We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Schermer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schermer
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Many thanks to Jacob and Andrea for another fantastic week, This hotel has fantastic staff, we have stayed at this hotel to Ski for the past 15 years and it is so nice to see the same staff every year. The food is fantastic and the hotel and leisure facilities are second to non.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanPCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in hotel with smaller group of business partners in our yearly arranged traditional trip. Arrival was warm and friendly, rooms pretty good. Sauna and spa area are great, specially finnish sauna and then swimming in outdoor pool. Great relax. Food was good, not a gourmet but really ok. Buffee (2 evenings) is not always most comfortable if you have little longer table.
It would be good having some more possibilities to dry skiclothing in the bathroom/room, heaters was not possible to regulate warmer, so in the room was occasionally little cool. Well, dim lights in the room, not possible to read smth. There should have at least one lamp with really for lighting not just to seeing that lights are on.
Hotel staff is nice, there was some good evening programs in bar area and nice barmen suggesting different good ideas.
If only somehow they could restrict smoking everywhere in Austria.
Location is very good, althougt village itself is small, huge ski areas with good lift connections and apres-ski bars to switch into good mood at the end of ski days.
You could almost ski-in until the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ats A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at The Schermer hotel for a week over Christmas. We received a glass of champagne on arrival and from that moment onwards were made to feel very welcome by all the staff - Primo and Doris in particular were fantastic - Primo even borrowing some lederhosen at the request of my 80 year old mum! The bedrooms were lovely - our children both appreciating the new 42" TVs in the rooms and the pool area was lovvery welcoming at the end of a hard days skiing. The food was great and plentiful - lovely to have soup, pasta and cakes at 3.00pm when we came back from the mountain. The Schermer family are very hands on, especially in the bar and restaurant and clearly care very much about the hotel and the guest experience -- on Christmas Eve the Shchermer family all gathered in front of the lounge fire to play carols and make the guests feel welcome. Our family group ranged in ages from 16 to 80 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this family run, professional hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We returned after a break of 15 years. We knew that the hotel had doubled in size, I fault the spa or massages.. Food was plentiful and variations easy to arrange.

We took the local train service on several days and on others walked locally sometimes taking the near by cable car. There is enough to do without having to search for them. the 10 days proved an excellent break and God willing we shall be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I've stayed t that hotel, with family and/or friends a number of times, and not once did I have to fault it in any way!!!!
It is family run, very friendly and engaging owners who very much care about every single guest. The rest of their employees are equally as charming and caring and most if not all of them have been working there for years, surely a good sign for a fab working environment. Plenty of undercover parking in the basement to keep car safe. The hotel is very clean, picturesque in its local style/alpine furniture and design. Each time we stayed the room was just perfect, with lovely balcony and great views. I've never stayed there winter, always early summer. This time I travelled amongst a group of 6 and one was a toddler aged just under two. We were amazed what fantastic children's entertainment the hotel had to offer, including safe and caring childcare, perfect for parents who seek a bit of relaxation whilst kids are in perfect hands. The food was, each and every time I stayed there, mouthwatering. Only downside: a guaranteed way to put on weight. The hotel location is central in the village, but no noise disturbance whatsoever. The spa facilities are good, I never raid to book at least one treatment and each time I seem to enjoy it more an more.
I can't find a single thing that doesn't deserve praise and I can only HIGHLY recommend it!!!
For myself, I will be back, year after year!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWagnerWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our recent stay at the Hotel Schermer was excellent is all respects except that the room we were allocated was close to a busy road and faced on to the village church. Every morning at exactly 7 a.m. the church bells tolled a couple of times and on Sunday it just seemed like they would never stop ringing these infernal bells. Heavy traffic noise also contributed to sleepless mornings.

We might have tolerated these inconveniences had we not visited the hotel 4 years ago and tried to avoid these problems by paying an extra £300 to Thomson.Crystal for a "Superior" room for our one week. We were convinced that the extra we paid would enable us to occupy one of the South facing rooms looking over the garden. Reception (with a charming smile) just told us that all the south facing rooms were full but we reckon that was not true.

The Schermer Hotel has actually 4 room categories in their own brochure but the Thomson Brochure only has an upgrade called "Superior" I reckon we were ripped off by Thomson as the premium in the Schermer Brochure for South facing rooms is only around £120 for the week.

Despite our disappointment with the room all the rest of our experiences at the Hotel were excellent. The food was great, the staff were exceptionally friendly and Herr Schermer and his wife were always on hand to speak to. The spa and pool are the best we have ever experienced.

When we return in a couple of years time we will make sure that we specify a south facing room avoiding room nos 101,102,103, 104 and also 20-, 30- etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Due to our late arrival I had emailed asking for a meal/snack to be available. This was arranged and was very welcome. I recommend that you do this as otherwise you would struggle to get something to eat in Westendorf late at night.
Our room was a standard room but very spacious, all that you would expect plus a free safe , small fridge, tv with a few English speaking channels and a balcony with fantastic views of the mountains.Also the use of a rucksack,umberella and shopping bag.
The meals were all fantastic,couldn't fault them , buffet style breakfast (everything you could wish for), there is a free lunch of soup and salads on offer every day and the evening meals were great. You are asked at breakfast each day to choose your main course-choice of three, but there is a starter ,soup and salad course which you can have all or either. After the main course a delicious dessert and then cheese, everything is home made and a credit to the hard working staff.
The hotel staff were all very happy and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we were able to borrow a plug adaptor from reception as we had forgotten ours and were helped with directions to the saltmines ( which were a good trip out). The restaurant staff were also very obliging, ask to sit outside to eat if its too warm inside-it won't be a problem. Everybody speaks excellent English.
We used the hotel bikes ,a huge array of sizes and styles to choose from (all free) and we had half a day sunbathing in the garden. We swam most days but didn't have any spa treatments,lots of loungers indoors or out and complimentary robes,flip flops ,drinks and fruit snacks.
Westendorf is a lovely village that hasn't changed much in the 22 years since we last visited.We bought cable car passes for 3 days(34 Euros each,include the extra for Kitzbule its worth it) and drove up to the Grossglockner which was a long way but has the most spectacular views of the glacier. We also had a day in Salzburg,again spectacular and went town the Salt mines on an ancient system of wooden slides-good fun.We hired a car in the UK before travelling but there is a good public bus service and the train runs very close by ,you can go to Insbrook for the day if you don't fancy Salzburg.
We found that that eating and drinking was very reasonable, a small jug of wine at dinner was 8 Euro and a beer about 5, but there is a Spa shop and an Aldi in the village where you can buy a decent bottle of wine for 3 Euro enjoy this on your balcony and watch the sun go down.
We didn't much care for the evening entertainment , but we were much younger than most of the other residents( and they did tend to go off to bed about 10pm).There was a band playing in the village one night which were really good, they play outside the church for a good hour or more every week during the summer.If you get chance, go down to the shooting range on Friday night, its underneath the firestation. We were made very welcome, its all very modern, state of the arts rifle shooting,older kids welcome too.
The weather was a lot better than we expected up to about 32 degrees, no need for those jumpers I packed! Take a raincoat though we did have a couple of evenings of heavy rain,didn't spoil things for us though we enjoyed our refreshing change from a beach holiday.No need for walking boots either , a good pair of trainers will do. I was surprised to see how much there was for kids to do up the mountain tops, lots of little theme parks (not roller coasters but sensory gardens and play parks).
Thanks Hotel Schermer we really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended you to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the restaurant for a spectagular view of the local mountain rage. Particularly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakobwirt
Hotel Jakobwirt
#2 of 7 in Westendorf
172 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
38 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vital & Sporthotel Brixen
Vital & Sporthotel Brixen
#1 of 5 in Brixen im Thale
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schermer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schermer

Address: Dorfstrasse 106, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £156 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schermer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run 4-Star Superior Hotel. The village of Westendorf is located on a sunny plateau in the midst of the Kitzbuehel Alps. In summer a paradise for hikers and bikers, in winter the skiing areas Kitzbuehel and Wilder Kaiser-Brixental are directly accessible behind the Hotel by cable car. There is a new, idyllic golf course 1km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schermer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schermer Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing