We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Feldwebel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Feldwebel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks stay at the hotel beginning of January skiing with a large adult family group. Staff were helpfully and polite, rooms were spacious but could do with a freshen up. To be fair this has been done in a lot of the basic Austrian twin shower only rooms. Food was very good and well presented. If I was being really picky the salad bar for dinner was never really inspiring and at breakfast the hot food ran out and they had to be promoted to top it up. Some if the food was very salty but again we found this an Austrian taste thing elsewhere as well.
Lovely bath robes and slippers in the rooms but the towels were very thin and dated. Showers were great and there were low powered hair dryers in the bath rooms.
Free wifi but that was only picked up in the reception area.
For those who liked a window open at night time be prepared to be disturbed by late revellers and the church bell at 7am.
Superbly located for the Après as literally 200 metres from some of the popular venues. Bus stop outside the hotel for the gondola which run very frequently. Spacious heated ski/boot room.
Yes we would consider returning to the Feldwebel if we went again to Soll.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scarletfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    41
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have eaten in the restaurant many times - the menu has plenty of choice ranging from light meals to full on austrian winter warmers. Hearty portions and absolutely delicious. The staff are really warm and friendly. Would definitely recommend a vist.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in oct 2012. The food was gorgeous ...especially the desserts lol Our room was to the front of the hotel and the view was lovely. It had its own small balcony so I was able to sit outside ..yeah even in oct and enjoy the sunshine. The hotel is beautiful in its decor. Bed was comfortable and room was so clean. Very friendly hotel and would definentely stay there and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We won our stay here, so were very pleased that it came with a great big room and half board, which we wouldn't normally go for. Decor is 'homely' but in keeping with the Tyrolean style, the room (a 'Feldwebel room' I think) was huge with a balcony overlooking the square in front, not very noisy at night time but we were there late in the season so things had somewhat quietened down, indeed the hotel seemed less than half full. Could have done with more pillows, and dirty cups etc that we brought up from the bar weren't taken away for 2-3 days.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and the limited (or no) choice at dinner didn't matter too much due to the quality and quantity. The breakfast selection seemed to decrease in line with the number of guests - a bit unfair to the few people who were staying, and paying full rate, as the choice seemed to double when joined by a party of 10 for a couple of days.
We also suffered from the bizarre tap water rules. If you order a bottle of wine you're brought a carafe of water without asking. If you order a glass of wine you're not allowed a glass of water to go with it, you have to pay for mineral water. I thought this was odd and said so at the time. It spoiled the atmosphere somewhat that evening. Staff are generally and friendly and it is a family run place. Difficult to always find someone on reception so take your key when you go out.
It's a great location in the centre of soll, the skibus stops right outside. Ski storage in the basement is handy. The gym and sauna are good additions but we were upbraided by a naked German man for wearing swimming togs in the sauna. Not the done thing apparently!
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our Feldwebel room was large and comfortable with a great view, if a little dated in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Read all the other reviews and this hotel is exactly as stated. Warm, comfortable, endless hot water, great food-announcing I was a vegetarian in the middle of the first course presented no problem at all, secure ski room, convenient location. Lovely ski area with plenty of scope for all abilities. Would definitely return to Soll and the Hotel Feldwebel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just had a great week in Soll, at the feldwebel, apart from the resort being absolutely fabulous, the hotel was just perfect for us. My brother myself and two friends stayed here in march and it was exactly what we needed, clean, efficient with great food, great staff, Eva's a star, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

..doesn't stack up with the PostWirt over the road for service and quality of food. Watch out for tap water request in residents dining room. Only available if bottle if wine purchased! Bizarre management restriction. Purchased mineral water offered as alternative!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residenz Theresa
Residenz Theresa
#15 of 20 in Soll
13 reviews
5.3 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
AlpenSchloessl Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Feldwebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Feldwebel

Property: Hotel Feldwebel
Address: Dorf 73, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#4 Family Hotel in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Feldwebel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Feldwebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feldwebel Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing