We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross between Fawlty Towers and The Mary Celeste!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Reviewed 4 February 2013

When we first arrived the whole of the reception area was empty nobody about at all. We rang and rang and rang the bell but know one! My hubby had to search the hotel for a member of staff even going into the kitchens! Finally he found Mr Moedlinger with no apolgy he came down to reception and said he was watching the skiing on tv!
He then told us that we had to put our skis straight into the boot room. We told him we had clothes wrapped around them and we would bring them straight down as we unpacked he said no and made us unpack them in reception!!! How rude is that! I did inform him that I would be taking them to my room to pack for the journey home so don't even go there! He tried the same trick with our boots but by then I was having none of it I told him I weould bring them down when ready.
One of the evenings in the hotel is fondue evening and we came down to dinner and Mr Moedlinger (Basil Fawlty!) told us ,yes told us we had to sit with another couple (complete strangers!) as he did not have enough fondues. I told him absolutely not if I wanted to do that I would have stayed in a chalet! He never apologised and we never ate that night.
I think this owner has forgotten who the customer is and is set in his own little world. The hotel is very very pleasant but has absolutely no atmosphere and you get the feeling he doesnt really want you there.
Reception is like the Mary Celeste there is never ever anyone there so you can gain no information your keys sit there unguarded so anyone can come along and take you key. The bar never has anyone in it and there is never any apre ski coffee etc.
I get the feeling he just wants your money without the service. His staff are nice and the food was good but a bit repetative but I would not stay here again absolutely no atmosphere and no quality of service!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bowdenperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed at the Modlinger for a ski trip in Jan 2013. Its located about 10-15 minutes walk from the gondola station and the ski bus stops right outside. Most people left ski gear at the gondola and did the walk in regular shoes. Rooms are clean with very comfortable beds and linen. Bathroom was in need of some TLC but totally functional. Evening meals are plentiful and of a mostly decent standard. The self service salad bar and cheese board are excellent. A good selection of meats, eggs, cheese, cereal and breads are avaliable every morning for breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Especially Kevin and his girlfriend behind the lounge bar, who gave us some great tips to get the most out of the resort.
The only bad point is the baffling lack of coffee at the end of your evening meal. I you want some, you have to go downstairs to the bar, pay extra for it, then bring it back up to your table yourself (despite it being freely avaliable in unlimited quanties during breakfast).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redfoxjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent Christmas in this hotel.After reading some of the reviews we were a bit wary but we were pleasantly surprised.The food was excellent and the service was friendly and polite. The room was big and extremely comfortable and clean with a lovely balcony. We asked for extra pillows and got them immediately.Sarah in the restaurant and Kevin in the bar were excellent and helped us with any questions we had about the resort.
The location was perfect as a bus stopped outside the door but we left our ski and boots in the Stoll garage at the base of the slopes[ €8 a week] and walked to and from the slopes every day.
We had no problem whatsoever with Mr. Modlinger. He made a big effort Christmas eve with the meal and the lighting of the Christmas tree.People don't go on a skiing holiday to chat to the owner !!
We didn't really like soll as a skiing resort though but if we could transport the hotel to another resort we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellie55Tralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Soll isn't big and therefore even Moedlinger is even close to the lifts. We left our skies at the lifts and walked in every morning which was taking us about 10-15min.
The staff and owner in the hotel are very friendly and speak english as well, not always and everywhere in Austria. Rooms were clean, a bit dated and we had a small balcony with a spectacular view over Soll. The only disadvantage was the very limited size of the bathroom, more a showerarea with a toilet next to it.
Food was nice, Mr. Moedlinger intents to have some theme evenings, so there's a fondue evening which was all very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dance_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We are a family of four and have just returned from a week’s stay at the Mӧdlinger Hotel. We had read earlier reviews and were a little unsure what to expect – but we have to say we found the entire experience to be excellent. The hotel is very clean with pleasant decor and a very relaxing atmosphere. Both of the bedrooms we occupied were comfortable and clean with facilities as advertised, except that one room did not have a balcony – contrary to the brochure description. The other room had a large balcony with lovely views of the mountains from two sides of the hotel (all the views from the hotel were very scenic). Evening meals were excellent with a varied menu each day - we particularly enjoyed the Fondue. We were given our own table and were never rushed – we would generally take around two hours as it was good food and a pleasant atmosphere. The cold buffet breakfast provided plenty of choice and there were no shortages as stocks were immediately replenished when they ran low. All the staff without exception were very friendly and efficient and Herr Mӧdlinger was polite and pleasant. We also enjoyed the comfortable bar/lounge area and after a day’s skiing found the hotel a very welcoming place to come back to and spend the evening. A couple of points for skiers – use the ski garages at the base of the slopes to store your gear (9 Euros per week ) and don’t bother with the buses as it is quicker to walk - very pleasant through Sӧll centre (without ski boots) and only about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony despite what your brochure may tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just spent a week with my husband and 2 teenagers over New Year at this hotel. The rooms were very comfy, always clean. They were warm and there was plenty of hot water. The evening meal was a set meal each night and was varied and always plentiful, enough to satisfy an 18 year old!! The staff were very helpful and cheerful and I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

5 of us stayed here the Christmas week 2012, ages varied from 17yrs - 57yrs. We arrived off the coach to be met by Herbert the owner who welcomed us to his hotel. He is a man of very few words and , we found during our stay he doesnt engage in chit-chat generally unless you approach him- then he is ok.
Our rooms were adequate, warm, and comfortable. Asked for extra pillows which we were given straight away. Cleaning lady was lovely and as another reviewer stated she was "Mrs Overall" look alikey. Only problem was that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room which would have been nice instead of having to find a waitress and ask for cups of tea all the time. This became a tad annoying as you felt restricted when you wanted a drink. Charges were quite high for extra tea/coffee which we found at the end of the week when we received our charges.
Cash was also requested as no cards were accepted................wonder why?????? I will leave that for othere to speculate on.
Food wise, not a lot of choice for vegetariens, omellettes or cheese on toast..or one evening a turkey curry was offered! ha with pasta. Mostly the food was ok. Salads were fresh and varied each evening as a starter. Soft drinks at the table were very expensive so we tended to have water with meals.
Our teenagers found the hotel very boring....resembled an old peoples home, not very welcoming. Games that were in the hotel were very old, over used and not very exciting. You dont always want to go out pubbing every night after a hards days sking.
No-one on reception to greet you at all most of the time which made it less inviting. If you came back early it was deserted of staff.
As far as the Christmas decor was concerned it was very very minimal. Lovely Xmas tree in the Restaurant but everywhere else hardly a bauble in site.It would have been nice to have had a large decorated Christmas tree in the foyer when you returned from a days skiing like all the other hotels around. Looked a bit "Scrooge like"
Our experience on the whole was good but, I dont think we will stay at this particular hotel again in Soll.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.2 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#14 of 20 in Soll
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moedlinger Hotel & Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moedlinger Hotel & Sport

Address: Dorfbichl 30, Soll 6306, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Hotel Class:3 star — Moedlinger Hotel & Sport 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Moedlinger Hotel And Sport
Modlinger Hotel Soll
Modlinger Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing