We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday was had by all.”
Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jakobwirt
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a week in this hotel ,food was great location was excellent and the family made you feel so special.We meet some really nice people who go back year after year but now I know why it was excellent from beginning to end. Room 307 was bril waking up looking out to the mountains every morning loved it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Ladies,
Thank you for your compliments, we are happy to hear you did enjoy your holiday with us.
Sorry for the wheather but I have to say you were best prepared.
Best wishes from here and maby we have a chance to welcome you again.
Annemarie Ziepl and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jakobwirt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Sporthotel Jacobwirt for a week in early September and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is one of the few remaining genuinely family run establishments we have visited and this engenders a feeling of hospitality towards their guests. The hotel is immaculately clean and although the rooms (at least the standard ones) are simple they provide a good level of comfort and everything works as it should. The food is excellent - we were on a half board package and the breakfast certainly set us up for the day! Dinner was unfailingly delicious with 4 courses every night including a self service salad selection and help yourself cheese board for anyone with spare capacity after the generous preceding courses! The dining room operates on a combination of table service and buffet and the staff are charming, attentive without being overbearing, and more than happy to accede to individual requests wherever possible.

Sadly we were not particularly lucky with the weather but the area has some splendid walks and majestic mountain views, and the Jacobwirt has a very nice indoor pool and a sauna so we were not deprived of or daily dip!

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending the Jacobwirt as a friendly, well run hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies ... nice to have one if the weather is good, so suggest you request one...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Mr.Mrs. White,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your holidday with us.
Thank you so much letting us know and also this compliment to all our staff.
Best wishes and we hope to welcome you again. Annemarie Ziepl and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Have literally just got back from a week in Westendorf, staying at the Jacobwirt. What a lovely hotel. Typically Austrian with all the wooden beams, window boxes beautifully decorated. The accommodation was first class and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Loved the food, (beer.....) and everything about the place. Lucky that we had beautiful weather with temperatures in the mid 20's which made the walking great. Plenty of excursions available if you want but we decided to walk and ride on the chairlifts surrounding and had a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidworledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Mr.Mrs. Worledge,
We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable holiday with us.
The weather this week was also very good and so all looks different in sunshine.
We like to be here any other time and best wishes from here to you.
Annemarie Ziepl and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for a week in this Hotel run by three sisters. All were very friendly and helpful as were the staff. We were disappointed with our room 320 on the top floor as it was dark very hot and had only uncomfortable U shaped bench seating. We were shown another room which was too small and seating like a school desk for two. The problem of the seating was cured by putting in a comfortable chair. We could not cool the room down despite open door to the balcony and a further window. The duvets were too heavy for summer. Sleeping was difficult with the heat. The carpet in the room was shabby. The bathroom was modern and very good. The 1st night there was no choice of main course on the other evenings either two or three courses all other courses no choice. The food is generally good we had only one poor main course in the week. it is straight forward cooking suitable for most people and you do know what you re eating. The breakfasts were standard continental style and were good.The Hotel is very quiet in the evening and it would seem most people turn in early. There is only one English channel on TV BBC World. With satellite service the way it is today and the variety of different languages it is easier to give more choice. One boring news channel is not good enough. We were on a bargain trip from Scotland and must say it was good value but if paying the normal full cost it would not be as good. The weather was very good and the scenery superb. We did enjoy ourselves and that was the main thing

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is absolutely excellent, in my opinion. It is clean and well-kept; the staff, without exception are all truly polite, friendly and hard-working.
The food is excellent. We were never overfaced with piles of food, but were presented with extremely tasty meals, cooked to perfection. The cold potato salad is a must. The pumpkin soup is absolutely scrummy! Breakfasts are plentiful and offer a lot of choice, cereals, fruit, cheeses and meats, eggs etc. You won't go hungry!
Anna Marie and her staff are all very attentive and give everything their personal touch.
The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily.
The pool is lovely too, very clean and tidy and it was great to cool down in there after a day in the extreme 36 degree heat!!
We would love to return next year; Westerndorf is a lovely village with a nice sedate social scene. It's lovely to sit in a bar, with a cool beer watching the world go by. We didn't encounter any rowdy groups of drunks; instead one evening at a brass band concert in the village at the bandstand, there were all sorts of ages, elderley to children, teenagers too, all enjoying the evening, ( could not imagine such a scene in the UK!)
The Tyrolean evening at the village hall was also a great evening; big strapping Austrians in leather lederhosen!
A truly lovely and memorable holiday.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoosieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for making the effort to give our HOTEL is wonderfull right up and compliments
to all our staff. We are all trying to give the best .
Best wishes , have a good year and we are waiting to welcome you again.
Kindest regards - Annemarie Ziepl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Was just reviewing my summer holiday hotel that I booked while staying here in January. Had slipped a disk in UK and skied unknowingly, mistake! The lovely owner/manager arranged for me to see an osteopath or similar while incapacitated. Ruined the skiing, but, hey ho...

This hotel is more traditional on the inside than the outer would lead you to believe. We had a nice view of the church and square as well. It's a bit of a track to the slopes, especially if you have done yourself in! But once there the lift takes you right in to a good starting point and a cracking mountaintop restaurant. We had a car and planned to do a selection of resorts on the AllStar pass so location wasn't too much of an issue. Having stayed in Kitz a couple of times and Soll the previous year, Westendorf was a bit quieter, and 'Dutch' but very acceptable.

Hotel food was nice, fairly traditional, and well presented. Austrian breakfast rolls lovely as ever, dinner cheese selection also very nice. Staff often in classic dress which added some authenticity.
In fact the family run beats the tour company run every time in this case.

Room was not huge, but certainly comparable to other ski accommodation and bath water was good and hot. I know, my back spent several hours in it one particular day!

Boot room for ski kit, with access to road up a flight of stairs, could be a bit slippy, but otherwise ok. Also a pool which we didn't have the time for, but looked nice and clean.

Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First time in austria and i had great holiday. the people in this hotel made everyone welcome treated as one of the family. The food was super and plenty, rooms were clean and the swimming pool lovely alpine water. I hope to return soon

Room Tip: ask for a balcony the view is superb
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear guests and friends !

Man thanks for your nice write up. We are very happy beeing able to introtuce
you to Austria successfull.
Best wishes and hope you welcome you again.
Family Ziepl and all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#5 of 7 in Westendorf
18 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windau Lodge
Windau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Westendorf
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £109 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing