We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Hotel Post”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Post
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We did not stay at hotel Post but did have a fine dinner with great service! We were a party of 5 (3 older children) without reservations at the height of dinner time. The staff made us feel welcome right away and made great strides to explain items on the menu (only 1 of us had much ability to order in German). The food was served timely and we all found our dishes to be to our expectations and quite yummy! We only ordered 2 desserts but even without asking they brought our extra dishes and silverware for us to share.

Room Tip: Didn't sleep here...only dined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

There is a lot of choice of places to stay in Westendorf and we chose the Post based on recommendations from frequent visitors to the super village of Westendorf. We were very happy with our choice. The beds were very comfortable and our room was large and spacious. The bath was big enough for two with lots of hot water to relax after a great days skiing. Maybe three minutes to the nearest lift if you are strolling (or walking in ski boots!). The hotel provides a secure room to store your skis and space on each landing for your boots. The food is fine. (Austrian food in general is nothing to get excited about). The bar in the Post is very popular and a favourite with regulars which gives it a very warm and familiar feeling. All in all I'd be happy to recommend Hotel Post and would stay again.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back of the hotel, away from the street and bar so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were looking for a good value, traditional hotel close to the ski lift and found it in the Hotel Post. The staff were friendly, the rooms basic but clean, plenty of hot water for a bath at the end of the day. We were on the half-board accommodation and ate at 'our table' in the back dining room. There are several other comments on Trip Advisor on this aspect of the hotel, but accepting that we were going for the skiing, rather than haute cuisine and all the wellness aspects of higher-starred hotels, what we experienced was what we expected - perfectly acceptable and plenty good enough. The bar was of modest size and smoky, and it would have been nice to have a lounge to spend quiet time in.

The hotel is right in the middle of town, convenient for the shops and other bars. I counted 100 ski-boot clad steps from the hotel to where I could put my skis on, and the entrance to the nursery slopes and the first chair lift was within 50 more, so it's a genuine 100m away.

Our focus was on skiing, and without the option of cake at 4pm and a swim and sauna before a leisurely dinner, we skiied harder and longer than ever before. A competent intermediate will ski all of Westendorf in 2 days, but the easy link to the SkiWelt opens up many more runs.

Overall, the Hotel Post was a great base to ski from.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dseacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Hotel Post is a fairly basic hotel. The rooms are sparse but reasonably clean. It has a nice little bar on the side. If you stay on half board you get stuck out the back in a separate dining room. Be warned if you are on half board, wherever you sit on your first night is where you are expected to sit for dinner every night. The food is mediocre at best for the half boarders, although I'm told the a la carte in the main restaurant is quite good. Half boarders must pick from two mains courses the day previous. The majority of staff are friendly and accommodating. It has a handy ski storage area in the basement and the chair lift is literally a two minute walk from the front door.

The pros - really close to the chair lift and right in the centre of the village

The cons - the food is disappointing and the church across the street starts ringing its bells at 7am every morning.

Room Tip: Top floors at the back for a quite stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Ignore any negative reviews on here - it is a well run family hotel with good food and a nice bar. We have 3 children under 9 and stayed here 2nd-9th Feb 2013, Yes, the food is two choices in the evening, but it is a 3 star hotel and unless you are very picky you will find the menu fine. Breakfasts are fine - the usual Austrian fare. There is a salad buffet as well in the evening. Anyone who complains about the limited menu doesn't understand that it is not a 5 star hotel and you get what you pay for. The staff are great with kids. The rooms are large, clean and basic. Perfect location right in the village centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very convenient to the slopes. Clean , plenty of hot water, friendly.
A lot of people have commented on the poor food. It is wholesome simple food. There was nothing wrong with it just not very fancy but very welcome after a hard days skiing.
The smoke situation is a problem all over Austria , you really notice it when used to a smoke free country. It's about time the government banned smoking in public places.
I would certainly return.When I'm with friends intent on a good skiing holiday I dont' let having soup for starters spoilmy holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Post over Christmas and New Year for one week 2012-2013. First impressions of the hotel were that it was traditional, clean, and the waiting staff were very friendly. Hotel is in the ideal location; the nursery slopes are right across the road and ski hire places also as close. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. One criticism is that the receptionist is rarely there, so if you need something you sometimes have to go through to the bar to find somebody.

Food is pretty standard, and you get a choice of 2 set menus each night. Be prepared for soup since it's the starter every night and maybe try to eat a la carte or in another place one night because we got a bit bored of the set menus. Having said that, the New Year's Eve meal they prepared was high quality and they really made an effort to make it a special evening, decorating the tables nicely and preparing an extra special meal. One person in our group was vegetarian and they made an effort to provide a nice alternative for them.

In terms of hotel atmosphere, try to avoid any rooms above the bar. Also try to avoid rooms near the stairs. We stayed in Room 40 and the noise from people walking up and down the stairs was sometimes a real nuisance. Additionally, there were groups of badly behaved children running around the hotel as if it were a play area, and the staff didn't really make an effort to prevent this from happening despite several complaints. We were woken up several times on the night a large family group arrived because they were shouting in the corridor and later on in the week continued to make lots of noise, so this is something that could be monitored more by the staff. Obviously noise on New Year's Eve is to be expected.

Overall though I'd say for basic hotel and bog standard half board it was ok, but if you want a quiet hotel stay and something a bit nicer, this hotel is probably not the right place for you.

Room Tip: Not number 40! Also rooms on the road side can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westendorf hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jakobwirt
Hotel Jakobwirt
#2 of 7 in Westendorf
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#6 of 7 in Westendorf
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#5 of 27 in Westendorf
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Austria
Hotel Garni Austria
#3 of 27 in Westendorf
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 11, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing