We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A home on the slopes"”
Review of Hotel Arlberghaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arlberghaus
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zurs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a delight to find this hotel! We were made to feel like one of the family from the moment we stepped through the door. Very charming hotel in a great location. The rooms are spotless clean including the bathrooms. The wellness area was very clean and pleasant. The food was excellent! The chef took the local cuisine and turned it into gourmet. Breakfast abundant and of a high quality, there was everything one can ask for. Service was absolutely TOP. When one talks about Fam. Eggler in Arlgberhaus it simply said: Class and Quality. Well done! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hotel Arlberghaus, Zurs, Austria.
This is the way skiing should be! Hotel Arlberghaus scored high. A well-run establishment offering good accommodation and food. The focus was on a high standard but with a personalised touch. Thomas Eggler and his family, backed up by a friendly team made you very much welcome, and this, coupled with immediate access to un-crowded ski lifts and an extensive ski area made this break one of the best.
Stuart T. UK.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

They say you can't find a bad hotel in Zurs. Maybe, but one thing is certain. If you want a lovely 4 star accommodation with a superior location, friendly atmosphere, and great familial service, then you cannot do any better in Zurs than the Hotel Arlberghaus.

Basically, you have in this hotel a mix of 4 star amenities, very good (and sometimes excellent) Austrian cuisine, and 5 star effort and guest care from the entire (perfect English speaking) team. Every member of the Eggler family is absolutely delightful, engaging, and truly set the tone for a hotel that they run with pride, charm, and professionalism. So, here is the breakdown ......

SERVICE: After 8 days, I don't think we heard the word "no" a single time. Whatever you want, just ask for it, and it either happens or appears. Special orders in the restaurant? No problem. Help with activities or ski school? Easy. They make the calls and the arrangements. Need something to make your room more comfortable? Just tell them. If i can describe it, imagine you are visiting your Aunt and Uncle that you only get to see once a year, and they make a big fuss over you because they want you have everything you need to enjoy your visit. That's kind of what the Arlberghaus and Frau and Herr Eggler deliver. Most of the hotel was filled with repeat guests, and one family we met was on their 15th trip to the Arlebrghaus. We are a family of 4 with two (often charming, but more often rambunctious) boys, and our kids were treated very well by the entire hotel staff, and that attitude starts at the top. I think the Egglers are the the type of people that just love having children around them, and it shows.

FOOD: Traditional high end Austrian fare. Nicely presented, and typically well executed. Breakfast buffet is what you would expect in a 4 star Austrian ski hotel, with a mix of cereals, fruits, breads, eggs, cheeses, bacon, etc. Hint: The chocolate croissants are top notch!

Good variety at dinner in that there is always 3 entree' choices, (a meat, a fish, and a vegetarian). Soups are particularly (and consistently) good, and every evening, there is at least 1 course that the chef manages to craft that makes you want to order seconds. The children's menu is a pleasant surprise. It is varied and the dishes well done. The wine list is good, with an interesting array of Austrian and regional wines. A nice treat. (Make sure to take the cellar tour with Herr Eggler!)

Hint: In the Walsterstube, they serve a nice lunch. There you can order probably the best pizza in Lech-Zurs. They also do a fondue that you can special order at lunch or dinner. If you find a hotel in Zurs that does a better fondue than the Arlberghaus, let me know. It would be news to me.

ACCOMMODATIONS: The hotel has a slightly more updated look in the rooms than you might expect, but it remains cozy, well kept, clean, and many areas have typical Austrian charm. Rooms are on the petite side, (again as expected for Austria), but are comfortable, and very clean. We had a larger room connecting to a smaller room, and found the space well met our needs. Good size bathrooms in all rooms, but if you are traveling with children, I would suggest either a larger room/suite or 2 connecting rooms. Spa and fitness room are again, small, but nicely appointed, user friendly, and up to the 4 star standard of the hotel. There is a ski room downstairs that has racks and boot warmers, and leads out to the back of the hotel and to the lift.

Note: With the exception of the lounge downstairs, the entire hotel is non-smoking inside. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke and it did not impact me in the slightest. In fact, it may just have been the 8 days we were there, but I didn't see a single person in the hotel lounge with a cigarette in their hands. If you are worried about that, don't be.

LOCATION: In a word, perfect. On one side of the hotel is the ski school meeting area. Look out the window and you will see the bog snowman and a hundred kids running around. Connected to the hotel is Erika's shop, and next to that is the Strolz ski shop, and around the corner from Strolz (about 40 meters) is Braendle's ski shop. (Couldn't be nicer or more helpful in either place). The building behind the hotel in front of the church is where you will find the Ski Kindergarten,The ski shuttle to the Lech side runs every 20 minutes, and the ride is only 8-9 minutes door to door. The stop to get the shuttle bus is right down the front steps of the hotel. You can wait inside the lobby and not worry about missing it. To get from the ski room to the 2 person chairlift, (which acts as an artery to the rest of the mountain), just walk the path about 40-50 meters. If you want to catch the Fernicular, it's only 15 meters further.

Hint: The Kinderclub Zurs (the kindergarten) is for kids ages 3-5 who may not yet be ready for ski school. Mostly, the kids are ages 3 or 4. They ski for an hour in the a.m., play, have lunch, then ski for an hour in the afternoon, play, then get picked up between 3:30 pm. and 4 o'clock. The caregivers/instructors all are multi-lingual, (one was from the UK), and did a fantastic job with our youngest son. Really well run operation, and recommended.

CONCLUSION: All in all, I can't imagine a family ski trip here where everyone would not be happy. Could you stay at the Lorunser or the Zeurserhof and get a 5 star hotel instead of a 4 star? Sure, but the reality is that in Zurs, where everything is high end, I'm not certain it would make for a better and more relaxing trip.

At the end of the day, you will leave the Arlberghaus happy you stayed there, with memories of a great holiday, looking forward to your return.

I'm not sure you could ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed there 2 Winters. Excellent Rooms, Excellent Access to Children Ski School and Nursery. Excellent Ski Room. The Best Pizza in Town. Not a place to stay if you want a "see & be seen" kind of place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Bakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Zürs is a place for ski addicts, who want to combine the exclusive atmosphere of this 4- and 5-star-hotels-only-village with one of the best skiing resorts in Europe. Arlberghaus is one of the few hotels of this size and standard, which is a true family-run business, meaning that a very personal atmosphere and a lot of attention to detail is provided from check-in to dinner and with all activities offered, such as ski excursions or wine tastings.
Some of the rooms are rather small, but still good value for money.
As a family, we have been there plenty of times (last stay December 2011) and the food quality (breakfast buffet, 5-course dinner) as well as the service level have always been on an excellent level.
You can ski-in-ski-out for the Zürs area and a public bus service every 10 minutes right in front of the hotel is provided to Lech and St. Anton. In the lobby there is a convenience store (the only in Zuers). You can buy an Arlberghaus membership, which provides an attractive discount on all consumption (inkl. drinks), pays off after a couple of days already.
I can recommend the place wholeheartedly without any reservations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at the Alberghaus Jan 27 to Feb 4 2012 and enjoyed my stay immensely. The staff is attentionate and the service is impeccable. The food was of good size and very good. The pizza at the restaurant at lunch time was really good. Every detail is there for the skiers in the region. I have no hesitation is recommanding this hotel to any guest. The Eggar family will take excellent care of you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are in the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just come back from staying at the arlberghaus hotel in Zurs. We were on a skiing holiday, with friends who had recommended the hotel and the hotel was perfect. Food was half board with great breakfasts and 5 course dinners which were fantastic, just as well we were skiing! The hotel is right next to a ski hire shop and you can ski in and out of the hotel. if you want to go to Lech you can just hop on the ski bus which stops right out side the door.
The staff in the hotel were really friendly, it is family run which always helps, but the rest of the staff were so helpful. The rooms were well fitted, lovely bathroom with shower and great storage space in the room which is important for skiing. All in all would totally recommend this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navarhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zurs
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 14 in Zurs
31 reviews
2.9 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 52 in Lech
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Erzberg
Hotel Erzberg
#2 of 14 in Zurs
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zurserhof Hotel
Zurserhof Hotel
#3 of 14 in Zurs
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thurnher's Alpenhof
Thurnher's Alpenhof
#7 of 14 in Zurs
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guggis
Hotel Guggis
#5 of 14 in Zurs
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberghaus

Address: Zuers 126, Zurs 6763, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Zurs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurs
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zurs
#1 Green Hotel in Zurs
#3 Family Hotel in Zurs
Price Range: £248 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arlberghaus 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you in the Arlberghaus since 1931 our family owns and runs the Hotel Arlberghaus****. We warmly welcome you and your family in our hotel to enjoy our superb ski area. Take advantage of the central location, ski in and ski out. Do not hesitate to contact us we gladly help you out with information about the area and the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Arlberghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberghaus Hotel Zurs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing