We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family ski hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Post
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Ignore any negative reviews on here - it is a well run family hotel with good food and a nice bar. We have 3 children under 9 and stayed here 2nd-9th Feb 2013, Yes, the food is two choices in the evening, but it is a 3 star hotel and unless you are very picky you will find the menu fine. Breakfasts are fine - the usual Austrian fare. There is a salad buffet as well in the evening. Anyone who complains about the limited menu doesn't understand that it is not a 5 star hotel and you get what you pay for. The staff are great with kids. The rooms are large, clean and basic. Perfect location right in the village centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very convenient to the slopes. Clean , plenty of hot water, friendly.
A lot of people have commented on the poor food. It is wholesome simple food. There was nothing wrong with it just not very fancy but very welcome after a hard days skiing.
The smoke situation is a problem all over Austria , you really notice it when used to a smoke free country. It's about time the government banned smoking in public places.
I would certainly return.When I'm with friends intent on a good skiing holiday I dont' let having soup for starters spoilmy holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Post over Christmas and New Year for one week 2012-2013. First impressions of the hotel were that it was traditional, clean, and the waiting staff were very friendly. Hotel is in the ideal location; the nursery slopes are right across the road and ski hire places also as close. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. One criticism is that the receptionist is rarely there, so if you need something you sometimes have to go through to the bar to find somebody.

Food is pretty standard, and you get a choice of 2 set menus each night. Be prepared for soup since it's the starter every night and maybe try to eat a la carte or in another place one night because we got a bit bored of the set menus. Having said that, the New Year's Eve meal they prepared was high quality and they really made an effort to make it a special evening, decorating the tables nicely and preparing an extra special meal. One person in our group was vegetarian and they made an effort to provide a nice alternative for them.

In terms of hotel atmosphere, try to avoid any rooms above the bar. Also try to avoid rooms near the stairs. We stayed in Room 40 and the noise from people walking up and down the stairs was sometimes a real nuisance. Additionally, there were groups of badly behaved children running around the hotel as if it were a play area, and the staff didn't really make an effort to prevent this from happening despite several complaints. We were woken up several times on the night a large family group arrived because they were shouting in the corridor and later on in the week continued to make lots of noise, so this is something that could be monitored more by the staff. Obviously noise on New Year's Eve is to be expected.

Overall though I'd say for basic hotel and bog standard half board it was ok, but if you want a quiet hotel stay and something a bit nicer, this hotel is probably not the right place for you.

Room Tip: Not number 40! Also rooms on the road side can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you are on a half board package the food is barely acceptable. Desert one night was artic rool and on another a doughnut - we had expected better! Also you need to like soup as that was the starter most nights. Those on half board ate in the restaurant at the rear and were treated like 2nd class citizens compared with those who pay (quite a lot) extra to eat in restaurant at the front with non-residents. Couples will be encouraged/made to share tables (most table for 4 plus)- not a problem for us but some couples complained about this. You may also be encouraged not to ask for more than one jug of water on the table per night - we asked for more a got it)

On the positive side most staff were friendly and helpful, the room was fine for us (excellent view and clean). Light sleepers may have found late night noise a problemit noisWe are good sleepers and both the Hotel's location & village were great.

The hotel bar was mega smokey but that was not a problem for us as there was a non-smoking alternative nearby.

If and when we go to the area again we would choose a higher graded hotel. That said the lady we shared a table with goes back to the hotel year after year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have been staying here over Christmas or new year for several years now and it has almost become like a second home to us. Westendorf is a small village which is compact enough to allow you to walk everywhere and the Post sits right in the middle.
It is not a luxury hotel, but then it doesn't have pretensions of being one, it is a simple family run establishment. You are made very welcome and soon feel at ease with your surroundings coming and going as you please.
The hotel is clean and well run. Rooms are basic, but have all that you really need. In fact if you are like us you are usually so tired by the end of the day you just fall into bed and off into a deep sleep.
Hotel has two dining rooms, one for the breakfasts which also serves the half board meal plan if you stay on a package and an al a carte restaurant which only opens in the evening. I would recommend the latter as the meals on the half board whilst ok are a bit repetitive and not that inspiring. The al a carte on the other hand is quite simply fantastic. Firstly the quality is high and the choice is staggering. We've been going back for about eight years and haven't covered the menu yet!
There is also a lovely bar at the front of the hotel which always has a buzz about it, never getting too rowdy, and it attracts visitors from all parts of the village, very much a meeting place.
All in all a good honest hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front if staying at new year, the noise from the street will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Post is very much an 'old school' Austrian small hotel. We were made to feel very welcome as we booked in and our room had been refurbished in a modern style and was very comfortable. We had a large modern shower room and good sized bedroom with plenty of storage space and a good balcony.
Decor and fittings in the public areas have been around a while so first impressions there are not so good, but it is all clean.
There is smoking in the traditional bar and that does take some getting used to; we were lucky with the weather and usually had a drink out in the very attractive beer garden instead. The hotel dining room is non-smoking and the food was very good, fairly limited choice on a half board basis but all very nice to eat.
Staff were very helpful and made guests feel valued and welcome, some visitors had been coming every summer for years.
Our only small gripe was with a rather tacky looking 'club/bar' a short distance away (totally out of keeping with this quiet, in summer anyway, village). Surprisingly it opened two nights during the week we were there in early summer and seemed to attract some noisy guests who needed to shout in the street in the small hours. The double glazing is good in the bedrooms but on a hot night with the window open I found them annoying. Hopefully a rare event. Didn't seem to bother other guests particularly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We paid and booked for a bedroom for 3 people just so we could have a good sized room. When we arrived we were given small twin. We complained and after much soul searching from the receptionist she showed us a bigger room which we took.

When we went down for dinner we were told we would have to share a table with another couple for the whole of the holiday, breakfast and dinner. We are very sociable people but we actually refused to do this. We had soup every starter for the whole week. Never went in the bar which was a shame because you could not see a hand infront of you for cigarette smoke, the whole hotel smelt of smoke. Staff were surly, especially the lady owner. Water was free first couple of nights, then all of a sudden you had to pay for it. The only plus side to this hotel is that it is situated right across from the slopes, but having said that I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Double check with hotel or your tour operator that you have actually got the room you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AngelaRWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westendorf hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jakobwirt
Hotel Jakobwirt
#2 of 7 in Westendorf
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#6 of 7 in Westendorf
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#5 of 27 in Westendorf
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Austria
Hotel Garni Austria
#3 of 27 in Westendorf
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 11, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing