We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schermer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schermer
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
The Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at The Schermer hotel for a week over Christmas. We received a glass of champagne on arrival and from that moment onwards were made to feel very welcome by all the staff - Primo and Doris in particular were fantastic - Primo even borrowing some lederhosen at the request of my 80 year old mum! The bedrooms were lovely - our children both appreciating the new 42" TVs in the rooms and the pool area was lovvery welcoming at the end of a hard days skiing. The food was great and plentiful - lovely to have soup, pasta and cakes at 3.00pm when we came back from the mountain. The Schermer family are very hands on, especially in the bar and restaurant and clearly care very much about the hotel and the guest experience -- on Christmas Eve the Shchermer family all gathered in front of the lounge fire to play carols and make the guests feel welcome. Our family group ranged in ages from 16 to 80 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this family run, professional hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We returned after a break of 15 years. We knew that the hotel had doubled in size, I fault the spa or massages.. Food was plentiful and variations easy to arrange.

We took the local train service on several days and on others walked locally sometimes taking the near by cable car. There is enough to do without having to search for them. the 10 days proved an excellent break and God willing we shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonWagner
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I've stayed t that hotel, with family and/or friends a number of times, and not once did I have to fault it in any way!!!!
It is family run, very friendly and engaging owners who very much care about every single guest. The rest of their employees are equally as charming and caring and most if not all of them have been working there for years, surely a good sign for a fab working environment. Plenty of undercover parking in the basement to keep car safe. The hotel is very clean, picturesque in its local style/alpine furniture and design. Each time we stayed the room was just perfect, with lovely balcony and great views. I've never stayed there winter, always early summer. This time I travelled amongst a group of 6 and one was a toddler aged just under two. We were amazed what fantastic children's entertainment the hotel had to offer, including safe and caring childcare, perfect for parents who seek a bit of relaxation whilst kids are in perfect hands. The food was, each and every time I stayed there, mouthwatering. Only downside: a guaranteed way to put on weight. The hotel location is central in the village, but no noise disturbance whatsoever. The spa facilities are good, I never raid to book at least one treatment and each time I seem to enjoy it more an more.
I can't find a single thing that doesn't deserve praise and I can only HIGHLY recommend it!!!
For myself, I will be back, year after year!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWagnerWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our recent stay at the Hotel Schermer was excellent is all respects except that the room we were allocated was close to a busy road and faced on to the village church. Every morning at exactly 7 a.m. the church bells tolled a couple of times and on Sunday it just seemed like they would never stop ringing these infernal bells. Heavy traffic noise also contributed to sleepless mornings.

We might have tolerated these inconveniences had we not visited the hotel 4 years ago and tried to avoid these problems by paying an extra £300 to Thomson.Crystal for a "Superior" room for our one week. We were convinced that the extra we paid would enable us to occupy one of the South facing rooms looking over the garden. Reception (with a charming smile) just told us that all the south facing rooms were full but we reckon that was not true.

The Schermer Hotel has actually 4 room categories in their own brochure but the Thomson Brochure only has an upgrade called "Superior" I reckon we were ripped off by Thomson as the premium in the Schermer Brochure for South facing rooms is only around £120 for the week.

Despite our disappointment with the room all the rest of our experiences at the Hotel were excellent. The food was great, the staff were exceptionally friendly and Herr Schermer and his wife were always on hand to speak to. The spa and pool are the best we have ever experienced.

When we return in a couple of years time we will make sure that we specify a south facing room avoiding room nos 101,102,103, 104 and also 20-, 30- etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Due to our late arrival I had emailed asking for a meal/snack to be available. This was arranged and was very welcome. I recommend that you do this as otherwise you would struggle to get something to eat in Westendorf late at night.
Our room was a standard room but very spacious, all that you would expect plus a free safe , small fridge, tv with a few English speaking channels and a balcony with fantastic views of the mountains.Also the use of a rucksack,umberella and shopping bag.
The meals were all fantastic,couldn't fault them , buffet style breakfast (everything you could wish for), there is a free lunch of soup and salads on offer every day and the evening meals were great. You are asked at breakfast each day to choose your main course-choice of three, but there is a starter ,soup and salad course which you can have all or either. After the main course a delicious dessert and then cheese, everything is home made and a credit to the hard working staff.
The hotel staff were all very happy and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we were able to borrow a plug adaptor from reception as we had forgotten ours and were helped with directions to the saltmines ( which were a good trip out). The restaurant staff were also very obliging, ask to sit outside to eat if its too warm inside-it won't be a problem. Everybody speaks excellent English.
We used the hotel bikes ,a huge array of sizes and styles to choose from (all free) and we had half a day sunbathing in the garden. We swam most days but didn't have any spa treatments,lots of loungers indoors or out and complimentary robes,flip flops ,drinks and fruit snacks.
Westendorf is a lovely village that hasn't changed much in the 22 years since we last visited.We bought cable car passes for 3 days(34 Euros each,include the extra for Kitzbule its worth it) and drove up to the Grossglockner which was a long way but has the most spectacular views of the glacier. We also had a day in Salzburg,again spectacular and went town the Salt mines on an ancient system of wooden slides-good fun.We hired a car in the UK before travelling but there is a good public bus service and the train runs very close by ,you can go to Insbrook for the day if you don't fancy Salzburg.
We found that that eating and drinking was very reasonable, a small jug of wine at dinner was 8 Euro and a beer about 5, but there is a Spa shop and an Aldi in the village where you can buy a decent bottle of wine for 3 Euro enjoy this on your balcony and watch the sun go down.
We didn't much care for the evening entertainment , but we were much younger than most of the other residents( and they did tend to go off to bed about 10pm).There was a band playing in the village one night which were really good, they play outside the church for a good hour or more every week during the summer.If you get chance, go down to the shooting range on Friday night, its underneath the firestation. We were made very welcome, its all very modern, state of the arts rifle shooting,older kids welcome too.
The weather was a lot better than we expected up to about 32 degrees, no need for those jumpers I packed! Take a raincoat though we did have a couple of evenings of heavy rain,didn't spoil things for us though we enjoyed our refreshing change from a beach holiday.No need for walking boots either , a good pair of trainers will do. I was surprised to see how much there was for kids to do up the mountain tops, lots of little theme parks (not roller coasters but sensory gardens and play parks).
Thanks Hotel Schermer we really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended you to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the restaurant for a spectagular view of the local mountain rage. Particularly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Schermer for the second time last week. At every point before and during our stay, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. As a group of 16 family and friends ranging in ages from 11 to 56 yrs, our needs were many and varied but the Schermer staff always went the extra mile to help - and with a smile. Jacob and his family are still closely involved in the everyday life of the hotel, which helps to sustain the warm family atmosphere. The bedrooms were immaculately clean and the other big strengths of the Schermer are the food (much of which is locally produced), the large informal bar/lounge area (great for all ages to meet up), the spa/pool...oh and the fantastic ski slopes 5 mins away! We will be back next year for sure. Just hope the snow is as amazing next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Schermer from 28th January to 4th February 2012, having previously stayed for 10 days in July 2011. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, with Herr and Frau Schermer very hands on in the bar and restaurant areas. The food is plentiful and of a high standard, and the afternoon buffet most welcome after a day on the slopes or walking in the beautiful mountains surrounding this pretty village. Rooms are large and well appointed. The local tourist office organise events and the hotel also has entertainment some evenings and arranges activities in the summer. The only downside would be the fact that smoking is allowed in the bar area and can be a nuisance. This is less of an issue in summer when the outside patio area is available.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakobwirt
Hotel Jakobwirt
#2 of 7 in Westendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sporthotel Brixen
Sporthotel Brixen
#1 of 4 in Brixen im Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#5 of 7 in Westendorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schermer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schermer

Property: Hotel Schermer
Address: Dorfstrasse 106, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schermer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schermer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schermer Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing