We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and Great stay”
Review of Ferienhotel Fuchs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferienhotel Fuchs
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at the Ferienhotel Fuchs in the last week of January as part of our Nielsen package. I have to admit that it was with some trepidation after reading some of the earlier reviews; however any reservations were unfounded. The Fuchs family and members of staff really looked after us. We were seated in the main dining hall for all our meals; meals offered were varied and lovingly cooked and presented, with each table having to choose the options for dinner at breakfast. I have to admit that my GCSE German did come in handy; although most members of staff speak English quite fluently. The bedroom although not the largest; was warm and comfortable with superb mountain views and spotlessly clean. My only negative for ski hotel would be a lack of drying facilities in the room for wet ski clothing. Paid a lot more for less in other resorts, and will definitely stay in the Ferienhotel Fuchs again next time I come to Söll.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel have great mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiggerThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday in Soll staying at the Fuchs. Had a brilliant time. Hotel was great. The rooms were an ok size, cleaned daily. Staff were really friendly and helpful. I'm a veggie and the food was great I couldn't fault it. I can't praise the hotel enough. There was loads of entertainment and the Fire show on the last night was really good, I was very impressed. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samcroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just got back from a wonderful skiing holiday in Söll, staying 7 nights at the Ferienhotel Fuchs on a half board basis. The Fuchs family are very much in the hospitality business, with several generations in evidence, supported by an enthusiastic and capable team. Everyone seemed really happy to work there - I've never seen so many genuine smiles from staff before. The hotel has a programme of themed evenings throughout the week such as Welcome evening, Apres Ski, Fondue etc. The highlight of these was Herr Fuchs Jnr doing his Fire Show.
We were seated in the main dining room, and had the same table all week. This is great as you know you don't have to fight for space. The waitresses were all very attentive, with a great sense of humour. The food was excellent and does not just consist of pork as someone here commented. We were served pork, veal, venison, chicken and beef as well as being offered several fish courses. One of our friends was vegetarian and she was offered a daily alternative. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and with plenty of space for storage. The decor was cosy although a little fussy for my taste. The rooms were cleaned and tidied daily, there is a cable TV with BBC World channel available as well as CNN and a few other English speaking news channels. The bathroom a fantastic shower with loads of pressure and hot water! We also had a shared balcony which was handy for keeping the drinks chilled. There are not any tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, but this is only a 3 Star hotel after all. We didn't use the sauna or ski locker, but these facilities are all there if you need them. We did use the bar - it is not permanently manned but if you ring the little cow-bell by the beer pumps it usually attracts their attention, as does the desk bell if there is no one on reception. We used the lounge and TV area and found the staff very attentive at keeping the drinks flowing. So all in all, a very comfy, cosy and pleasant place to come back to after a day on the mountain. What really sets it aside is the fact it is family owned and run, the Fuchs really do delight in getting things right. A request at reception for second pillows for our room was carried out by the the time we got back after dinner. We were also offered a carry out breakfast for our early morning departure - again, cos we asked. Try out a little German as well - it goes a long way. The only thing it lacks is a swimming pool to help stretch those tired muscles at the end of the day! But other than that, its lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michduncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Ferienhotel Fuchs in February 2012. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were able to check in early even though we had arrived before midday. The food was delicious, there was always a good choice and the quality was excellent. Both of our children ate well with no complaints, which was amazing!!!! The atmosphere in the hotel was very friendly and relaxed which added to our wonderful ski trip to Soll. We agree with the top tip mentioned in another review, hire your skis at the lift station and store your skis and boots there too in the heated ski garage. Putting on heated ski boots first thing in the morning is a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony, they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LG142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The room we had was lovely. In the new bit of the hotel but far away from the dreaded walkway through. I can see that this could be a problem as we were conscious walking across it to reach the restaurant at how much the noise echoed around - I wouldn't have wanted a room nearby. Clean rooms, spacious and we could have had a party in ours! lovely bathroom and boiling hot water any time of day. Food varied and good on the whole - only complaint was that as part of Neilsen Ski Company it is customary to segregate the guests into a wooden nook with no windows - if not for the company of others also segregated into the naughty room it would have been quite lonesome. You also tended to get a bit forgotten in this room and at least 3 different waiters/waitresses would ask the same question - do you want your main meal - YES! Also not a prude but if you're going to use the sauna or steamroom be prepared for unhygenic fellow users who don't believe in sitting on a towel therefore believing you want to share their sweat. This needs to be enforced by the hotel owners - certainly didn't fancy sitting on the same seats without it being thoroughly disinfected first!
Not far from the main town, definitely a nice walk first thing in the morning although the ski bus stops right outside if you want. Not recommended to do in your boots so leave these at the ski rental or gondola, not expensive and saves lugging it all with you. Ski rental really helpful and nothing too much trouble. Not too expensive on the slopes either and the food looked very nice - recommend the ice village for a glass or two of gluvine.

Room Tip: Stay away from the link corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed the last week in Feb & arrived on a Sunday night. We paid Sat to Sat as that was the only booking option. We stayed in room 113 - If you are put in this room and have any trouble sleeping, your in big trouble. As its beside the newer part of the hotel it seems to join the old & new by a "runway" made of the loudest material in the world because as people bash along in their ski boots to their rooms - room 113 actually shakes. Voices echo, morning after morning and the same in the evening kids screaming tearing up & down the corridors. We felt we were in the middle of a tube station.

The room (113) itself is tiny, a small table then a modern wardrobe and then the toilet door. It literally is a box maybe at most 11ft by 11ft. It is also at the back so any arrives after 12 - Well you'll know of all the comings & goings as the sensor light is under the room... Finally fall asleep to be awoke by the lights.

We Unfortunately didn't have hot water 3 of the nights - just Luke warm & the other 2 we had cold. Not ideal after a long day skiing when your longing for a shower.

Although at breakfast seating was to be allocated, we didn't have one and so we were slotted wherever they could fit us. Our stay was Half board but we passed on the dinner as it was inexpensive to eat out. In praise for the staff, the room was cleaned every single day. The beds are very comfortable & the bedding was clean & soft.

We think because we checked in on the Sunday we got the last room or the worst room as the case was. We did look in on another room as it was being cleaned on checking out day & it looked to be allot larger. The size of our room wasn't the big problem if you will excuse the pun - It was more the traffic of people walking pass and the noise level. Without sounding like a total crank it always astonishes me that people will let their kids scream running up and down corridors of hotels. One time is fine but in our hotel they just ran up and down shouting and screaming!

The hotel itself is a quick 7- 10 min walk into the town. It's not as far out as I was led to believe but if you have ski's and boots your best to leave them at the gondola station (They have a boot warmer) or if you are a learner at the shop at the bunny slope (Only costs about 8 euro for the week) The ski buses are always packed in the morning so if you have no ski's and boots the walk up is nice in the morning.

There is a fab Italian restaurant Giovanni's just a 5 mins walk away. Don't drink the tap water in the restaurants - They will tell you it's okay to drink! It's not!
We hired all our ski equipment from Snow and fun in the town - Great Irish guy called Graham looked after us, really friendly.

It's a fantastic town and great Apres Ski. If you are half board and want to eat out. It wont break the bank. We will 100% be back in Soll next season. We just wont be in staying the Ferienhotel Fuchs!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 113 - Ive attached a floor plan of our hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snoozerface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just come back from a fabulous skiing holiday in Soll. We were a bit dubious about how far out of town the hotel was but we needn't have worried. There were plenty of ski buses throughout the morning and again in the afternoon, but mostly we walked to the ski hire centre / gondola. It really wasn't that far and it gave us a chance to 'warm up' before going out skiing. In the evening it was a pleasant stroll back through Soll, allowing us to stop off at a bar for the odd Gluwein!
As someone else pointed out - a top tip is to put your skis / boots in the garage either at the ski hire shop by the gondola or at the Stoll hire shop so you don't have to carry them back to the hotel. It was certainly the best 8 Euros (per person) for one week we spent!
Back at the hotel the room we had was spacious and comfortable. It was a bit smoky when we got there even though the rooms are supposed to be no smoking - perhaps someone had been smoking on the balcony with the door open, not sure.
The meals were good and tasty and the drinks very reasonably priced. The only downside was that we too were placed in the small snug area by reception and service was a bit slow and chaotic on some occasions. The fondue did take ages to arrive and get going but overall it was ok. We were placed on a table with 2 other families which worked out really well. However it could have been a nightmare had we not got on so well.
Overall Soll is a fabulous place to go skiing - it did help with the vast quantities of snow there was - and we would certainly consider going back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sialianddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.3 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#15 of 20 in Soll
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Greil
Hotel Greil
#7 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Fuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Fuchs

Address: Pirchmoos 36, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Price Range: £87 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferienhotel Fuchs 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferienhotel Fuchs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Fuchs Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing