We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay on cycling holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Symposion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Symposion Hotel Post
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Traunkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“One night stay on cycling holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night on a cycling holiday around upper Austria. We had cycled nearly 80km that day and on arriving at the hotel we were keen to relax and hopefully eat at the hotel too as we were so exhausted after the cycling.

We were rewarded with a room overlooking the lake, with an additional seating area, comfortable bed and separate toilet / bathroom. The room was very quiet with no noise either from other guests or traffic. I had good mobile phone coverage with 3AT. There was a free wifi, but the signal was too weak in our particular room to be of any use. It only really worked when we were standing in the hall waiting for the lift.

I had a bath to relax tired, sore muscles and was pleased to see that the water pressure was extremely high meaning the bath filled within minutes.

We ate dinner in the restaurant that night. I had the pumpkin soup which was very full of flavour and topped with garlicky croutons. My main course was zander fillets on a bed of barley risotto and topped with deep-fried greens, very nice indeed.

Location right on the lakeside with excellent views.

We were able to store our bicycles in the hotel's garage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
29
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drachselsried, Bayerischer Wald
Level Contributor
318 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

You know how it is, first time in a new hotel, when you notice the TripAdvisor shield on the door, you can be certain it's of a high standard.

The hotel is situated on the Traunsee lake, seems like most rooms have a balcony, which is great to see the view of the lake. Very friendly staff, surprising how many English people stayed in this lovely spot. Maybe because it had good TV coverage with BBC1, BBC", ITV1, and ITV2 channels, plus many other European languages.

The restaurant had an excellent menu and the food arrive promptly even though the restaurant was full.

If you like a good breakfast, then the buffet is fantastic, good bacon and eggs as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drachsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in Upper Austria (Salzkammergut) as part of a Great Rail Journeys (Austrian Lakes) holiday. The accommodation was excellent, with only one slight problem - the bells on the nearby Kloster which chime every hour throughout the night, and the 6am call bell). Food was fantastic - five course meals every evening, with the main course being huge, if anything too much to eat! The setting is picturesque - 100m from the lakeside, and very quiet; ideal for a relaxing holiday and perfect as a base for exploring the Salzkammergut area. Trips to Gminden, Bad Ischl and of course Salzburg recommended.

Room Tip: Third floor has best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gammon_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of Austria. The hotel is literally across the road from Lake Traunsee and the setting is so beautiful it's difficult to put into words. It's just over 5 mins walk from Traunkirchen Ort train station, where you can travel to Halstatt and Bad Ischl amongst other places direct. The other train station - Traunkirchen - is a 5 min car ride away and the hotel offers a shuttle service which you can book. We had a delightful lake view room with couch. The hotel is very clean and the staff friendly. Only minor gripe is being charge for the use of the safe, although this was only 1 euro 10 cents a day. Also, there was no bell on reception so when nobody was in attendance, there was no means of attracting the attention of a member of staff. The food in the cafe and restaurant was very good and gave us a good taste of Austrian Fayre. The staff were very pleasant. We want to return to this lovely hotel and any of our constructive points don't detract from what was a very special stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BONJOURAUREVOIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Returning from our ski holiday we stopped once again at this hotel, as it is about the half way point. My wife often remarks when she sees a picture of a tropical beach that is her ideal holiday. She hadn't visited this area for several years and as she stood by the lake in front of the hotel in the morning sun she was so moved by the beauty that tears came to her eyes.
She is a sympathetic personality having done volunteer work in refugee camps, children's cancer hospitals and other institutions. She said the beauty of the morning breeze, the sun on the water, the clouds hanging between the mountains that rose from the lake and the birds moved her emotions. The tropical beach is nice, this is a different beauty but no less inspiring or serene.
The hotel and the staff reflect a warm and comforting spirit. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very nice and the evening meal was delicious. My children, now teenagers, were able to sample food they never tried before. The dining room staff were cheerful and friendly and happy to answer any questions we had about the food or the hotel or the area.
I have met other guests there who have returned over the years. They shared with me what was for them, the highlights in the area. There are several picturesque walks immediately around the hotel. And for the intrepid, there are truly challenging mountain hikes, which I personally very much enjoyed. There are also challenging mountain bike routes, as well as congenial bike tracks that follow the lake's edge to the larger townships.
I think there is plenty for everyone summer and winter. I am from Australia and as a kid I watched the movie The Sound of Music and was captivated by the scenery. That movie was made no far from the hotel and it is every bit and much more of what you would expect it to be.
I have had to travel here often over the years, so I have gotten to explore the surrounding countryside. I consider it a wonderful privilege that my paths led me to this place and that feeling is renewed every time I come.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

A great location on Lake Traumsee. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The rooms are clean and quiet. Make sure to request a room facing the lake. Bike friendly. A good cafe. Enjoy the surroundings of the community. The Lake, dock, and the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCycleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Location superb and breakfast was tasty, but the hotel itself is simply not to 4 star standard, and definitely not worth the hefty 140 EU a night (even in high season). There was no air conditioning in our newly refurbished room, the TV was small and the Wifi was non-existent in the rooms. The shower was miniature and overall the hotel lacks the amenities of other four star competitors (i.e. no sauna, pool, fitness, no real lounge or open space), so there was really not much to do in the hotel but eat or sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinafig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traunkirchen
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hochsteg-Guetl
Hotel Hochsteg-Guetl
#1 of 4 in Ebensee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Post Ebensee
Landhotel Post Ebensee
#4 of 4 in Ebensee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.1 mi away
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
17.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symposion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symposion Hotel Post

Property: Symposion Hotel Post
Address: Ortsplatz 5, Traunkirchen 4801, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Traunkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Traunkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Symposion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Symposion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing