We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Traunkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stunning location at the edge of the lake. Our entire party were suitably impressed . Arrived very late but owner kindly laid on food and beer which was very welcome. Room was very impressive and gorgeous terrace overlooking the lake. Lovely breakfast served by very pleasant staff. One can only imagine that this place gets very busy in summer months. Views and location are idyllic !! Definitely planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for a week on the half-board package which delivered excellent quality food at very good value in comparison with the hotel's à la carte menu. Breakfast was a good buffet spread with a choice of eggs cooked to order.

On the downside, service was poor. Most staff were friendly, but the dining room seemed to lack management. Orders were frequently forgotten, especially at breakfast, and the time between courses at dinner could vary. Wine was also expensive, with house wine starting at 20€ plus a bottle, for example.

The hotel is nicely situated directly on the lakeside. Traunkirchen is very quiet.

The hotel was very clean but some minor damage to fittings was evident and on the sun terrace the good-quality furniture was not always set-out with cushions and trimmings etc. The bar/restauarnt staff were sometimes tardy in clearing tables and taking orders.

If the same attention to detail evident in the menu and food preparation were applied to the service and everyday upkeep, then the hotel could easily increase its rating.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elderflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great lake view, quiet location, good food.. but it doesn't mach overal image from the website. You won't have your private access to the lake, you'll fight for sunbeds, there is no parking space and you won't get drink on the terrace. Service was not the best, staff was kind of nice but unprofessional, unorganized and many times not helpful. We arrived later than planned, room was not ready.
Many times there was nobody at the reception or we had to wait for staff to finish conversation between them and then pay attention at us. I'm not sure how does it qualify for 4 star hotel. Overall impression: peaceful, it does have potential but is overpriced. Therefore I rate it as average only.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sasha_V1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

1st We Were told that we will be picked from Traunkirchen Station and we informed them twice of our arrival by email and telephonic conversation but sadly no one came to pick up us.We had To drag our luggage 2.5 kms to the hotel.

2nd We informed the receptionist at the hotel that we need a drop to the train station in the morning at 6:00 am for our outward flight to Vienna.Also an early breakfast for vegetarains.
The owner himself promised he will drop us to the station but wanted a charge of 15Euros.
I informed him that no one came for pick up. He apologized and said he'll give complimentary drop
"But To Our shock we Had a Plate of Hams And Cheese in the morning.With Cold Milk and Cold Coffee".

3rd To our Shock nobody was at the reception in the morning and nobody came till 5:55am in the morning to drop us.We Had to drag our luggage to the train station that was also uphill and also missed our train connection.Had to take the later 7:18 connection.

I have stayed in many Austrian Hotels and many lake side hotels but this is the worst service ever.
I will recommend no one to go there and stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MD_MetroView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is nothing too special, but is a good choice for a exploring Salzkammergut, and also enjoying views over Traunsee.

Located in a small town which is more like a village, the hotel is less than 10 min walk to a small train station, Traunkirchen Ort, on the line between Gmunden and Bad Ischl, and although the trains stop only every two hours in each direction, you can reach Linz and Hallstatt without changes. 5 min walk to the Traunkirchen pier with regular (several times a day) ship connections to Gmunden, - actually a lovely trip across Traunsee. 5-7 min walk will bring you to a start of several forest/mountain walks, - some of which are pretty easy, at least in dry weather, some more difficult.

For anything else, you will need a car, and if you do, the hotel is a good starting point to visit all the Salzkammergut places – Hallstatt, Bad Ischl, St. Wolfgang, Bad Aussee etc - nothing is more than 30 or 40 min drive away. And while, say, Bad Ischl is, of course, more centrally located in Salzkammergut, Das Traunsee’s position directly on the lake and the views it offers are a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanEks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

After taking care of my business, I had to have time to take in the amazing views. I was advised where I could hike to the top of one of the smaller mountains, where I could take in the 360 degree view of this wonderful place with mountains rising out of a crystal clear lake.
The hotel offered friendly service with an excellent restaurant after business and several days of hiking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Don't go to this hotel if your expecting to be entertained as there isn't much in the way of entertainment in the normal sense of the word for hotels i.e. singers, shows etc.

What there is is beautiful scenery and the hotel is comfortable. We were allocated a room in the extension which is not pretty to look at
but the room itself was spacious and clean with a balcony and great views of the lake in all directions.

If you're fit you can also get free bike hire, walking poles and umbrellas but being lazy we didn't bother!

We thought the food was great, some of the best we've had in fact and
we've been all over. Evening meal seemed to be a big event with zither players, pianists, schnapps tassting etc. some nights. We were
very unlucky with the weather, there 7 days and only 1 afternoon of sunshine! It rained every day but luckily not all the time. There is a good rail service with comfortable trains which we used alot, its a good way to get about but the station is at the top of a hill, we were never disappointed with the service though.

Its true that in the villlage itself theres not alot to do and sunday was a bit boring because everything was shut, didn't help that
it rained all day!

We had an excursion to Czechy Krumlov in Czech Rep which was good. We also booked to go to Salzburg but didn't get picked up as Thomson Rep had forgot to tell the bus company so wasn't too pleased about that. We got on the train to Halstatt which was beautiful and Thomson
reimbursed our expenses.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday despite everything and would definately go back it was quiet but a peaceful week away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the world!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravellerAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traunkirchen
0.1 mi away
Symposion Hotel Post
Symposion Hotel Post
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
94 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hochsteg Guetl
Hotel Hochsteg Guetl
#1 of 4 in Ebensee
64 reviews
17.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
12.4 mi away
Hotel Seegasthof Stadler
Hotel Seegasthof Stadler
#1 of 3 in Unterach am Attersee
75 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#2 of 9 in Bad Ischl
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Das Traunsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Das Traunsee

Address: Klosterplatz 4, Traunkirchen 4801, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Traunkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Traunkirchen
Price Range: £123 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Das Traunsee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seehotel Das Traunsee ...feeling that you are welcome. Soft embedded in a breathtaking lake landscape and mountainside, our house is lying in sunny, peaceful but although central place in Traunkirchen. You can enjoy a fantastic view into the incomparable landscape, which lies literally at your feet, from the balcony, the restaurant or the terrace. Feel the magic of the endless farsightedness, the absolute silence and the crystal-clear lake air. Experience all the beauty of picturesque surroundings in the middle of Salzkammergut. We would be very happy to welcome you at our hotel. Yours, Groller family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seehotel Das Traunsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing