We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not perfect”
Review of Hotel Schermer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schermer
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our room was spacious, with good storage facilities. The balcony was excellent for smokers, like ourselves. There was only a shower, no bath and no bidet.
At first we found the food to be good, but by the second week, it was beginning to be rather repetitive. We thought that there was an excess of pasta, described by the hotel as noodles. Wines were extremely expensive, even for Austria.
The hotel is just outside the main area of the village and as such, very quiet and peaceful.
It is only a short walk to the local cable car to the mountain.
Entertainment, which we considered average, was provided by local musicians.

The best feature of the hotel was the staff, who, with only one exception, were friendly
and went out of their way to be helpful.

















The best feature of the hotel was the staff, who, with only one exception

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and taken to the bar for our complimentary drink before being shown to our room. We couldn't fault the room - looked like it had been recently refurbished and was very comfortable. We had a nice balcony and view of the slopes as well.

Breakfast was extensive and we particularly liked the fact that eggs and bacon were freshly prepared whilst you waited rather than sitting under a heat lamp. The free afternoon buffet was the most extensive we have ever experienced and the service in the lounge was faultless. Evening meals were fine although personally I don't enjoy buffets and this was the option on 2 nights out of 7. I wouldn't say the food was excellent but it was perfectly acceptable and plentiful. The wine list was good and not too pricey.

Unfortunately for us, there was an extremely large party of adults and children in the hotel and I don't feel that the hotel gets the balance right in ensuring that couples and groups alike are able to enjoy the facilities. Although couples were all seated together at one end of of the dining area, the group of around 40 took over the rest of the room. They were extremely noisy and prone to bursting into song and shouting across tables to each other - at times it was very difficult to carry out a conversation ourselves without shouting. This definitely affected our enjoyment of the evening as food/ambience is an important part of our overall holiday.

Worse than this was the situation in the Spa area. The swimming pool is open until 10pm but unlike other ski hotels they do not restrict it to adults only after, say, 6.30pm. The steam/sauna area was meant to be restricted to over 14s only but again this rule was flauted. Staff did ask children to leave but they simply reappeared after 7pm when all the staff in the Spa went off duty. Therefore what should have been a relaxing experience after a hard day skiing became somewhat fraught - on one occasion a father and his 3 children were having a water fight in the shower area of the so-called 'relaxation area'.

Inevitably skiing does attract large parties however other hotels seem to manage things better so that all parties can have an equally good time.

So, in summary whilst I think the hotel and staff are very good, I would hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

My family & I have stayed in this hotel for our winter vacation (Dec 18th-Dec 24th). The hotel’s staffs were friendly and would not spare an effort in assisting you. We have stayed in a suite and a superior room which both were spacious and flawless. The hotel has a great location with a few minutes walk to the slope. The food was good and fresh though it was limited to a few choices. If you are traveling with a family, this is definitely the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I have brought my family to this hotel 5 times in the last 7 years. My 2 boys absolutely love this hotel for it's ambience and very friendly staff. Hotel facilities are excellent with indoor/outdoor pool and wellness center. Food is superb this is by far the best hotel in Westendorf situated 4/5 mins walk from the slopes. Westendorf is small village with good skiing and is well linked to other skiing areas for the more advanced skiers. This hotel and Westendorf offer great value when it comes to skiing holidays (as it is not a cheap holiday). Kitzbuehl is 20 mins away and is great for shopping and restaurants I have recommended this hotels to many of my friends who have all had similar experiences to our family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel, set in a nice resort, did not quite live up to its billing. In all family run hotels the tone has to set by its owner. Although good-humoured we found him a bit frivolous with the guests. He joined in the serving of the dinner on a couple of occasions and added nothing to the evening by making silly throw away comments like "here is your dinner, whatever it is." Most of the staff in the dining area tried very hard as we battled constantly against the large number of flies. We complained about these but were told that it is a continuous problem to which there was no solution. The tables in the dining room were set too close together restricting privacy. The evening of live entertainment was a group of tired old men playing retro music; this was a deeply embarrassing. Reception staff were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jertax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stay at the Schermer every year and will continue to do so. The rooms are lovely, the location excellent and the staff friendly. However, Herr Schermer really needs to decide whether he wants his hotel to be a beautiful, sophisticated spa hotel or a children's playground. Unfortunately we hit the week of Dutch half term and the usually quiet village was swamped and the hotel was drowning in badly behaved children and parents. The children screamed all day and all night in every part of the hotel. They took their toys and sit on cars into the dining room, they trod water from the pool into the lift right up until midnight. They ran screaming around the bar constantly. Even when indulging in a spa treatment in a closed room you could hear them. If you wanted to use the pool without being dive bombed, forget it. The hotel made no effort to keep the children at bay, and they never do. You just need to be prepared for it.
The food remains mediocre, so it was no hardship to eat out almost every night, but we shouldn't have to. Of course children should be welcome, but not allowed to dominate everything 24/7. If it is the Mark Warner style holiday the Schermer seeks to provide, it really should stop aiming itself at the couples and relaxation seekers side of the market.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VictoriaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

The Hotel Schermer is very well located within easy walking distance of the town and the lift systems, and snow permitting, you can ski back almost to the back door of the hotel in the afternoon. The staff and owners are all very friendly and helpful, and provide excellent service and create an enjoyable atmosphere. Our Brixental bedroom was quiet, large, and with a balcony and good views, however the lighting in the room was quite dim. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent, but the choice and variety of food could be improved upon.
On arrival the hotel was heavily populated by families with very young children, and later in the week a large Polish group of 80+ arrived, who tended to noisily dominate certain parts of the hotel. Both the above did not seem to fit comfortably into the 4 star superior standard, that the hotel aims for, and does not mix well with the quieter older residents. As with most Austrian hotels there is a distinct lack of non smoking lounge areas, at the the Schermer the bar is in the centre of the hotel next to the restaurant areas, and is a smoking area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulMakings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakobwirt
Hotel Jakobwirt
#2 of 7 in Westendorf
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
38 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
6.1 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schermer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schermer

Address: Dorfstrasse 106, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £146 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schermer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run 4-Star Superior Hotel. The village of Westendorf is located on a sunny plateau in the midst of the Kitzbuehel Alps. In summer a paradise for hikers and bikers, in winter the skiing areas Kitzbuehel and Wilder Kaiser-Brixental are directly accessible behind the Hotel by cable car. There is a new, idyllic golf course 1km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Schermer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schermer Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing