We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panhans Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Semmering
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We went for a short weekend to do a bit of skiing and had a lovely, relaxing stay. Our rooms were in the back building, but had really nice views and were quite spacious and comfortable. The internet was free and fast, and parking was easy. Breakfast, which was included, was very lovely, with a wide variety of delicious breakfast foods available. We had a car, so being up the hill from the small slope for skiing was not a problem.

The pool was a very nice benefit, as the children enjoyed a warm swim after being out in the cold all day.

We did not bring proper clothing for dinner, so we dined down the hill in Semmering. I would check to see what the restaurant recommends for attire before planning to eat dinner at the hotel. As we were staying for one night, planned only to ski, and had two children, we packed very little, and ultimately decided to walk down the hill to find a more casual location for our dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Panhans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Panhans Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte reynardridge,
Lieber Gast,

herzlichen Dank für die Mühe, die Sie sich gemacht haben, und die Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben, um uns auch schriftlich über Ihre Eindrücke während Ihres letzten Aufenthaltes in unserem Haus zu informieren.

Ihre Meinung schätzen wir sehr, und Gästefeedback, sowohl positives – als auch negatives – ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich wohl gefühlt haben. Ihr Lob ist eine besondere Motivation für unsere Mitarbeiter. Lob in schriftlicher Form bedeutet für die Mitarbeiter besondere Wertschätzung, und wir bedanken uns sehr herzlich, und geben Ihre Nachrichten gerne weiter. Es freut uns, dass Sie das Frühstück und die Aussicht des Zimmers sehr gelobt haben.

Unsere Mitarbeiter bemühen sich täglich, den Gästen den Aufenthalt im Grandhotel so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Wir freuen uns, dass es uns in Ihrem Falle gelungen ist.

Wir werden uns auch in Zukunft bemühen, den Service zu bieten, den unsere Gäste erwarten. Durch Ihre Rückmeldung können wir unsere Serviceleistung verbessern.

Wir freuen uns sehr, Sie wieder am Semmering im Grandhotel begrüßen zu dürfen.
Wir haben Ihre Anregungen gerne angenommen und bedanken uns für Ihr Feedback.

Gerne sind wir wieder Ihre Gastgeber am Zauberberg.

Liebe Grüße vom Semmering
Bettina Wülfrath
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    81
    29
    19
    12
See reviews for
44
82
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My partner had been there for a business dinner and considering that we both love ancient buildings he wanted to surprise me and booked a weekend ...
As usual he first checked prices, rooms and vacancies on booking.com (the offer was 176€ for 2 nights, 2 people, b&b), then he phoned to ask if the offer was real. The lady on the phone replied that it wasn't possible to get that rate and offered the stay for about 202€ (2 nights, 2 people, b&b) and he booked (as usual he didn't check the receipt!!!). When we arrived the lady at reception showed us a copy of the booking which we had taken for granted where the final price was 202 per night. Thanks to the director,who after having objected the hotel was fully booked and that in case we wanted to leave we had to pay 90% of the total (on booking they say no penalty in case you cancel!) ,we were offered a reduction. The final price was 300€ for 2 nights. We accepted because the situation was becoming quite embarassing.On booking we checked half an hour later they had a room for 141€ per night....
After our stay we can say that prices are a bit to high for the overall state of the building (leaking water in the bathroom, beds which split in the middle, no extra cushions available but I didn't dare asking for one.
The view from the room was amazing and breakfast rich and top quality. We didn't have dinner there because the menu seemed a bit limited and expensive.
Nothing to complain about the kindness of the staff, but misunderstandings are annoying above all if you reach place after a long and tiring journey.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaliaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Panhans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Panhans Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Mrs. ItaliaAustria,

we have just seen your written feedback dated 27th of January and we are sorry to hear that you mentioned problems concerning the reservation and accounting. We very much regret this.

We will be discussing your feedback at our quality meeting with the heads of departments as comments received from guests are of great concern to us, and we aim to continually improve our customer services.

We checked the room rates at our platforms and we assure you to take care of our rates. We are very sorry about misunderstandings and we hope welcoming you again at our hotel. For the future we will direct our attention to customer satisfaction and communication with our guests.

Thank you for your extremely positive response for location, the breakfast buffet and the room.

For the mentioned misunderstandings we want to apologize formally herby. We hope we have not lost your trust in us as guests and would be pleased to welcome you back again on Semmering, maybe also in our partner hotels.

Thank you for your feedback, your constructive critism and important suggestions.

Best regards from Semmering

Bettina Wülfrath
Grandhotel Panhans
Public relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have to start with the fact that Panhans must have been a great luxury hotel 30-100 years ago. Therefor the designers couldn't decide whether their task is to maintain the same good old (kitschy and eclectic) enterieur, or to develop as time goes by, so they did both. There are some really nice conference rooms, but overall the hotel's design concept is a mess.

The location is excellent and the view is just picturesque. And that's all for the adventages.

The room itself was big enough, but dirty with many stains and patches on the carpet and the walls. Even insects could be found I don't even know how. The bed is really uncomfortable, never have experienced such an awful bed. In the rooms only a "high speed internet connection" cable is available, no wifi. For that they charge 5€/hour whereas high speed means no gmail, no facebook, no cloud services or important newspapers are available, those who are, load in about 5-10 minutes. In the lobby you get free wifi at the same quality. The service intended to help with it, but even though they promised, never sent up anybody.

Nonetheless, the poorest service of the hotel is definately the restaurant. The breakfast is satisfying actually, everything else is unbelievably horrible. The á la carte menu contains about 6 main plates each has a 12-words-long name and the fact that nobody spoke german didn't bother the waiters, whenever we said something in english they responded in german. It was really impolite! The dinner was about 2-2,5 hours long despite the fact that we only ordered main dishes, no soup or dessert. Which we truely regretted as the pates were so big but the food was so small and most of them tasted awful with the same incredibly salty sauce on every plate. The fancy starters didn't help at all (they brought 6 types of oil and 6 types of salt too), it was hilariuos that they need to make up for the slow service and bad taste with a piece of veal in cranberry mousse and lots of left-over baguetts. We were crying and laughung at the same time signing the bill. 30€/person but nobody had enough to suffice and the smallest portions tasted awful in the majority of times. Still the most annoying wasn't the bad food or the price, rather that we had to wait for three bowls of icecream for over 40 minutes after we finished the main dishes. (Other restaurants nearby like Löeffler were just fine for the third of this price)

The wellness wasn't perfect either. The jacuzzi of the hotel was out of order and both of the saunas were to use without swimsuits. The swimming pool was at the end of an other buliding so using both was impossible.

All in all the Panhans itself is a complete struggle to seem exclusive, but they only achive this goal through prices. In Hungary it wouldn't have more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagymusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Panhans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Panhans Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guest from Hungary,

we appreciate you taking the trouble to inform us of your opinions during your last stay at the Hotel Panhans.

We regret to hear that your stay at our Hotel was not up to your expectations. Our employees make an effort every day during their duties to fulfil the expectations of our guests. Unfortunately this does not appear to be so in your case.

We will be discussing your feedback at our Quality Meeting with the heads of departments as comments received from guests are of great concern to us, and we aim to continually improve our customer services.

You have mentioned several points which I would like to comment on:

You have referred to the meals in our restaurant. I am sorry to hear that the dishes were not to your liking. Recently we have been receiving very positive comments about our catering. Our new kitchen chef offers a very varied choice for Hotel guests and a very extensive and innovative á la carte menu.

Naturally our kitchen chef would have offered you alternatives which would have met your expectations. Apparently we were never given the opportunity at the time to deal with your complaint as our managerial employees were not made aware of them.

As you mentioned, there is a large variety of diverse dishes, for example 6 different oils or salts. These choices are highly valued by many of our guests.
We regret the long waiting time. We always try to maintain a smooth running service in the restaurant.

Politeness and friendliness are a top priority for our staff and we train our employees intensively especially with regard to guest service. I can only imagine you are referring to new members of staff who are naturally being continually trained, also in the English language.

The unstable internet access problem occurred during your stay due to an overload on the system. We are aware of this problem and are working to find a new solution for our internet connection in the Hotel rooms.

We particularly regret to hear of your complaints relating to the cleanliness of the Hotel. Such things should never occur in our Hotel. Our Housekeeper and her team control everything very carefully in all public areas as well as the Hotel rooms. We will exercise stronger control in these areas to ensure such inadequateness does not occur again.

On behalf of the management I would like to apologise to you for the inadequateness which you have pointed out.

We are grateful for your constructive criticism. We take customer feedback very seriously – both positive and negative – as our aim is to main a high class standard and quality with our service performance and to continually improve on it.

We hope we have not lost your trust in us as guests and would be pleased to welcome you back again to convince you of our high standards.

Best regards from sunny Semmering
Bettina Wülfrath
Public relations & Online Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anzio, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fantastic luxury hotel in Semmering, I stayed there for 2 nights for a meeting with colleagues, For me is one of the best hotels I've been. Courteous and professional staff, impeccable cleanliness and good and various breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joining2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
733 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Panhans is probably the best Semmering hotel with only potential drawback as being located at thefar side from the ski slopes. It would take 15 mins to go there down the hill and abt 20 minutes back. Shuttle bus is provied 2 times per hour but is not 100% reliable (sometimes it doesnt appear).

But that is probably the only deficiency (another one - they dont have safe boxes in the rooms). Anything else is close to excellent - huge and cozy rooms, super view, large hall, good breakfast, excellent dinner and attention

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Front side with view over valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndersUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We like to return to this hotel situated not far from Bratislava and well connected by train, bus or a car. This time we spent two nights in this friendly hotel and enjoyed three days of skiing in the nearby known skicenter Stuhleck. We like to come here mainly during winter time though it is nice to hike also during warm weather and enjoy panorama and historical railroads. The hotel offers comfortable and spacious rooms and free entry to vital club with whirlpool and sauna, good food and privacy. Clean and friendly environment.

Room Tip: This hotel is having rooms with different furnishing, fitting the environment. We stayed in the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and enjoyed the trip immensely. It is not far from Vienna and it is easy to get to the good training ski slopes and higher level ski slopes by car and by foot. Stuhleck is recommended as well as Semmering. The rooms are large and dogs are allowed and welcomed by the friendly staff. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast has large choices of food which is tasty. The dinner is average and the staff is friendly. The spa is recommendable and the views are stunning.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have fabulous views of the slopes and beyond and are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semmering
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel am Semmering
Sporthotel am Semmering
#3 of 5 in Semmering
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Marienhof
Hotel Marienhof
#1 of 1 in Reichenau an der Rax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenhof Hotel Semmering
Alpenhof Hotel Semmering
#1 of 5 in Semmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Asia Resort Linsberg
Asia Resort Linsberg
#1 of 1 in Bad Erlach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Schneeberghof
Hotel Schneeberghof
#1 of 1 in Puchberg am Schneeberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hubertushof
Hubertushof
#6 of 12 in Semmering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panhans Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panhans Grand Hotel

Property: Panhans Grand Hotel
Address: Hochstrasse 32 | 2680 Semmering, Semmering 2680, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Semmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Semmering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Panhans Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panhans Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panhans Grand Semmering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing