We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a find!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Postwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Postwirt
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“"What a find!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having just returned from a week at the Hotel Postwirt in Söll and our first family trip to Austria we are truly lost for words. What a fantastic find this hotel was and coupled with the fabulous location in Söll itself and the wonderful surrounding area of Wilder Kaiser.
On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly staff welcoming us to the hotel. Thanks Alexandra! On entering the hotel it was clear that there was a personal pride by the staff and in the hotel and this extended to everyone we met from the reception to the waiters and waitresses and the cleaning staff. This pride in the hotel was easily seen in the immaculate way in which the rooms and round the hotel were presented. The food was exceptional as were the restaurant staff. Having a son who is very fussy on what he eats always instilled in us trepidation when going anywhere new. Not a problem! The staff went out of their way to cater for him with the food that he likes. He even ate things that he will not eat at home and the visit has given him new tastes in food. Thanks to Thomas in the restaurant who looked after us most of the week. Thank you also to the rest of the staff who's names we did not know.
The breakfast buffet and the evening meals gave wide variety for my wife and I and we thoroughly enjoyed the great tasting and well presented dishes on offer.
Although not mentioned my wife's birthday arrived with a special champagne drink at breakfast; just a superb gesture by the hotel, fabulous warm people!
The outdoor pool was a great way to finish the day after walking, excursions to Salzburg and Berchtesgaden, visits to Hohe Salve, Hexenwasser etcetera. Fun for adults and children alike.
This was our first stay at the Postwirt and it will not be the last since we have already booked again for 2015 as we loved it so much.
Vielen Dank Family Bliem and team!!! Mit besten grüß von Familie Burns

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear "Paul B" and Family,
Servus from Söll,

thank you very much for your nice review especially mentioning our staff.

We wish your family all the best and a nice summer back home and
are all looking forward welcoming you again next summer 2015.

Best regards
Family Bliem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    80
    20
    1
    4
See reviews for
125
198
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'll keep this short as there is little that can be found to fault this hotel. We went in January, our 2nd visit, and had a really great time. The food and friendly atmosphere make this, disruptively large, hotel a real gem. Its position in the village is great and the facilities are clean and well looked after. The skiing was great, even at the start of the holiday when the snow was light, due to an expansive snow cannons. The apres ski is top quality and varied. We took friends with us for our second visit and they went again in February they enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear "Nick T",
Servus from Söll!

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We wish you a nice summer back home and are looking forward
welcoming you again at Hotel Postwirt.

Best regards
Family Bliem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a special holiday for our party of eight and everyone and everything at the Postwirt helped to make it the perfect holiday we had planned.
On arrival at the hotel the reception was welcoming and informative (thank you Karen) and our rooms which all had lovely views of the mountains were tastefully decorated with excellent, modern bathrooms.
My husband had arranged for flowers, wine and chocolates to be in our room which was a lovely surprise (thank you Karen again)!!
All the staff we met were friendly, professional and keen to make our stay an outstanding experience (a special "Thank You" to Stefan who is an excellent barman!!) I am sorry we did not manage to get everyone's name to thank each of you personally .
The food was AMAZING, an excellent choice buffet breakfast which was "refreshed" frequently, with so much to choose from including "English" breakfast, fresh fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses, cakes and sweet rolls and so many different types of bread and bread rolls it was difficult not to appear greedy when filling our plates!!! The evening meal included a salad starter, again the choice available was excellent and varied, followed by soup and then the main course (choice of four). We all had difficulty deciding which meal we enjoyed the most as every evening was an outstanding experience!!! The desserts were yummy (see my photo)!!!
Our daughter is coeliac and also has lactose intolerance and the hotel catered for her brilliantly. She said the gluten/dairy free rolls they provided were the best she has ever eaten. And each evening the chef was happy to adapt her choice of main course to meet her dietary needs.
Due to the passport fiasco in this country she and her fiancé arrived several days later than the rest of us and the reception staff were so sympathetic about the situation, asking each day if we had any news and then sharing our joy when they finally made it to Soll.
This was our first stay at the Postwirt and it will not be the last and we can recommend this beautiful hotel from every aspect, including its central position in the town, fantastic staff, modern yet still typically Austrian décor and wonderful food served in a most beautiful restaurant with amazing views.
Vielen Dank von Familie Houghton !!!!

Room Tip: We were a party of eight (four couples) and ALL our rooms were an excellent standard with tasteful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear "unofficialholidayrep",

thank you so much for your detailed and very positive Review.

It is always great for all the staff to get a compliment like yours,
because everybody is trying the very best to satisfy our guests
and make their holiday an unforgettalbe one.

Thank you for especially mentioning our kitchen team and staff in general.

We wish you all the best and are all looking forward welcoming you again at Hotel Postwirt.

Best regards
Family BLiem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June and we were extremely satisfied. Hotel's staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was nice and comfortable and we had excellent view from our balcony.

The hotel garden with its pool was definitely a nice place to relax.

Food at the hotel's restaurant was quite good, could have been better, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear "Heidi189934",
Servus from Söll,

thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor.

We wish you a nice summer back home and
are looking forward welcoming you again at Hotel Postwirt.

Best regards
Family Bliem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff were so nice and helpful that I dont like to say anything critical so to the positives first. It's almost next to the (free local, cheap others) bus terminus - essential to go there at key times or you may not get on. The outdoor pool was nice and warm (though its closed at the first hint of rain). My room was excellent and well cleaned. It was at the front so a bit noisy particularly at weekends (it was the world cup) and the church bell goes off - long and lowd - at 6.45. Good if you want to get up for the nearly empty first bus, but not if you want to sleep in.

My main critiscm was of the food which was, I thought poor, for a 4* in Austria. There was nothing much wrong with it but Austrian food is always wonderful and I thought it was better at the last few hotels I'd been to some of which were only 2*.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Manager at Postwirt, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear John B,

thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I understand we were pretty spoiled with great reviews recently; therefore I was a little bit shocked to read of an unhappy guest.
Thank you for mentioning our nice staff.

I did a little research and asked both staff at front desk and dining area what actually was wrong. But unfortunately there was not a lot I could find out, it seems during your stay you seemed quite happy and we did ask if everything was all right. You had no complaints whatsoever towards us.
I really wished you shared your honest thoughts while being here.
We hate to have a problem leaving the house, but unfortunately we weren’t aware, I think we could have solved a lot while you were here.
It would like to go into detail about your other critics:
About the church bells: you need to understand that Austria still is quite a catholic country and ringing church bells in the morning is part of our culture and as we are located in the very centre of Soll you will hear them with windows open.

We must close down the pool area when there is the danger of a thunderstorm coming up, our
pool is made of corrosion resistant steel and I guess nobody should stay in the pool when there is thunder and lightning. When there is “just” rain the pool certainly can stay open.

Dear John B once again thank you for your review and mentioning the nice staff. It certainly is always best to share your critics face to face.

Best regards from Austria

Florian Bliem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here towards the end of the ski season (15-22/3/14), and could not fault the hotel at all. The communal areas and rooms are well appointed and clean. The large restaurant served excellent food and lots of it. Breakfast consisted of a wide hot and cold selection whilst evening meals consisted of an extensive salad buffet, starter, choice of four main courses, dessert and cheese board, so we never went hungry. A real bonus, particularly in Austria, was the provision of free water, straight from the well, so were happy to drink lots of red wine with our evening meal. We also enjoyed the stuberl bar in the old part of the hotel, with the live music, even if it was crowded and smokey. We found all the staff friendly, and we also enjoyed the excellent spa facilities. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, as its right in the centre of town with just a short walk over the road to the ski bus. Our room (104) on the front of the hotel did get some occasional noise at night from revellers returning from the Whiskey Muhle Nightclub, but nothing to keep us awake. I'm looking to return with a large group next winter, when hopefully the snow conditions will be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear "Neil F",
Servus from Söll!

Thank you very much for your nice words about Hotel Postwirt and the team.

We wish you all the best and are looking Forward welcoming you again
next winter with all your friends.

Best regards
Family Bliem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have just returned from a week's skiing in Soll Austria and the Postwirt hotel was the hotel of our choice. It is very welcoming, warm, clean and friendly. Very quiet. The food is excellent. The bedrooms are very spacious, the bathrooms are state of the art! Loved it, will certainly return to the Postwirt.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when we booked our hotel with Inghams and we were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimchrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostwirt, Inhaber at Postwirt, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear "Jimchrissurrey",
Servus from Söll,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We wish you a nice summer back home and
are looking Forward welcoming you again at Hotel Postwirt.

Best regards,
Family Bliem and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.0 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#9 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
5.3 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postwirt

Property: Postwirt
Address: Dorf 83, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#1 Spa Hotel in Soll
#1 Family Hotel in Soll
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soll
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Postwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Postwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postwirt Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing