We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thurnher's Alpenhof
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Zurs
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

After staying one week at The Lorunser, one week at The Zurserhof I returned for two weeks at Thurnher's Alpenhof. I have stayed many times here before and have always enjoyed the luxury of The Alpenhof. Beatrice Zargas and her amazing mother Mrs Thurnher always make you welcome and feel special. When it comes to hotel management they are meticulous in ensuring that the service, accommodations and dining room are five star.Staff are chosen carefully and have to be professionally trained. The maitre d' Joachim is a great asset in the dining room which is judged to be one of the finest in Austria.
Recent renovations have updated most rooms, the spa and pool areas.The once cramped ski room now has designated heated lockers for boots and skis.
Unlike the Lorunser and the Zurserhof the Alpenhof does not provide inclusive lunch but a small a la carte menu is available.
All three hotels provide free WiFi and now accept credit cards but Lorunser does not accept Amex.
The question is, in which of these three hotels will I stay next year. Well I wish to return to all of them. If affordability was not a consideration, I would book Bentley's House totally and invite my close friends as my guests. An alternative would be the Presidential Suite at the Zurserhof or the Princess Caroline Suite at the Lorunser. Maybe one of the recently renovated fireplace suites at the Alpenhof would do.

Room Tip: Ask for recently renovated larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very special place. Superbly situated in the heart of Zurs and so in a wonderful skiing area. The food and the service are exceptional however the rooms, or at least the one we stayed in was small and disappointing. It also was completely overlooked by the sun terrace which was very disconcerting. The wine was also expensive however I suppose that is to be expected in a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room oN the lower floors and at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a lovely place!!!!From the first minute you arrive you are on holidays! They just read you every wish from your lips. I travelled with a newborn baby and the staff just made my life so easy even warming up babybottles at 4 am in the morning! I was a little scared being a new mother but at Thurnher's no worries!!!! Everything is prepared with Love and Detail even the little snack in the afternoon. The breakfast and dinner are exceptionnal. A "NO" in this hotel does not exist. You are always greeted by your Name and the staff is perfectly informed about your profile even before you arrive. The room a Junior Suite with Cheminee was very romantic with a nice bathroom and great views eventhough with a baby bed it was a little bit stuffy but that was so unimportant to my eyes. Quality and Service of this level has a price but i definetly do not regret a single penny. A big thank you to ALL the staff especially to the receptionnists and the family Thurnher's-Zargas. We will be back next year...can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with Fireplace 443
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. This hotel was booked as a birthday ski trip for my wife and did not disappoint! We were delighted with the warm welcome, the friendliness from everyone and the impeccable service. The hotel was excellently located for the ski lifts. We had read some of the comments left by other travels regarding the rooms. We booked a suite and were delighted with the size it exceeded our expectations. The piano player that played through the late afternoon and into the evening added an extra special pleasure to each day. Dinner is "the evening"! Well done to everyone at Thurnher's who have made our stay special and ensured we will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The first thing that you notice is the service and friendliness of the staff - quite remarkable and not overdone. Impressive
Food to die for and very comfortable rooms the hotel could not do enough for you.
I would rush back...

Room Tip: room on the terrace side might be quieter of you have to open a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

As far as my wife and I are concerned there is only one negative for this hotel and that is the room size. We had a junior suite and you can definately use the word "cosy". The positives however far out weigh the negative and we are already looking at dates we can return.

The hotel is not ideally placed on the road but as you enter the lobby the hotel is charming and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. You are immediately met by the exceptionally helpful three ladies at reception with a glass of champagne. Any request you have is immediately actioned and with a big smile. In fact all the hotel staff were all exceptional. The food was first class as was the service. My wife has special dietary requirements and the chef prepared her special dishes every evening.

We usually find in ski hotels that everyone has gone to bed by 10pm but there was a really good atmosphere in the lounge with music every night (one night an Austrian band and the next night a disco!).

The ski lifts are a one minute walk away and the pistes are wide and uncrowded.

Many of the guests we spoke with stay at the hotel every year and would not consider elsewhere. I understand why. Highly recommended.
l

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room overlooking the slopes as opposed to looking over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

With six friends we stayed from 2012 January the 27th until January the 29th.We booked a suite and a double room; the Hotel calls (and also charges 1360 € per day!) a suite which has nothing to do with a normal suite in a five star luxury hotel. The gave us just two rooms, sharing a corridor .One of the two (number 335) was non more than a single room, with a little bed, we were obliged to sleep in two. The did not give us two separate beds. One of us slept on a sofa bed (ad a price of 1360 € per day ..) The bathroom (without windows) did not have an extractor air system. The shower was broken. We asked the staff, but anything happened during the weekend.
Afterwards, as we complain in a proper manner, the staff was really very kind, but they did non change neither beds, nor rooms.
The staff is really nice, professional, very helpful in word, not really on facts...
The restaurant is good, and there the staff is ok, but a little bit two "close" to you, too much "present", asking every time if you need something, if all is fine and so on. .. Too much.
The spa area is not so big. Nice swimming pool.
The TV in the rooms are really old ones, little ones.
I think this Hotel does not match a Five star criteria; in my personal opinion they should be a there star superior. The last evening, two lady from the staff understood the situation, partially agreed on our complain, the personally offered us a drink, and gave a discount of €. 270 on a total amount of about €. 5.000,00.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GiovanniB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurs hotels
0.2 mi away
Zurserhof Hotel
Zurserhof Hotel
#3 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberghaus
Hotel Arlberghaus
#1 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 14 in Zurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sporthotel Lorunser
Sporthotel Lorunser
#10 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guggis
Hotel Guggis
#5 of 14 in Zurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentleys House
Bentleys House
#12 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnher's Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnher's Alpenhof

Property: Thurnher's Alpenhof
Address: Zuers 295, Zurs 6763, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Zurs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zurs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thurnher's Alpenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dream of a perfect winter come true!Winter at the Arlberg has many faces: You can look forward to the silence of a descent through the deep snow; the warmth of a crackling log fire; the culinary pleasures of gourmet cuisine; and the relaxing atmosphere of an evening in the piano bar ... and everything framed by the welcoming hospitality and comfort of Thurnher's Alpenhof.Thurnher's Alpenhof is a place where you can simply relax and enjoy yourself: extravagant, luxurious and of incomparable charm. Here you will find a unique combination of family tradition, country-style luxury and international flair.Leave your everyday routine at home; your stay at Thurnher’s Alpenhof will be a winter’s fairy tale. Thurnher's Alpenhof has been in the possession of the owning family for 47 years; with its 14 rooms and 24 suites it is one of the most exclusive addresses in the Alps. We are a true winter sports hotel and we look forward to welcoming you from early December to mid-April each year! We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thurnher's Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnher`s Alpenhof Hotel Zurs
Thurnhers Alpenhof Zurs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing