We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base to Explore Northern Bulgaria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The English Guest House
Ranked #1 of 28 Ruse B&B and Inns
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Base to Explore Northern Bulgaria”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was deeply impressed with the owner who opened the door to me at 4am on a Saturday morning, without a word of complaint. I had a very relaxing weekend in this most beautiful town and enjoyed the delicious breakfast provided by the guest house, much more variety and imagination than one would normally find. The room was great and the price very low (€21).

What I particularly like the fact that this place is family run, by a mother and two lads in their twenties -- one of whom runs day trips in his car (just south of Ruse is an incredible National Park).

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
8
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the English Guest House for the first time in August 2010, halfway through an epic trip in an ancient Land Cruiser from Burgas in Bulgaria to Cluj-Napoca in Transilvania. Having the occasion to pass through Ruse again (this time in the reverse direction), this was my first choice for accommodation. I booked at a few hours' notice, and luckily there was a room available. From the train station, the #11 bus on Borisova Street (ticket 1 leva) takes you to within 100 metres of Freedom Square, and then it's ten minutes walk, across the square to ulita Rayko Daskalov. The street is not especially attractive but the location is unbeatable if you want to walk to the Danube and the city centre. The guest house has been renovated recently, there's free wi-fi, there is a new kitchen in the basement, with the usual provisions for self-service. The refrigerator is full of food and you can help yourself even if you get up at the crack of dawn. You can buy a beer from the mini-fridge in the lobby. My room was spacious and perfectly clean, with a private bathroom. The hostess is, as always, charming and helpful. For me, that's what makes a place worth returning to.

Room Tip: Room 3 faces ulita Rayko Daskalov, so some people might find it noisy. I had my ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfs346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We visited in Feb 2014 and our stay was pleasurable. We were upgraded to a bigger room upon arrival due to it being the quiet season at no extra cost. The location is great, 20 minute walk from the train station, 5 minute walk to the city center.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rohan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hi,

We visited Ruse few days ago, without making any bookings, so we ended up in front of this Hostel, I'd call it, at 3 am in the morning and just rang the bell. We read few reviews about it before leaving home, but we haven`t decided in time to make a reservation. So, there we were in the middle of the night, waiting for someone to let us in. And they did, actually she did. A very nice lady, with good english skills. We decided to stay there, almost on the spot. Me and my husband stayed in the first room, with double bed and own bathroom. It was a bit cold in the beggining, but we switched on the AC, and it got better. Next day we were provided with informations and a map. Breakfast is included, but you have to cook it for yourself (we didn't mind that). All in all, it was cool, comfy and clean. I reccomend it.

Location: very close to Freedom Square, which is the center of the town, and close to Danube River, walking distance for both, 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anamenache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Ive stayed here numerous times and thought it was about time i wrote a reveiw.The hotel is spotless clean,manager extremely helpful,she speaks perfect english.Great location betweem Danube and Freedom square.Kitchen where you can brew up anytime,All you can eat breakfast,you can even buy your own food and use the kitchen to cook your evening meal.
Great place for backpackers,manager will even do your washing,I think it was 7 lev.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I guess we made the mistake of expecting a hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to the Danube and freedom square. We booked an apartment for 3 nights for our family. The manager was very friendly and helpful and she had excellent English. The apartment itself was spacious and well equipped but quite outdated, even the newer furnishings have seen better days and are quite cheap, and, in my opinion, the beds were not very comfortable. The small heaters were not very efficient and as a result we were all cold through the night. We were woke up several times during the night by people downstairs moving furniture across tiles or wooden floor, and by people shouting outside as they walked past (Halloween Night- not the hotels fault). The breakfast room was self service and seemed to be well stocked.

We made the decision to move to a different hotel after only 1 night, as we couldn't face the prospect (however slim) of another sleepless night. The manager was quite disappointed (understandably), and after we paid a penalty we moved on. I think perhaps The English Guesthouse is better suited to young backpackers than families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a cycling trip. I've backpacked a lot before and liked the shared kitchen where you can cook your own food and prepare breakfast from the ingredients that are provided. The room was clean, nothing extraordinary, but quiet, we slept well. The owner was friendly and organised a driver to see the medieval town of Cherven and the stone monastery and church near Ruse. We could leave our bicycles in the garage which was nice. If you come to Ruse eat at the Chiflika Mehana ( a tip from the owner), the food and atmosphere were great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krizto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruse hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riga
Grand Hotel Riga
#1 of 9 in Ruse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anna Palace Hotel
Anna Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ruse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunav Plaza Hotel
Dunav Plaza Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ruse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ruse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bistra & Galina Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid Ruse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Guest House

Property: The English Guest House
Address: Rayko Daskolov street 34, Ruse 7000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Ruse Province > Ruse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ruse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English guest house is situated right in the very centre of Ruse, Bulgaria. Turning right out of the gate it will take you literally 60 seconds to the tranquil banks of the River Danube (Dunav), turning left will again take literally 120 seconds to enter the main square. The Vibrant heart of Ruse city. On the ground floor there are 5 bedrooms all with air-conditioning and with en-suite bathrooms, and 2 Bedrooms sharing one bathroom. On the attic we have 2 bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and air-conditioning.On the ground floor we have a big apartment in wich 5 people can sleap, with two bathrooms. The rooms are a mix of doubles, twins, singles, as well as options for 3,4 and 5,6 people. All rooms have curtains as well as nets, double glazed windows are fitted with fly screens. Beds are comfortable, linen and towels are supplied free of charge. Showers are always piping hot. Each room has its own TV with cable channels. There are lamps, mirrors, wardrobes etc to make your stay with us enjoyable and give that feeling of being at home, which is something we work hard on to achieve. The garden has table with parasol and chairs allowing us all to sit and talk in the evenings with a hot or cold drink. Tea and coffee are supplied free of charge.Breakfast, which is included in the price is very rich and varied . We will do our very best to ensure your stay with us is trouble free, restful and enjoyable. There is a computer set up in the foyer which is for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The English Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing