpaths. An added bonus for families are the many attractions for children at the gondola stations, keeping them well entertained for hours. However for those of us who love to get away from that at times, it's only a 10 minute walk and there's complete peace! Lots of seats with good views (why can't the Lake District do that?!!) and with the Wilder Kaiser Range nearby and the Central Alps further away to look towards we spent many happy hours 'resting' in-between the walking! Take a good book!!
Transfers from Salzburg or Innsbruck are easy (about 1.5hrs).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FulwoodPR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have stayed in The Rubin once before, but it was The Tenne then and we was happy then. The refurbishment is excellent, gone are the Austrian bowling alley and the cafe. They have been replaced with The Soll Sportsbar and The Red Horse Pub, both which have the best bar staff working there. The Hotel itself is very clean at all times. The breakfast is the usual cheese, cold meats and cereal which we have got used to on ski trips, but the rolls are fresher than other we have had. The evening meals were good and you made your choice at breakfast. The only downside is, if you want an early night it might not happen as you can hear music from The Red Horse Pub in some of the rooms. The location is ideal, right near a supermarket and a short walk to the main gondola. Both bars offer food and is excellent. (the burger from the Sportsbar is huge). There is also live music in The Red Horse on certain nights ( Frog on the Tyne, Jabberwalky, etc) We are looking to book this hotel again as we really enjoyed our time there. Great work to all that work there.
The town of Soll is small, but we like this. It has some great bars.
The ski area is one of the largest linked ski areas in Europe, so there is something for all standards of skier/boarder.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get great views of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Review of Hotel Rubin, Soll – Previously the Hotel Tenne, Soll

As you may have noticed there are not many reviews available for this hotel since its been renamed. Before I stayed here I was trying to look up reviews but unfortunately couldn’t find any so hopefully my report will help some of you looking for a review (and some Photos that I’ve taken J )

Arrival- the Entrance to the hotel is on the left hand side of the building which is hidden and not easily found. The front of the hotel is the entrance to the Red Horse and Sports Bar (all one pub really). So you can get to the reception of the hotel through the bar or through the side Door at left of building. Its not a traditional reception at all, just a lobby area really but the staff were waiting there on our arrival with Keys waiting. Rooms were ready about 2pm. There is also Free WiFi in the hotel which was great, slow connection but that was ok

Rooms – the Rooms are typical Austrian Style which is clean, functional and basic enough but that was fine seeing with us as we were off skiing during the day and didnt really spend much time in the hotel. We were allocated 4 rooms for 8 people. 3 twin rooms and 1 triple room. The Twin Rooms (207,208,209 in our case) had 2 twin beds, bed side lockers, a wardrobe, Colour TV with 30 channels mostly foreign channels but 2 BBC News channels which were in English. The Sink was in the main room with Mirror and there was a small room for the Toilet and shower. There was also a very large balcony facing the slopes with a fantastic view. The Triple Room(206) was definitely more spacious than the other rooms and the bathroom had the shower, toilet and sink all contained in the same bathroom. There was a Balcony also facing the slopes. The Showers were fantastic plenty of hot water and really strong pressure water. The rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard. You could hear the music from the Bars downstairs at nightime and we were on the 2nd floor but it wasn’t too noisy you could just barely make out what song it was and I still slept every night without any problems but it is considered a Party hotel so what do you expect! The music will always finish up before 2am as a rule.

Food – We were staying here on a half board basis so Breakfast and Dinner were included in our cost. The Breakfast had a great selection of again a typical Eurpoean breakfast of choice of 3 ceareals (Corn Flaskes, Museli, and some other Bran Cereal), Tea, Coffees both Americano and Cappacinos from a fancy coffee manchine, hot chocolate etc. Boiled Eggs, 3 types of Breads, Cheeses and Meets and Jams, honey nutella etc. Orange and Apple Juice were available also. The Dinner wasn’t great quality but I have to mention that I have found this to be the case in most Austrian Hotels that offer harf board in Austria– we’ve stayed in 4 star hotels and it has been the same standard. I wouldn’t say the food is bad or horrible but just very standard, I took some pictures of the menu’s available. The Soups and Desserts were always the nicest part of the meal for me. We ate in 5 nights out of 7 in the hotel (There are some really nice Italian restaurants that are very reasonable in the Village)

Red Horse & Sports Bar – The Bars down stairs are very popular in the resorts, the Back Red Horse bar is non-smoking which is a great relief from all the smokey bars. Its lively and great fun with music and a mixed crowd every evening. The front bar is the sports bar and shows most of the Football and Rugby from Sky sports etc. Like most of the Soll Bars the Pints are only €3.40 J I should also note that there is a security door from the bar to the hotel for security that is locked most of the time and only rooms keys can enter the hotel part and rooms – this was a very important feature as the bars are very busy downstairs and ensures safety.

Staff – The staff were always helpful and welcoming in the mornings and evenings for dinner.

Location – The Location is right beside the main supermarket so great for dropping in next door – 1 min walk. Its approximately a 10 minute walk to the main Gondola in Soll but this hotel is one of the closest to the slopes from the village so most other hotels would take 15 mins plus. You are in the village and most bars and restaurants are no longer than 5 mins walk and the most. There are about 3 other hotels / guest houses that are right beside the Gondolas but then they are not in the village and it’s a 10/15 minute walk from there to the village so I personally preferred to be located closer to the village. We left our Ski /Snowboarding equipment in lockers at the bottom of the gondola for €14 for the week which saved us walking every morning and evening with our heavy equipment

Skiing/Snowing Boarding in Soll – The Skiing in Soll was good but as its not a very high resort the snow conditions weren’t the best, approx 1/3 of the mountain area was showing its grass and not covered by snow which was very strange. They had pisted all the runs which were still intact but very strange skiing on snow and large patches of green alongside the slope. The do have snow machines which give a light fresh topping of snow but not great still, I would go for a higher resort to be guaranteed better snow. (The best snow and village area I have been is Saalbach in Austria)

Overall – This hotel is classed as a 2 star hotel so I think the standard is very very high for this rating. I have stayed in 4 star Austrian hotels that are very similar. The price isnt that cheap for a 2 star hotel still :(

Good Points –Location

Bad Points – The Dinners

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TiffanyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: am besten in einem anderen Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aina_Corse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fragen Sie nach Gästezimmmer in ruhiger Lage, auf der 2.Etage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alphons H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Berghof Hotel-Pension
Berghof Hotel-Pension
#11 of 37 in Soll
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#7 of 20 in Soll
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof Kaiserstub'n
#28 of 37 in Soll
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubin

Address: Dorf 138, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range: £32 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rubin 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing