We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad sad sad ... I shoulda”
Review of The Rib Co.

The Rib Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
MICHIGAN
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“sad sad sad ... I shoulda”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

got the dry rub ribs like my son did! They were OUTSTANDING ribs ($15.99 1/2 slab w/2 sides). We've eaten lots of ribs around the country --- and have an incredible smoker and finally quit eating ribs out because I can make 'em better for cheaper than restaurants. Was in 29Palms spending time with my US Marine son and we ate here since it was close to base. MUCH impressed by the dry rub baby back ribs. Tender, crazy smoky flavor, and great rub! They finish the ribs off on the grill out front of the place (seriously??? who the heck GRILLS outside when it's 110 Degrees ??? ). My other son and I both got the Brisket sandwich ($9.50 each) ... pretty good sandwich - sauce was just ok in my book (I am obsessed with sauce - eat it like SOUP when I have BBQ). The hero was the ribs. Corn muffin was ugh - Jiffy Corn Muffin mix is waaaayyy better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HAYDEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    107
    37
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs CA
1 review
“Best ribs we have had in ages.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great ribs in an informal atmosphere and a wonderful friendly server Heidi...everything homemade including the ample peach cobbler..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LTBDPS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern USA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A tasty surprise!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were traveling thru on stopped for the night in Twentynine Palms. Having had a big lunch, we decided to try a beer and nice appetizer rather than a big dinner. The Rib Co. surprisingly fit the bill for us. The server was a super nice lady. She fixed up right up with a nice cold beer and guided us on our order. We had the stuffed jalapenos, hot off the grill and stuffed with cheese and bacon. Delicious!! Well, while we ate, the next table ordered peach cobbler with ice cream and we happened to catch the wonderful smell as it was served. So we splurged with the most wonderful dessert of our trip. The serving was huge and it was as good as it looked. Fresh, hot out of the oven and with a big scoop of ice cream. The Rib Co. was a great surprise, great food and wonderful service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Ribs”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

There are not many restaurant choices in Twentynine Palms on Monday, so we gave the Rib Company a try. The ribs were fine - tender but a little dry. The Triple Threat sauce option had more complexity than the other choices. The coleslaw was quite good, crisp and fresh. Beans seemed canned; corn muffins inedible - flabby and bland. The atmosphere is similar to a fast food restaurant and service was brisk to the point of being comical. The beer was nice and cold but the wine was, sadly, warm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is one of the best BBQ places in which I've eaten. It is also a testimony to the value of Tripadvisor, as the restaurant would not attract passerby business unless you already knew the reviews. Almost we had was excellent. The pulled pork sandwich was the best I've had at a restaurant. The coleslaw is homemade and very flavorful. We had both the standard and the dry rub ribs. We all preferred the dry rub, as they were tastier and much meatier. The only sour note was the BBQ beans, which were just OK. The service is great (thanks, Jen), and the ambiance is friendly. We liked it so much we went back a second time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rib Co. also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Been to The Rib Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing