We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jakobwirt
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is absolutely excellent, in my opinion. It is clean and well-kept; the staff, without exception are all truly polite, friendly and hard-working.
The food is excellent. We were never overfaced with piles of food, but were presented with extremely tasty meals, cooked to perfection. The cold potato salad is a must. The pumpkin soup is absolutely scrummy! Breakfasts are plentiful and offer a lot of choice, cereals, fruit, cheeses and meats, eggs etc. You won't go hungry!
Anna Marie and her staff are all very attentive and give everything their personal touch.
The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily.
The pool is lovely too, very clean and tidy and it was great to cool down in there after a day in the extreme 36 degree heat!!
We would love to return next year; Westerndorf is a lovely village with a nice sedate social scene. It's lovely to sit in a bar, with a cool beer watching the world go by. We didn't encounter any rowdy groups of drunks; instead one evening at a brass band concert in the village at the bandstand, there were all sorts of ages, elderley to children, teenagers too, all enjoying the evening, ( could not imagine such a scene in the UK!)
The Tyrolean evening at the village hall was also a great evening; big strapping Austrians in leather lederhosen!
A truly lovely and memorable holiday.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoosieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for making the effort to give our HOTEL is wonderfull right up and compliments
to all our staff. We are all trying to give the best .
Best wishes , have a good year and we are waiting to welcome you again.
Kindest regards - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    31
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
61
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Was just reviewing my summer holiday hotel that I booked while staying here in January. Had slipped a disk in UK and skied unknowingly, mistake! The lovely owner/manager arranged for me to see an osteopath or similar while incapacitated. Ruined the skiing, but, hey ho...

This hotel is more traditional on the inside than the outer would lead you to believe. We had a nice view of the church and square as well. It's a bit of a track to the slopes, especially if you have done yourself in! But once there the lift takes you right in to a good starting point and a cracking mountaintop restaurant. We had a car and planned to do a selection of resorts on the AllStar pass so location wasn't too much of an issue. Having stayed in Kitz a couple of times and Soll the previous year, Westendorf was a bit quieter, and 'Dutch' but very acceptable.

Hotel food was nice, fairly traditional, and well presented. Austrian breakfast rolls lovely as ever, dinner cheese selection also very nice. Staff often in classic dress which added some authenticity.
In fact the family run beats the tour company run every time in this case.

Room was not huge, but certainly comparable to other ski accommodation and bath water was good and hot. I know, my back spent several hours in it one particular day!

Boot room for ski kit, with access to road up a flight of stairs, could be a bit slippy, but otherwise ok. Also a pool which we didn't have the time for, but looked nice and clean.

Worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

First time in austria and i had great holiday. the people in this hotel made everyone welcome treated as one of the family. The food was super and plenty, rooms were clean and the swimming pool lovely alpine water. I hope to return soon

Room Tip: ask for a balcony the view is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guests and friends !

Man thanks for your nice write up. We are very happy beeing able to introtuce
you to Austria successfull.
Best wishes and hope you welcome you again.
Family Ziepl and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Spent a week at Hotel Jakobwirt and enjoyed it. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location in the centre of the village and close to the bus stop to take you to Kitzbuhle and beyond.

On the negative side the bed in my room seemed extremely short - I'm only 5' 6" or so but my feet hung off the end of it - and the food was pretty stodgy although tasty enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Mrs. Susan,
Thank you for making the effort to write this comment.
One thing for us that is very difficult to understand the complaint about the length of your bed.
On the continent ( so are ours ) all beds have 2m length and if we knew your wish we would have been able to offer a room with bed length of 2,20 m and no foot end. ( we have 2 of those rooms ) !!
Sorry to hear you found our food stodgy. I do agree a 5 course dinner might be so .
Not having made any comments to us, our most helpfull staff nor to your representative -
we were not able to offer dinners suitable for you.
Maby on your next holiday you will put your special requests down - so we ( and all our collegues ) will have a chance to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible.
Best wishes from the Jakobwirt Hotel - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just back last night from the jakobwirt and had a lovely holiday. The hotel was clean, staff always helpful, food was very tasty (choice of 3 main courses) with a set starter and sweet plus the salad buffet and cheese board. The pool was very nice and clean. The bedroom was good with balcony overlooking the hills and the bathroom compact , all again very clean. Got a three day pass which enabled us to go up the cable cars and get buses along the valley, well worth it. All in all couldn't fault anything about hotel or holiday. The weather was kind to us which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank langgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Great tohear you had a good holiday with us.
Thank you for your effort ,writting this in tripadvisor. Very important for all of us.
best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay at the Jakobwirt. Couldn't fault anything about this hotel. We had a lovely traditional room on the third floor, which was spotlessly clean. Every member of staff was very friendly and welcoming and looked after us very well. The food was exceptional and very tasty every night. Westendorf itself is a charming village. Thank you very much family Ziepl - we are looking forward to our next visit to your wonderful hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandJeanette_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear friends,
very happy to hear you have enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you so much
for this nice write up.
Best wishes and hope to welocme you again.
Kindest regards - Family Ziepl and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

just back from a fantastic holiday stayed in this hotel . management and staff very friendly did everything to make our stay wonderful lovely clean rooms and good food would go back again.to sportshotel jakobwirt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 182sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your very nice write up. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Have a good year and we hope to welocme you again !!
Annemarie with Family Ziepl and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westendorf hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#5 of 7 in Westendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windau Lodge
Windau Lodge
#1 of 30 in Westendorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mesnerwirt
Hotel Mesnerwirt
#7 of 27 in Westendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Property: Hotel Jakobwirt
Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing