We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”
Review of Schonblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schonblick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed there for a ski holiday 21 to 28 December 2013. Vey good location, 10 to 15 mins casual stroll to the Ski shop/storage area at the start of the first drag lift. Hotel and rooms were clean. Breakfast was better than most Hotels of this standard that we have stayed in, and plenty of it. Would have no probelm recommending this place as a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GaelOg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in the Schonblick between 28th Dec 2013 - 4th Jan 2014 for a week's ski holiday... we wanted basic accommodation near to the Gondola and the Schonblick was well priced and an easy 10 minute walk right to the Gondola station! We were told breakfast was not great there, but for a 2-3 star basic hotel, it was fine! Ham and cheeses, fresh rolls and bread for toast, jams, butters, pates, marmelades, juices, tea/coffee and lots of cereals to choose from. Fair play not gourmet stuff, but enough to happily line your belly before getting your skis on! Our room (202) was really big with a balcony overlooking the mountains, it was clean, cosy and a very big size. Some rooms are a lot smaller, our friends were in room 101 which was much much smaller and had no balcony, so request a balcony room if you can. The ONLY thing I didn't like was the beds, the mattress was pretty hard and the pillows were thin, but we asked for extra pillows and had them within minutes :) For the price and location and somewhere nice and clean to get your head down after a hard days skiing, I would 100% recommend this place. I am fussy with cleanliness and was expecting a real super budget place, but was happily surprised with Schonblick.... Having one of the 3 main bars (the Red Horse) right next door was also nice for Apres Ski on the way home and for a cheeky night cap before bed.... (and in case you are wondering....nope you couldn't hear any noise from it during the night and we were right next to it!) If you are looking for 5* luxury and a Jacuzzi, it's not for you. If I go back to Soll I will be emailed Barbara to get availability there without doubt!

Room Tip: Go for room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_Galey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

In the first week of september we have stayed one week in Gasthof Schonblick and the conclusion is very easy: a good place to stay. Breakfast is good; a nice balcony and shopping in front of the door. Although it was holiday internet worked well making it possible to stay in contact with the world.

The nicest part of the stay was using the e-bike during the week and we have made a lot of kilometers; being 70 years old you need in Austria the electrical bike and having the possibility of changing the battery in many places. Top!!

Room Tip: when you look for a basic place to sleep and being out the whole day this is a place to stay. Good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Average hotel in wonderful Soll, very much a budget hotel dont expect great things, poor room with no view & very average breakfast, cold meats, eggs, juice etc. Great location just off the main town and within walking distance to the slopes.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We just returned from a lovely stay in the Schonblick. Basic double room with a balcony, clean and comfortable. Nice ensuite with shower. Breakfast until 10am each morning, 2 days out of the 7 there was a hot buffet for brekkie which was nice.
Big shopping center directly in front of the hotel which is super handy and the Red Horse Apres Ski bar is next door (can get a bit mental outside there at night though) Very close to the slopes, only 10 min walk or the bus stops outside also. They have a drying room for the ski gear.
The family Hoffer who run the hotel are really nice and helpful.
Really enjoyed my stay here and will return to the Schonblick next year

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishtown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from Soll having booked a last minute deal through directski. It was allocation on arrival so was worried about the pension we would end up in.... Luckily for us we ended up at the Schonblick. We stayed here in 2006 and loved its location and it cleanliness. Back then I thought it was a little dated however I am pleased to say it has been updated with a new bathroom and been all round freshened up. Only shame is it appears the land in front is being developed, I hope this new development does not block the wonderful view from the balcony. The breakfast was excellent and I really struggle to believe previous reviews about staff as on both occasions they have been fantastic. As I said previously the location is great as its a 10 minute walk to the gondola or a two minute walk to a bus stop for the ski bus. Also has a drying room for your kit although we were lazy and left out at the gondola! It's next door to the new red horse bar and a very short walk to other après ski bars. All in all I think this place offers excellent value for money and would definatley book again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darlo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We took a three-day minibreak towards the end of July, offered by Aldi (Europe). It was supposed to be the main holiday season but the town was very quiet, which suited us very well. On arrival we were met with smiles from Barbara (I have read previous reviews about the lady who runs the hotel being unpredictable), but these smiles which were omni-present throughout our stay. We found the Barbara very friendly.
We were advised to take a room at the back of the hotel since there was a Fest that weekend at the fire station across the road and could be potential noise late at night. Our room was quite large with balcony, the bathroom was very clean, roomy and with lovely hot water at any time. Breakfast was very good, nice fresh food, good variety and oooh that milk was great. I can honestly say that the only downside to the hotel is that the church rings loudly at 6.50am every morning, I guess to get everyone up for work, even on a Sunday.
Our deal included evening meal at the Auf da Mühle Restaurant in the village. The food was great, although some choice would have helped. The walk to the restaurant took about 5 minutes which I think may have been a bit tricky with a family in winter conditions.
Our deal included use of ebikes during our stay - prior to this we did not know that the Tyrol is the largest area in Europe with a network of roads for these bikes. Surprisingly we also had instructions for using the ebikes included in the deal. This was quite amazing, we were taken on a 3 hour bike ride, showing us how to get the best out of the bikes, we covered 25km up and down mountains, these bikes are the future! Thank you Joe for the training course - incidentally we covered 60km alone the day after.
A very pleasant stay, I am sure we will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.2 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#4 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Christophorus Inn
Christophorus Inn
#20 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
AlpenSchloessl Hotel
1.0 mi away
Berghof Hotel-Pension
Berghof Hotel-Pension
#14 of 37 in Soll
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schonblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schonblick

Address: Dorf 139, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schonblick 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing