We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect ski holiday”
Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jakobwirt
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2011

stayed late february with inghams.great location ,central for everything. room clean and good facilities. hotel traditional ,nice lounge area . resturaunt good, special praise to the staff,very helpfull and friendly at all times .food very tasty with good choice and would do slight variations on the menu without hesitation.hotel bar was bonus in basement ,the scottish barman was excellent, always welcoming.pool nice but opened later than advertised. westendorf is an extremely welcoming village.,excellent bars where the staff are very friendly, go in once and they remember you for rest of week always willing to talk in good english,huge ski area well linked.for a ski resort very good value prices in bars

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 15GREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Christmas as it should be,peaceful , not commercial and a chance to celebrate with our hosts on Christmas Eve the birthday of their Mother. After the birthday celebrations we all enjoyed a Lovely meal and to round off the evening we were all given a bottle of wine
and traditional gifts for children in little sacks from under the tree.
The hotel was every bit as good as we had hoped friendy,welcoming,good food etc.
Will be back

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We're just back from another year at the Jakobwirt and enjoyed it as much as previous times. While we were there, we were trying to think what it is about this hotel that's different from the others we have stayed at in Austria and eventually we worked it out - the place genuinely is welcoming, the staff are all friendly, but most importantly of all you *don't* get the feeling (which we've got in a few other places) that the owner just wants to sit at the bar with his cronies and the restaurant is 'ashamed' of the tour group tables and reserves pride of place for locals and high paying tourists.

In the Jakobwirt you really do feel at home, the food is good (are there no chickens in Austria though . . . ?), the bar is friendly.

After dinner in the evenings we tended to gravitate towards the bar downstairs - run by a guy from Scotland called Campbell. Again, the welcome definitely seemed genuine, children and families were more than welcome and the music was a nice change from either the yodel-eeeey-eee-ooo stuff in other bars or the weird 80s Miami Vice stuff they play up the slopes. Oh, and the bar recently went no smoking, which I gather is a first in Westendorf. We went out for a snack in another restaurant the day we arrived and our children really disliked it when someone lit up a cigarette beside us. No chance of this happening in Campbells. A definite plus.

The hotel has a pool, but the hours were a little restrictive. If you finish on the slopes early you can't go in for a swim, and by the time the pool is open everyone is down from the slopes and it gets busy. In general terms, though, the pool and sauna were fine.

I found the noise from the streets a little much some evenings, though I guess the hotel can't be blamed for that one.

Location-wise the hotel is pretty central. It's near the ski hire shops and the nursery slopes, although a little bit of a walk (maybe 5-10 minutes) from the main Alpenrosenbahn which brings you up the slopes properly.

From the resort you can ski through to Brixen, Soll, Elmau on one side and Kitzbuhel (with a 4 or 5 minute bus transfer) on the other side, so it's very well connected.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Another fantastic holiday at the jakobwirt hotel westendorf. A very warm welcome from the management and staff who make you feel at home immediately. A member of staff is always on duty to answer any questions you may have regarding skiing ,travel etc. All rooms are tastefully furnished and cleaned daily with fresh towels if requested. Excellent restuarant with a varied menu and a good selection of fine Austrian wines. The hotel also has a super kellar bar with an austrian atmosphere for apres ski or evening entertainment. Located in the centre of the village and a few minutes from the ski tows. What more can one ask for on a skiing holiday

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2westwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The Jakobwirt hotel is a beautiful hotel to stay in, immaculate, so very clean and wonderfully traditional. The service is excellent, the food delicious and plentiful, all the staff are polite and attentive. The owners are 3 sisters who are, very professional but are also very lovely, and they care about their customers. I, my boyfriend and our two friends have stayed in the Jakobwirt for the last 3 years and have just booked to stay again in 2012.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaPWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This is a typically Austrian hotel furnished in the simple, traditional style of the region so do not expect upmarket swish and modern. We grew to like the style as the week progressed!
The hotel is immacutely clean in every aspect - I regard this to be top of my list when looking for somewhere to lodge.
Our room faced onto the fabulous church and the mountains (yes the bells ring regularly during the day from 7am - but not during the night -it makes a nice change and we got used to it.
I would describe the room as furnished sparcely. Twin austrian beds with duvets and 1 pillow each (we asked for extra ones and it was no bother at all) 1 free standing wardrobe, bedside cabinet and a table with two dining chairs but no comfy chairs to lounge around in. The TV, which was a small portable one, sat on a luggage rack to the right of the bed, near the bedside cabinet so was almost impossible to see whilst in bed and we couldn't move it. There was only one English channel, BBC World News.

The bathroom was lovely with lots of room, a powerful shower over the bath and good overhead halogen lighting. The towels were small and a little old but changed daily if you required - so don't expect capacious and fluffy!
There was a little vestibule outside the bedroom for ski gear etc and an additional door onto the bedroom which blocked out any noise, though I would describe the hotel as 'quiet' and no rabble rousing in the corridors which was a delight!
The breakfast was adequate, typical selection of pastries, cheeses/meat, cereals, rolls etc. The hot breafast was either boiled eggs or scrambled eggs.
We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal( usually 5 courses including salad) it was always hot, plenty of it and generally of an excellent standard.
The three Ziepl sisters were always on hand to accommodate any needs and were very friendly and attentive. If you don't ski I would recommend having lunch in the hotel as it is very reasonable in comparison to other eateries in the village.
You will be glad to hear that 'tap water' was served during the evening meal if requested and it was not only delicious but free. Too many hotels insist on you buying bottled water or charge for jugs of tap water and you have a hefty bill at the end of the week.

There is a Spar and Billa supermarket within 100 yds of the hotel and they are reasonably priced. Locl buses travel regularly to Kitzbuhel, it's worth a visit if only to people watch! 3 euros one way.
A mention for young Katya on reception who speaks very good English and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. She is an excellent ambassador for the hotel.

On the whole a very enjoyable stay at this well run family hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THE-SCULLERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We have just returned from the Hotel Jakobwirt where we stayed for 11 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Daniela on reception and Heidi in the restaurant. The quality of the room was excellent, with amazing views. The service overall was excellent and the food quality was second to none. Westendorf is a very beautiful village and is full of character. We would have no hesitation in going back and fully intend to do so. Go and see it for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jg07082014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
155 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#6 of 7 in Westendorf
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windau Lodge
Windau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Westendorf
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £104 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing