We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ronseal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnenhof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonnenhof
Ranked #1 of 35 Soll B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ronseal...”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We got a week at the Chalet for £750 over half-term.

We expected (fairly) cheap and cheerful and this is what we got.

The room was basic and we expected that.

The food (essentially full board) was basic and we expected that - the chef was a nice guy but not quite sure why he is feted in the way that he is by some posters. The cooked breakfasts were things like beans, bacon and egg - hardly cordon bleu. The rest of breakfast was unattended (and rartely replenished unless requested) cereals etc. The cakes after skiing were basically Sara Lee from the pack. The dinners were essentially meat and two veg following on from a very basic soup. Portions were small. The wine was acidic and cheap - but what would one expect for such a holiday?

Not being horrible but it was not amazing food by any means - and again we expected that.

The chalet hosts were pleasant enough - late teens or early twenties and so may not appreciate the nicieties of not standing in a group out the front having a fag... Very personable and not sure I would or could have done as well as most of them at that age.

The skiing was very good indeed - and that is what we paid for and it was better than expected.

The chalet is 15 minutes walk from the slopes without kit, longer with - but you can store equipment at the base fo 8 euros per week. It is an even longer walk back with kit at 2:30 in the morning when absolutely hammered from an 11 hour apres-ski binge but that's another story...

Given all this, I would give the holiday a 4-star rating overall but don't go to the Sonnenhof expecting luxury. It does what it says on the tin. I can understand if someone had paid a grand per person (see the one-star rating below) and they were upset - I can see validity in many of the criticisms she put forward when considering that price.

But for £750 for a half-term week? Very good - as my four star rating suggets.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Would like to say that the staff at the chalet were amazing. The food was amazing. The rooms are basic but they are a good size and clean. Just what we wanted. My daughter was the only child in the chalet when we were there and the staff were brilliant with her. The chef lee went through the menu and took out or changed anything she didn't like. The location was good to as it was only a 15-20 walk/ stroll to the ski lifts and this was good to warm up or down. I couldn't recommend this chalet more highly. If we come back to Austria we will definately come back here. Thanks guys for a great holiday. The staff even offered to give my husband some skiing tutoring as he was not ver good. They didn't have to offer but that was what they are like, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Family room has a bath but others have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Don't listen to the bad reports. The Chalet is basic but what do you expect when booking a budget holiday,Its very clean and tidy. you have to walk up and down the hill that can be very slippery but again what do you expect in a ski resort.The staff are fantastic,the food is very good a bit small on the portion size but our group never complained about being hungry.The ski bus stops at the bottom of the hill, but the early morning walk is great and warms up the limbs.It also has its own little bar that opens from 6-11pm thats much cheaper than the bars in town and you also save money on the wine that is served with your meal and the afternoon cake is not to be missed either.Great Holiday Resort

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

excellent holiday made us feel at home nothing too much trouble .would definitely go again meals where very high quality .all staff extremely friendly and helpful .lovely warm and social atmosphere traditional chalet lovely views tks for making our holiday so enjoyable jackson-smith family .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Soll its self is one of the most beautiful places i've ever visited. The chalet is just out of town, which for us was fantastic as you are away from the hustle and bustle but not to far to join in. The chalet is traditional with large rooms and amazing views. Our meals where of such high quality i was amazed, never have i received such a great standard in a chalet before. The staff, Zoe,lee,tom,leo,lizzie and amie Where the perfect hosts, always there to help when you needed it. Rooms where cleaned daily. We enjoyed the bar in the evenings and socializing with other guests. Snow wasn't so great but the skiing was still fantastic. Thanks so much for an amazing week!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed in the Sonnehof in Soll, on the 12th Jan 2013 for 1 week. It was my first time skiing and I loved the whole experience. The Crystal ski chalet staff were great. Zoe, One direction Tom, Leo and the chef Lee where fantastic and friendly. You had a warm room, hot water and good food and a great social atmosphere which made for a great stay. The skiing for myself, who was a beginner was a fantastic experience aswell. The ski school was enjoyable and it was a pleasure learning a new skill, thanks to Karsten who was a great teacher. Overall Soll was a beautiful place with great accomodation, good people, good social scene and perfect skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Really great chalet, staff were very helpful and we had no complaints. The rooms were alway cleaned, food was well presented and very high quality. We had a great time with all the other guests. Had read the other reviews and clearly one person was not happy, perhaps they did not get on with the other guests. But the staff were always very friendly but very professional. Will book again for later this season in this resort, this chalet, can't wait to go back, well done crystal!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar ,some have a bath if that's what you like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
0.4 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gaensleit
Hotel Gaensleit
#2 of 35 in Soll
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof

Property: Sonnenhof
Address: Pirchmoos 21, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run garni hotel in a stunning location a few minutes walk from the centre of a beautiful village. Well known for their friendly hospitality, the Reiter family look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing