We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise”
Review of Carousel Cafe - CLOSED

Carousel Cafe
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After going to Denny's for the first three days of stay in 29 Palms discovered this gem. The sign out front said 2 eggs, 2 pancakes, and 2 bacon or sausage $3.50. I thought I'm not overly hungry so I'll try it (expecting tiny pancakes and small pieces of bacon). It was delivered by a friendly and attentive waitress on a large platter. Very generous portions, eggs cooked exactly as I requested, and very fluffy, large, tasty pancakes. I give the inexpensive breakfast a "9."

Highly recommended because when we went back for lunch, the hamburger special was just as good as the breakfast and very well priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Filthy ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This place sucked. It is very dirty. The fans had dust piled up on cause prob hadn't cleaned on years. The walls surrounding the booth had food stains on it, look at the pic I posted. Idk how people come in here, it being so filthy. The breakfast was garbage and over priced.

Helpful?
Thank DetroiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great economical breakfast”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The service was great and everything tasted great and the price was very reasonable. The coffee was excellent too...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had breakfast here before visiting Joshua Tree National Park. The breakfast are good, plentiful, and not very expensive. My wife had french toast with an extra topping that she said was delicious. I had ham and eggs, with a huge slice of ham. The place was packed with customers, but the service was still fast and thorough. We went back a second morning, but people were lined up out the door to get in, so we didn't stay. Great place for breakfasts in 29 Palms.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST LOUIS mo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food, great "little" place for breakfast”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

hearty portions of good food - the Senior menu is great - friendly folks and good service with a hot cup of coffee constantly refilled - cute old fashioned decor, and lots of carousel horses!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DIANAOMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carousel Cafe also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing